We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice January break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NORTHANTS
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice January break”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have returned today from this resort & had a nice Winter break. - our accommodation had been changed from what was booked when we arrived, but what a pleasant surprise, a lovely apartment overlooking the beach with the biggest balcony/terrace you could wish for. (5000 block) for what reason we were moved we don't know but just so chuffed that we weren't in the bungalows over the road from the main hotel. We were A.I & none of us could fault the choice of meals - breakfasts were lovely, & the meat served at the evening dinner is some of the best we have encountered in a foreign hotel, & along with this, the staff in the restaurant were excellent. Room was cleaned every day, though some days better than others but that's a minor point. 3 flat screen t.v's - one in each bedroom, one in the lounge area. Lovely kitchen if you were self-catering. Now to the moans!! Although the largest bedroom was light as it had huge patio doors overlooking the beach, the 2nd bedroom is very, very dark & badly lit.. Only one mirror in the whole apartment, which is in the shower/toilet area, & has useless lighting for men to shave & women to try & apply make-up - why there are no other mirrors in the apartment is quite unusual. Now to the biggest downside - the entertainment & bar area is awful - a large tent, with a little stage, no dancefloor, only one small bar open at any time, day or evening, no nice seating area, & entertainment, other than a couple of nights, pretty dire, but maybe all this changes in Peak season, otherwise I think there would be a lot of disappointed people, however there is building work going on apparently for new theatre & bar. All in all, a nice winter break but doubtful we would return as this was our second visit (we stayed in Barceló Thalasso Spa Hotel last time which is very different) but feel we have seen enough of this resort now.

Room Tip: Block 5000 has the loveliest upstairs apartments, have a feeling the downstairs ones would be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,899
    1,716
    687
    211
    113
See reviews for
2,304
1,744
68
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We went here on the 18th Jan. Arrived at night so when we had eventually checked in the search was on to find our room!! Very confusing and outside lighting is very dim. We were in room 2175. Lovely apartment just wish there had of been a TV in the bedroom!! Didn't like that our balcony had no view whatsoever just of other apartments/rooms. Had a large balcony though with our own sunbeds etc. Unfortunately we hardly used it as the wind was always bad. Woken the following day at 8.00 by housekeeping and that kept up all week apart from one day and obviously our last day!! No note to put on the door to say no thanks if we wanted a lie in!!! Also never any hot water. We complained at reception that we didnt have any and lady just suggested leave the hot tap on until hot water came through!! Could take 40 minutes!! So basically had to put up with lukewarm water all week. Husband boiled a kettle for hot water to shave. Basically u just have to make do!! Awful that there is no comfy lounge to sit in with a drink at night that didn't require u to go outside to get to it first!! Also most of the evening entertainment was held in what I can only describe as is a shack!!!! And half the time that wasn't good at all. Only ever found the heated pool once in the middle of the complex and that was inundated by kids and.parents!! Wifi?? Yeah pay €7 each a day and u.got it only in reception!! It's 2014 so come on sort that out!! We went to pieros cafebar most days to have a drink or lunch and used their wifi. All in all a lovely holiday just wish the weather had been warmer and no winds. Barcello fuerteventura hotel next door we are aiming.for next year!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We've been to the Barcelo each January, this being the 3rd in a row. We get a taxi to and from the airport for fifteen euros including tip.

The complex is large, we had a bungalow, which was the best ever. Each has ben laid out slightly differently, this one seemed the most comfortable. The TV has been upgraded since last year, but only half a dozen channels are English and reception varied greatly according to the wind.

Reception staff are excellent, helpful and calm. A problem we had was sorted within hours.

The site shop has improved and the catering facilities for non self catering people have improved a lot.

The town is still as pleasant and easy to get around, plenty of shops and bars to suit all!

We will return next year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank DonJan_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freckleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed for our 3rd visit at this hotel and 7th in total at Barcelo hotels in the Canaries. This hotel is close to the airport – 13E and 10 mins in a taxi. Under the flight path but this was not a problem. Stayed 30th Nov for a week. Weather good with a bit of cloud. On arrival at the hotel the rather unhelpful reception staff did not understand our annoyance that the room we had asked for via email we were expected to pay 22E extra per night. This issue caused a bad start to the holiday as their couldn’t care less attitude was obvious. I tried to explain that regular travellers were looking for that little bit extra . Later that day one of the Managers took us to another room to view but we ended staying where we were. His attitude was fantastic and he knew why we had been annoyed. The next day a basket of fruit and some champagne were in the room. Excellent customer service. I wished i had taken his name. He also spoke to us a few days later to make sure we were happy. Our room was 2158 close to reception and the restaurant. Very pleased with the room. Full kitchen. TV with loads of English Channels. Man about the house is still on !!! One bedroom with huge bed. Double bed settee in the lounge. Large balcony with sun loungers and table and chairs. Sea view.
Food is typical all inc and plenty of choice. Lovely restaurant area and weather was good enough to eat outside. Since we last came there has been a massive amount of building work. We looked at the new appts with Jacuzzis. I was travelling with a friend and in our opinion these rooms are more suited for couples on a romantic week away. There is no privacy in the appts as they are open plan. They also look very dark as they have shutters.
The entertainment is as dire as ever and the sooner the bulldozers move in the better. The video playing in reception showing what is planned looks very impressive. We walked to Pieros Bar just past the Thalasso Spa hotel most nights. Good entertainment and all the football on.
We hired towels and you get your money back at the end of the week. Didn’t bother with a safe. The hotel is key card access with gated security round the rooms so is a very safe environment. There is a supermarket with papers etc in Reception. And a nice souvenir/ beach wear shop next to it. The WiFi is a disgrace for a hotel of this calibre.25E a week and only available in reception. It is nearly 2014 get it sorted.
Any entertainment during the day passed us by. Seemed to be a lot of beach volley ball. The restaurant staff were very nice and we had no problems getting a table.
A final special mention must go to Jose (unfortunately not Mourinho) the grey haired barman at the pool bar during the day. The most miserable member of staff imaginable. Can’t understand how he is still there. He was just as surly and unpleasant the last time we visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank intrak2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at the Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort and our experience is consistent with other tripadvisor reviews. The staff are helpful, energetic and efficient. The food is varied and was regularly replenished and artistically presented. Our apartment was well appointed and cleaned daily. My only disappointment was, having checked there were tennis courts before going, I was sad to find, one could hire the court, but there was no coach or lessons to join! I fortunately found Gary (a gem) from the Roger Nadal Tennis School at the Hotel Elba, where I had superb coaching. I would recommend to the Barcelo to get a hold of him. Also, one expects wifi to be available in the room of a four star hotel at no cost and lastly the 3 euro a day charge for a safe was a surprise. Otherwise, it was a great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

On arriving at the Barcelo Castillo we were allocated bungalow 1042 which is out the front of reception and 200 meters up the street on the far side away from the main block .there are no facilities on this side just 100 bungalows enclosed by a boundary fence. the bungalows are clean and modern but the lighting is very poor especially in the bedroom where at night you need a torch to find items in the dark wardrobe, there is also no drawer space for storage.The terrace ,dining area,kitchen and bathroom were all good.The weather whilst we were there was very bad which resulted in the television screen freezing on the English language stations.Overall we could have got accommodation as good as the Barcelo for half the price as only a chosen few get to look and walk to the beach from outside there bungalow door.I would not return nor would i recommend the Barcelo Castillo bungalows to friends

Room Tip: stay on the reception side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank higgy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location facing the Caleta Beach. The complex is spread out and very flat.
The hotel has many good points and a few that need improving.
Firstly our room was superb. We were in block 500 with views over the beach. The room was very modern. very comfortable beds, 2 flat screen teles and cleaned daily to a high standard. We had a large balcony with our own sunbeds. The only thing that lets it down was the design of the shower which leaked.
The staff are all friendly and work very hard. The place is kept clean and it looks like the building work is nearing completion.
What this place lacks is a decent bar where you can sit in comfort. At night they use an old outdoor arena with poor chairs and plastic cups. This is not 4 star. Maybe its part of the ongoing improvements to sort this out?.
Also the main dining room does not seem big enough and struggled to cope at breakfast and dinner.
But overall this is a nice hotel in a super location with excellent rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing