We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2014

After the initial disappointment of 20 minute wait to check in (2 receptionists available), and then a further hour delay to get the room we were extremely happy with the size and presentation of the 1 bedroom apartment.
The complex is vast but our location was ideal (we were based by an attractive outdoor pool) & 50 paces from the promenade room 3101 so glimpses of the Sea too.
The property has flat screen tv with plenty of international channels (but not BBC nor Sky news) - not sure why not? but did have Bloomberg CNBC and children programming.
We went self catering and there were plenty of options available for dining so no need for all inclusive knock off lookalike spirits. 10 minute transfer time from the Airport, and some nice shops at one end of the resort. Top tip take a kite.
Maintenance - we required a bulb to be replaced and this was attended to promptly, as was the cot. overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,977 - 2,983 of 5,125 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at this resort 22nd February to 1st March.
There were only a few other people that arrived at the same time as us so we were dealt with quickly at reception. Our bungalow, 1065, was across the road from reception. I must admit the way other people spoke about it I imagined it to be a very busy road-wrong. There was very little traffic.
The bungalow was basic but clean and lets face it, you don't go on holiday to sit indoors. The only little niggles were they could do with at least one bright light in the bedroom, the gate into the 'gated community' was just outside our bungalow and everyone seemed to feel the need to slam it and there was a tree against the bedroom wall which knocked all the time. We did report it but nothing was done whilst we were there.
The complex itself is vast, don't think we actually saw all of it. There were plenty of things going on during the day. We tried our hand at archery which was fun. All the areas were kept clean and tidy. We didn't venture into the pool as the weather wasn't that hot and when you hear youngsters gasping for breath when they go in the water, you know it must be cold!
Since we were last at Caleta de Fuste a walk way has been built along the sea front. It was lovely and we walked for miles.
The staff in the restaurant work tirelessly clearing tables and restocking the buffet. The food was really nice but a little bit same same.
The restaurant maybe needs a bit of re-thinking. There were so many young children there, it would have been nice to have a dining room that was child free, to have a proper grown up evening meal.
I think I would agree with other comments about there being nowhere to sit in the evenings when the weather isn't warm. We had a couple of days when it was overcast and windy. It would have been nice to be able to sit somewhere, have a drink and watch the world go by other than in our bungalow.
Overall it was a nice place for a chilled out winter break, but I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charliebrown44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our second time at this Barceló plus we have also stayed at Jandia Barceló. We have booked again to this Barceló in June.
It is so relaxed and easy going in Caletta and the Barceló lends itself to relaxation. We were self catering and had the facilities we needed in the bungalow, we asked and even got the same bungalow again! There are lovely pools and handy shops as well as being close to the town which has great restaurants and cafes. Check in and out is simple. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1029. Sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paula0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Currently out here now so if there's any questions feel free to ask away.

One thing I noticed was everyone complain about the wifi (reception only) and the price.

I'm with Vodafone and it only cost me an extra £3 perday and I get all my normal allowances.
Signal is fantastic.

The resort is HUGE!!! And no Main Center to go to.
Only a few shops clubbed together.
Only negative I would say is the reception.
Only 2 people serving and a lot of guests.
30min wait just standing there wondering what's going on only to be told no rooms are ready and that I "have" to upgrade as they are fully booked.

Staying in room 2004. Very nice and clean great location for the reception and the beach (2secs)
Sharing a little court yard with surrounding apartments.

Will update later when I gather more info.


As I'm writing this there's 2 little baby hedgehogs that have just come strolling across out patio which is a nice little welcome surprise :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
9  Thank Wonkey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

we stayed at this hotel at the end of february .the staff and hotel were excellent
rooms were of a very high standard food was superb every day ,so much so my waist line has expanded, pool and bar areas very clean , water in pools was cold but it is early season
only negative is that the evening entertainment room /bar is to small and no comfy chairs obviously in season it would be warm enough to sit outside in the evening

Room Tip: some of the rooms are quite far from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C6325RCjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from this hotel it was our second visit and it was lovely ,we where Putin the new rooms and they where beautiful very clean spacious and beautifully decorated I would recommend this hotel to anyone .the food was really good something different to eat every night ,there was even baby food and children's food ,the food was always fresh and hot enough choice for even the fussy eater .the only thing I think let it down is the entertainment it is very poor could do with rethinking ,and also the pool is in need of a good clean lots of mould on the tiles in the pool .

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were here for the first time in late February and we greatly enjoyed ourselves. Five adults and five children.
There were some negative things. The kitchen is not that well equipped. And the daily cleaning of the bungalow was a bit average. The hotel should also give priority to develop better wifi. It worked poorly in our bungalow.
But pretty much everything else was all good. Great service. Nice outdoor area. Close to both beach and pools. And the selection of restaurants in Caleta de Fuste was surprisingly good. We ate tasty food every night. I would recommend Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leif55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: $105 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing