We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 visits and still 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My partner and I travel a lot for both business and pleasure and have never left any reviews, however; we felt on this occasion we should as we have stayed at this hotel 5 times in the last two years (and are planning on going back in the near future).

We have made this review an open and honest one and based on all our visits in total.

Arrival in Fuerteventura

The hotel is a ten minute drive from the airport and cost approximately €10 in a taxi. Taxi rank is located just outside the terminal doors. During high season, you may have a 5-10 minute wait but the queue is well organised. Please don’t pre book taxi’s with your tour operators – most of them charge c. £150! What a rip off!

Arriving at the Hotel

When you arrive at the hotel, at Reception you will need to fill in a ‘Guest Registration’ document. This takes no more than two minutes per person (make sure you have your passport handy though as you need your passport number).
More often than not, you will have to wait for your room – although we have never waited more than 45 minutes. If you do need to wait, you will be given a voucher to go to the bar to get a complimentary Orange Juice or Sparkling Wine. The delay is caused usually by tour operators having early flights and the hotel having a check out policy of 12 noon. Anyway, you are on holiday; relax with a drink rather than shouting at the hotel reception staff!

When your room is ready, you will be given a map and your All Inclusive wrist band (if applicable) and your key card to the room. I will review the rooms later in this review. Porters are available to help you with your luggage if needed.

Hotel Overview

The hotel is an official 4 star hotel situated in Costa Caleta. The accommodation is split into three blocks (1, 2 & 3). There is a restaurant (underneath Reception) as well as a pool side snack bar and an evening bar. There are three pools (albeit one is very small and suitable for toddlers). There is also a mini golf, tennis courts and a Spa.

Hotel Rooms

The accommodation is split into three blocks (1, 2 & 3). Block 1 and Block 2 are either side of reception and take a few minutes to walk. Block 3 is a bit further away so be prepared for a walk! Some of the rooms in Block 1 overlook a few local bars and although we have not stayed in one of these, I would imagine some noise can be heard. The resort is a quiet resort though; it is not like you are staying in the centre of Ibiza! The majority of Block 2 have views across the pools / beach. Block 3 is the quietist with views over the harbour / beach or the pool.

The rooms are light and airy and have a king size or twin beds and are always cleaned to a high standard. Some of the rooms are adjoining – ideal for families. There is a separate sink area situated just outside the bathroom where you have a w/c and a bath with overhead shower. All rooms have a balcony with a table and two chairs, however, some rooms do have chairs missing so you may need to ask reception if you need another chair! All of the rooms have air conditioning and a safe (located in the bottom of the wardrobe). If you want to use the safe, you need a code from reception and is c. €4 a day depending on high/low season.

Some of the furniture in the rooms is a little dated, however rooms are slowly being upgraded. There are plenty of drawers and plenty of hanging space. I have seen many reviewers commenting on the lack of English speaking TV channels – yes there are only a few– but do you really go on holiday to sit in your room and watch EastEnders?!
Rooms are cleaned daily and sheets/towels changed daily if you wish. You also get bath/shower gel as well as soap, shower cap etc.

Some superior rooms have recently been added but we have not stayed in one yet so cant comment (although pictures do look nice!).

Food and Drink

First and foremost, Food and drink is in plentiful supply at this hotel.

Breakfast
Breakfast is served from 7-10am in the main restaurant (Maxitoria located under reception). On entering, find your self a table and help yourself from the mountains of food on offer. You can choose from lots of fresh bread, fresh fruit as well as cold meats etc. There are also lots of cereals on offer as well as yoghurts and smoothies. If you prefer to start the day like me, it is a fry-up everyday (not good for your waist but you are on holiday!) You can also have omelettes made to order as well as pancakes etc. There really is something here for everyone. Breakfast can get busy from 8.45am with lots of children (more High season) so my advice is get there before then if you can. There is tea and coffee as well as juice, milk, water etc.

Lunch
For all inclusive guests Lunch is also served in the Maxitoria restaurant from 1pm-3pm. You will be given a table cheque to take to your table (keep this safe!). You will often be shown to your table during busy periods. One of the waiting staff will ask you for your drinks order and note it down on the table cheque and then bring them over to you. You may have to wait 5 minutes for your drinks especially when they are busy – again, remember you are on holiday and relax.

There is always a wide variety of food to choose from at lunch ranging from fresh fish, meat, pasta, pizza, cold meats, salad etc. Again, food for everyone.
You can also have lunch in the Aloe Bar which is located by the pool. They serve food more like a traditional ‘pub menu’. Please note, if you are all inclusive, you can not eat here ‘free’ during the hours of 1pm and 3pm. You will need to go to the main restaurant.




Dinner
First and foremost, gentlemen, wear long trousers – this is not optional or up for debate as many people try. It is simple, if you are not wearing full length trousers, you are not coming in! They don’t need to be formal dining wear – jeans will do!
Dinner is from 6.30pm until 10pm and is served in the main restaurant. A similar approach to lunch (you will be given a table cheque, order dinks, buffet style etc). Food again is varied daily and the deserts are the best – especially the chocolate fountain! Please make sure you take your table cheque with you when you leave and hand it to one of the managers on the door. If not, you will be sent back to your table for it.

Again, you may have to wait for a table if you come during ‘the rush’ which seems to be 7.45, however the restaurant staff work extremely hard to get tables ready as quickly as possible.

Entertainment

Daytime entertainment
Everyday, there are activities for everyone both young and old. There is mini club (not really sure what they do as we don’t have children but they sound like they are having fun!). There is Maxi Club for older children where they are kept busy (football, mini golf, volley ball etc). Then there is entertainment for adults (football, archery, volleyball, aqua aerobics and even bingo!) All the entertainment staff work really hard all day, everyday. If you don’t want to get involved, you don’t have to – to date we have still not done anything! We do though enjoy playing on the Mini Golf courses – there are two courses (both 18 holes). One is ‘easy’ and one is ‘hard’ – they are both great though and let me tell you the easy is not that easy!! You also get a discount here is you are All Inclusive.

Evening Entertainment
Every evening there is a mini disco for the children – a very popular activity. It usually kicks off at 8.30 and is usually run by the hotel entertainment team.

At 9.45 every evening, there is a live show - everything covered from Grease, Starlight Express, Lion King to Les Miserables! The hotel entertainment team put a lot of effort into these and they are a good way to spend your evenings. The waiters offer a table service – so you don’t even need to get up and go to the bar! Heaven!

Beach

Barceló Fuerteventura is located on the beach front on a sandy beach. It is a horseshoe shape but does get windy. The water here is clear – however it is rocky when you get into the sea so maybe not great for children. There is a much nicer beach a short walk away where the sand is beautiful and there are no rocks in the sea. This is located down by the Sheraton Hotel. To get to this beach, you need to walk to the right (assuming you are looking at the sea!). You will walk over some barren ground and it is just around the corner – it is also located near a small shopping centre. You can hire sun beds and parasols (all at €3 each a day) on the beach. One point to note is that the tide does come in fast, so keep an eye on it.

Pool

The hotel has 3 pools (one dedicated to children). One of the large pools is heated (the one nearest the pool bar), the other is not (which can get cold in November!)
There are plenty of sun beds around the pools – however, as many people have noted, people do put towels on them at 6.30 in the morning. I do need to add though that these tend to be British people and not Germans as a lot of people claim. I go running most mornings up the coast, and I can tell you now I have never seen a German putting a towel out – I have however seen hundreds of British people doing it. The hotel are trying to clamp down on this as people do reserve them and them at 6.30 and then go back to bed until 2pm when they finally use them. With all that said, we have never struggled to get two sun beds.

The Spa

The spa is a separate building to the hotel just outside the gates near Block 1. You do need to pay to use the spa and no children are allowed. You can pay €20 each and get a ‘Wellness Circuit’ where you can use all their facilities for the day – I hear people moaning this is expensive. I live in London and for £20 you can’t even walk through the doors of a spa let alone use their facilities!
There are large day beds by the pool and it is always lovely and peaceful in there. You can pay for treatments and you will get a discount for being a Barceló guest. I can highly recommend going to the Spa – and the treatments are great too.


Staff

All the staff in this hotel are fantastic and all work unbelievably long hours. The cleaners are very thorough and work from 8 in the morning until very late!
The waiters work hard as well – nothing is too much trouble for them. They are all friendly and speak English (albeit some better than others!). They all appreciate holidaymakers making just a little effort, even if only ‘Hola’ in the morning!
I have seen people comment that some of the staff are rude, from what I have seen, it is usually the holiday maker being rude shouting things to a member of staff in English. Maybe they would think we were rude if they shouted at us in Spanish and we didn’t know what they meant?!
The guys on reception are great as well – if you really get stuck (not that you will), but ask for Gary-John – he is British working there and he is excellent!

Overall

Overall, we love this hotel – it offers a great place to relax and the people are fantastic. We would recommend hiring a car (we use Hertz which has an office just around the corner from the hotel) and exploring Fuerteventura – there are lots of things to see and do around the island. We hope this hotel never changes and we will continue to go back every year – well done Barceló Fuerteventura!

Room Tip: Block 3 if you want to be in the quieter section
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank lilbear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,423)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,517 - 5,523 of 8,423 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Chosen because of other reviews and they were close to the mark. Hotel is well maintained spacious and very clean. I didnt find any problems with the staff who were mostly positive and helpful but the standard of the hotel was such that we had no need to invole them. Rooms are spacious, very large and comfortable beds with good housekeeping. The bathroom was large and well apportioned with hair dryer. The in room safe is not free which is disappointing. The hotel works hard to upkeep standards by insisting trousers for dinner, not hanging clothes and towels over the balcony and not prebooking poolside beds. The latter is widely ignored but there appear plenty of beds and we didnt have any problem in obtaining. There is one heated pool and in April the other pool is best described as 'fresh'. Will be better in the summer. Wifi is very intermittent and you should check prior to purchase that your room will get it. Connection is hit and miss and even when you get it there can be regular and frustrating dropouts. The all inclusive package represents good value for money. The food is of good quality and they work hard to give variety however this may be repetitive if you are staying any longer than a week. We didnt notice service issues doecumented by others but its fair to say that in general the service isnt at breakneck speed - perhaps in reflection similar to the pace of the rest of the island. The bar area alternates with the restaurant for eating but the all inclusive menu is pretty basic with dispoportionate supplements bar food. It would be nice if this was open in the evening - perhaps it is in peak season. The entertainment is well executed and energetic although dancing and dialogue to full show pre recorded to tape wasnt to my taste. The bar staff worked hard in the evenings to provide good service and should commended during this busy time. The hotel is well situated within the other actvities in the area (albeit a little scarce) but they have a crazy golf course and the spa looks nice from the outside. If you want better quality the Sheraton up the road would be the place to go but this is a good all round hotel which represented good value for money and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Having come back from out 5th visit to the BARCELLO , very disappointed this time.
The first room we were given was above the kitchen and squeeky swing doors went
constantly. We were moved no problem to a room overlooking the childrens pool where
we had asked for in the first place. The noise from the apartments above and around
was dreadful . We thought we had booked at a time when the kids were back at school
but there was so many under fives , buggies all over the place and kids up very early . Although we really like this hotel this has really put us off and dont think we will go back.

Room Tip: Rooms looking to the kids pool definetely the bes.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcqueens_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

After reading reviews of this hotel i was really worried my husband hates airport holidays and i promised him it would be wonderful, we arrived late on Saturday 30th April on a rainy evening i thought this was a good start.The people behind the reception were lovely and very helpful we got our card key and proceeded to our room(i had asked for a view)Well upon entering the room the lights didnt come on so you can imagine my panic then it dawned on me the card key is also used in the slot by the door to turn on the electric for everything.The room was very spacious as in the brochure and would be wheelchair friendly,there was a large space all mirrored with one sink and all the usual bits left shampoo etc,also hairdryer, the bath/shower were in a seperate room next door,shower was lovely.I found it helpful to take a small kettle and two cups/spoons as there is no tea making facilities in the room.You can buy coffee etc round the corner maybe take teabags you like.There is a big sliding mirrored wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a safe which is 3 euros a day plus a 5 euro deposit.When i opened the curtains i could see now that we were in a ground floor room with no view ,i was disappointed but i wasnt planning on spending much time in my room although i was facing a 5 foot hedge and that got my back up but i was too tired to complain.I thought about this and it actually gave us so much privacy and the sun filled the terrace every day it was rather nice,it would be good for children as you havent got to worry about them falling off a balcony and if you smoke it does not effect anyone else (you would need a ashtray)looking up on the balconys there was a glass divider between rooms and everyone can see you, everyone had a table and chairs which was nice.Also there is an airer to dry your clothes on outside that pulls out from the wall it would be handy to take a few pegs. I liked the privacy at night when we got in and went and sat out side on the terrace to have coffee or drinks.We also took our own towels as i wasnt going to pay for hotel pool towels.I found the hotel immaculate there was always someone doing the garden,people mowing the lawns ,testing the water in the pools,they were immaculate as well.Inside the hotel there were staff cleaning all the communual areas nothing was left as far as i could see.In the morning we went for breakfast (7.30 to 10) and there was something for everyone, from all the breads .cheeses,meats sausages,bacon danish pastries,eggs,cereals,fruit,yoghurt i could go on the choice is endless including something for veggies.Pool chairs people did put towels out but there was never a time we were unable to have one.The food for evening meals was so much choice from the steaks,all the roasts on different nights,calamari,paella,salads things for the children,chocolate fountains,ok some of it could of been hotter,at one end you had the chefs cooking steaks or something else every night,i think why the food gets cold is because we walk around with our plate thinking how much we could put on it from all the choices.Everyone took there place but we hardly queued much maybe only for coffee in the morning.I would just like to say that men have to wear trousers or jeans in the evening to eat and you have to pay for your drinks or tab them to your room which we did not do that we paid every night and kept the receipt .If anyone has been on the cruise ship Independance Of the Seas they will know what i am talking about.when i mentioned the choice of food.I I noticed that the children had some things on in the evenings in a corner which looked fun i did not see the shows as we went out to the Irish bar and other places In the Irish bar next to the hotel we found them very friendy and the music good.In the resort itself we found that it was also clean,no rubbish,gum etc or dogs mess, and we even saw them cleaning the beach.Beach loungers were 4.50 euros for the day each.There was miles on lovely sand on the level so lovely for the children.They did have camels.We went with First Choice and found them very good but although we did some trips with them we found Ticket master round the corner from the hotel alot cheaper,we went to Lanzarote for the day and did the trip to the volcanos.Although we paid to go to the market on the Friday in Corralejo they have a market in Calleta on a Saturday morning.We also went to Rosaria which we didnt like as we were told you could see the boats come in but this was not the case,it has alot of shops though.Corralejo is a much bigger resort but i thought Calleta is much nicer i think if you were young and lively Corralejo may be better for you. .We both used the spa and that was lovely 20 euros for the day from 10 to 6,they have five inside small pools going from cold and each one is warmer right up to the turkish bath,plus a sauna and jacuzzi,outside there is another pool but also there were four poster outside beds with the muslin like drapes floating in the wind plus sun loungers,i didnt have any treatments but they had a lot of bookings when people asked so you need to get booked early a really lovely place to go and chill out.I would recomend this hotel for people who are in a wheelchair as the hotel would be easy to access and the areas around it are very flat,the resort appears very child friendly aswell and i am considering taking my grandchildren back there for a break.Things needed to take would be sun creams as they were very expensive there about 12 euros for after sun.Drinks were cheaper outside the hotel(4.40 for beer in hotel 2.50 outside) and there is a supermarket round the corner and also a shop that sells english papers at 2 euros.All in all we had a lovely week my husband chilled out for once and although before we went he was counting the days till we got home he would of stayed an extra few days.If i could think of something negative all i could say was the bed was not that comfortable and the legroom on the flight over for tall people was awful.I would definaltly stay at a Barcelo Hotel again.For info Golden Virginia about 40 euros cigs ranging from 9.95 up.didnt look at drink prices childrens hats 5/10 euros so take some and maybe cardigans for the evenings as was chilly.Touts didnt bother anyone heavily at the resort unless you went upto to them.Also before i forget the hotel has three main blocks block 3 nearest the beach,block 2 in the middle for shows and restaurant and block 1 nearest the pubs/bars but more or less in the shape of a half fifty pence ,we stayed in block 3.The card/key also unlocks the gates to go down to the beach/bars .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shhobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

If you have booked for one week you will be very dissapointed!!! you didn't book two weeks, we have just got home from a great week away, hotel was in a great location spotless clean, food was all you could ask for the variety was great we were never hungry, waiters/waitress could not do enough for you, the evening entertinment the the best ive ever seen. we will definatly return again. 10/10

Room Tip: book for either section 2 or 3
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinasalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Good Points :
Good location right on beach and central to resort.
Very good and large variety of food.
Nice clean comfortable rooms.

Bad Points :
Extremely busy ( our stay was in the Easter holidays ).
No spare sunbeds.
Pool area very large, noisy and manic.
Large queues in the restaurant for food.
Only one bar which wasn't enough for the number of guests

I'm sure this hotel would probably be OK at off peak times of year.

We also had to wait 8 hours to check in our room as they had let it out to previous occupants for late check-out !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Back from a 2 week break with 2 adults and 3 girls (age 9,7 and 5) over late April into May.
Would definitely recommend the Barcelo and plan to return.
The hotel is located in a small village with only a limited number of restaurants and shops around, however these are generally of a decent quality.
There is a horshoe shaped beach and bay and the hotel sits directly behind the beach.
There is also a very nice beach about 2 km away near the Sheraton hotel. Around the headland, there is a cliff side footpath that runs for about 4 km - it is a very nice early morning walk or run.
The hotel itself is busy but, in our opinion, can handle the numbers. We stayed in 2 adjoining rooms in Block 3 which was very quiet (ideal). The rooms were cleaned each day and kept in good condition. You will find ants in most rooms (especially ground floor) but I don't believe you can blame anyone for this.
The pools are decent sized; the smaller one used by the kids was warmer.
There is a fine gym situated in the thallosa spa. My better half used the spa and confirmed it was of a very good standard.
The girls used the kids club most days for at least 1 session - they grew very fond of the leaders - Thanks Jessie and Simona. The people who look after the kid's club also look after the entertainment at night - this is well done especially from kids point of view.
Which leads me to the conclusion - the Barcelo is a decent place with reasonably good facilities - what elevates it to something better is the effort put in to extract the best possible outcome for the guests. So of course, the restaurant is busy but they make all efforts to provide the best in the circumstances. The pool is busy but they do thir best to keep bins emptied and the place as tidy as possible.
See the pattern........?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,071 reviews
23.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $137 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing