We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond words....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Sugar Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $1 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sugar restaurante bar fue creado con la intencion de mezclar varias culturas britanico.Caribena.Con una buena calidad .Precio.En un ambiente acogedor para todos los gustos .Familias con ninos .Personas mayores y jovenes con una musica agradable y un trato familiar al cliente.Actualmente resivimos clientes de todos los paises principalmente ingleses los cuales son personas agradables .Y muy educadas estamos muy felises con ellos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beyond words....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Without a doubt,the best kept secret in Calete! Unbelievably delicious food,and an atmosphere second to none. Mine hosts,Nicki and Amen are what makes the place so special. Do NOT go to Calete without visiting this gem!!! Sunday afternoons with Tony and Adie will have you crying with laughter...not forgetting Gary the 'half-cut Diamond'!!! That's IF he arrives on the 'Wally-Trolley'..... Sexy Normski,you are on YouTube!!! Love and miss you guys,see you in October!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bloodrush1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not so sweet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I`m probably the only person ever to give this place a bad review and I am sure they are a lovely couple that serve great estrella, but I wasn`t impressed. It was like the top of a flat roofed building with a massive hut at the back accessed by fire escape ladders. Even the decking and Ikea style settees didn`t disguise the fact it had a temporary feel about it like you find on some dodgy makeover show. Anyway we ordered some drinks only to be told they do not keep JD and would Bannetynes do(no idea what that stuff is). I was amazed there was actually a bar in CDF that didnt keep JD so had a G+T just to be safe which was warm and weak. The thought of having food quickly evaporated after a visit to the toilets which were mingin so we were offski.
Should re-name it nutrasweet as it left a nasty taste

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“This Place Is A Joy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friend and I visited Sugars Bar on numerous occasions recently. Nicki and Amen are truly lovely hosts and the service is spot on. The venue boasts a lovely sunny balcony but shade when the heat is intense. The drinks are very reasonably priced and there is a good choice. On a Sunday afternoon there is live entertainment from Tony and Adie who were talented and good fun, they would have to be because they let me sing with them! I look forward to returning, hopefully next year. Pease visit Sugars, you won't be disappointed! Once again, thankyou Nicki and Amen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

good bar and restaurant, Amen the owner is a really nice guy, who genuinely aims to please, we have a new friend in him, and his and his wife's paella if amazing, ask and you will get it how you want it, bought and cooked fresh for you, he deserves people to visit, he works hard, plays some good music as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank johnter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please try Sugars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned home after a 5 week stay in Caleta and cannot recommend Sugars enough. Nicki and Amen were wonderful hosts and the service was top class. The music was always varied and sitting out on the sunny balcony listening to it was a real treat every day. The drinks were always cheap and the food was good. We always looked forward to Tony and Adie singing live on a Sunday afternoon - it was brilliant and really entertaining. Thanks again to you both, and we will see you soon for the Xmas holidays.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciaa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing