We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in January for our honeymoon. We arrived about 3pm - our room was ready & we got checked-in quite quickly. We had requested a seaview room & that is exactly what we got - the view was lovely! We were in Block 3 which was a short walk from the main facilities but this didn't bother us, as it was peaceful & quiet there.

The pool area was lovely & clean - though if going in winter only 1 pool is heated so make sure you go in the right one!. There was plenty of sunbeds but some were in a better position than others for the sun, so unfortunately people would 'reserve' sunbeds but you get this at all hotels. The pool-side snackbar which is open from about 10-5pm ish was also good for people on all-inclusive, as it was self-service for drinks as well as snacks. Breakfast was really good with everything you would expect & more. Can't comment much on lunch as we tended to snack from the snackbar instead. With dinner the food was lovely & tasty, & though it did vary every night it was getting a bit 'samey' by the end of the week. But nothing major to complain about & what was there was really good. Service at the bar could be a little slow but at night we tended to sit in the theatre before the shows where there's table-service so that was better. We caught a few of the entertainment shows which were very good, though my husband was a bit disappointed when he found out that they mimed!

With the location you're only a short walk to a few shops & supermarket, & if you go out the back gate of the hotel you're straight onto the beach, with a few pubs nearby. Was a perfect location for us as it was quite peaceful but if you're looking for a party week Costa Caleta isn't really the resort for you! We visited the Oasis Park which was good, & the hotel was very suited for families (we're thinking about returning with our daughter).

The wifi in our room however was the only thing that annoyed me but when this didn't work they gave me another code so I could use it in the lobby & we did manage to get it working.

All-in-all we really enjoyed our stay - the hotel is lovely & the location fantastic for us. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsBrightsideR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,698
    2,619
    854
    178
    91
See reviews for
2,455
3,721
128
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Check in was excellent, very friendly and efficient.
Room was spacious and pleasant although we were put right above the kids park/club which proved rather noisy in the evening! (Block 2)
Cleaning of rooms could have been better.
Information was hard to come by in relation to kids club/restaurants at other Barcelo resort down the boulevard which appear to have been available to us also, as we found out on last day!
Food was plentiful - pancakes delicious, breakfast and dinner good variety although Snack Bar could have offered more variety - mainly chips/pizza/burgers.
Being All Inclusive we did feel the cocktails were watered down a bit but generally ok!
Location was excellent - right by a lovely big beach with plenty of space and a lovely boulevard to walk on.
Beds were uncomfortable and probably needed replacing but we got used to them after a few nights!

Would stay here again due to friendly staff and location.

Room Tip: Avoid Block 2 as right over kids club and park - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmd100578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited this hotel from 11th to 18th Feb 2012 and it is like a home from home for us. We have been to the hotel in excess of 30 times over the past 7 years, and our fondest memories are from here - we can chart our daughter growing up at this hotel from the photos. Over the years there have been odd blibs here and there, usually because the excellent amenities and staff mean that the hotel becomes more popular, and it takes time for the hotel to catch up with the increased demand ! This visit was one of the best. We travelled in a larger party this time, with both of my grown up children and their partners as well as my grandson (a baby) and our 9 year old. The 9 year old loves coming to this hotel and begs to come back, as she knows many of the staff, who make a fuss of her. The food on this occasion was excellent, even better than when we visited over the New Year (albeit the Gala Dinner on New Years Eve was truly spectacular - as it was last year and you cannot fail to be impressed). The head chef and Bar Manager are wonderful, and provide an excellent example to the staff who cannot do enough for you.

It is a shame that you can no longer have food to order to the pool bar on all inclusive, however there is now food available for self service all day in there. Previously food was only available in the main restaurant between 1 and 3 with guests needing to pay if they wished to eat in the pool bar during these times. The food is not as freshly cooked by definition and I miss the freshly cooked lasagne and pizza, but I can see why the hotel has chosen to do this. The main restaurant has been extended on 2 sides which has created more eating space - much better since this has been done.

Tips? The omelettes are cooked fresh to order and are fabulous, so too are the fresh smoothies which are prepared in front of you at breakfast. Ask for fresh coffee and hot milk on the table at breakfast from one of the waiters (it is always hotter if you sit to the left as you walk in as the machine for it is on their side) - politely ask for the flasks to be refreshed if it is not hot enough - sometimes it is poured in anticipation of a rush and left standing. Eat breakfast before 9 or after 10 for a more peaceful experience and less queuing - similarly avoid the rush for dinner by going before 7 or after 8 pm. The waiters and waitresses will happily serve you hot coffee and tea in the main bar to finish off your meal (no hot drinks are available in the evening in the restaurant).

We love this hotel and have recommended it many times, and it seems everyone else loves it too. The result is the prices have gone up (or discounts down!) - a loyalty scheme for frequent visitors would be very welcomed :)

Room Tip: Request a pool view if you have booked a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TwoplusOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

In order to provide a balanced review I list out the few good points prior to the bad

Good
Kids club is excellent with sessions 10.30 until 1.00 then 3.00 until 5.00. These are varied and the team are excellent.

The outdoor areas are well maintained and the pool area good

Entertainment is great with plenty of seating although this is lined up in rows so it is not very sociable

The cleanliness and room cleaning is superb

Indifferent

The food is ok - breakfast good (selection from fruit to full english), lunch ok with dinner very disjointed - choice is good but finding a combination that fits together is tricky

Location is ok - with direct access to the beach

Bad
The service is absolutely appauling in all aspects - totally disrepectful and as if guests are "getting in the way of a good day"

This starts with two people on reception trying to check in quite a few guests from the usual transfer coach. The first stage is to fill out your details on a card (why - when they already have these). Then get sent to the bar "for a drink" - I was all-inclusive but as I had not checked in then I had to pay! 2 hours later "the rooms are not ready" then eventually they pack you off to your room. I had seen a review mentioning this on Tripadvisor but thought it was an exaggeration. Believe me it is not - the process is so frustrating that it make you want to go straight back home. The staff are rude unpleasant and act like they do not want us to be there.

The temperature drops off a bit in February so after trying all combinations on the air conditioning I was told that the heating for the whole hotel was switched off. Additional bed clothes were not forthcoming. I requested a bath robe each to wear at night to counter act this to be charged 25 euros each for the pleasure.

Wifi does not work in the rooms so be prepared to spend time in reception if you have any business ties whatsoever.

The bar service is extremely slow with a definite preference away from all inclusive customers. The attitude of the bar staff is really bad as they are under-manned.

The service in the restaurant is poor with a significant wait for your drinks when you first sit down then any chance of a second drink almost non-existent.

The rooms are not 4 star - dated and small. The balcony is almost non-existent. Forget about requests for pool views etc - the check in is so poor that all this will get lost every time

OVERALL THE SERVICE WAS SHOCKING BUT A 2 STAR RATING GIVEN FOR CLEAN ROOMS, GOOD KIDS CLUB AND OK FACILITIES.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool will be the sunniest in the evenings but beware - check in process will kill any ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Byett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I love this hotel have been there 6 times and never had a complaint,location brill not far from airport right on beach..rooms amazing, food fantastic you def wont be disapointed i cant wait to go back :)x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sambam_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Love it! The entertainment team have got to be one of the best in the world, the room we had was AMAZING, huge and a spectacular view, only a minute away from the beach! The only letdown was the beach, but thats not the hotel's fault :D

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 7 years and have always had an excellent, spacious and clean room with great facilities. The food is excellent with a massive choice to suit all tastes and appetites. The evening entertainment is the best we have experienced compared to any other hotel in the last 15 years. The location is superb; filling a full horseshoe bay. Caleta is close to the airport and central for exploring the island via hire car. We are looking forward to our next visit...........

Room Tip: email the hotel if you have a lower/upper floor preference; or required pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsb836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Barcelo and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing