We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service and Equipment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caleta Cycles

Caleta Cycles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Equipment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

After a couple of days of walking up and down the promenade and becoming a little tired of all of the "usual" attractions (cafe / pub / cafe / pub) we decided to get out and about to do some exploring! First of all, Caleta Cycles offer (in my opinion) very good value for money. We paid 25 euro each for three days cycle hire. 50 euro returnable deposit each (please take cash - do not accept "plastic" yet. We opted for mountain bikes and were provided with two high spec "Fuji Nevada" bikes. Extremely comfortable and just right for the job. We were also provided with full bike repair kit incl. tyres levers, helmets and lock. They also have a full range of high spec road bikes, kids bikes etc available for hire. I am a confident road bike user here in the UK but was still was a little nervous about cycling on the opposite side of the road and off roading. We were given really good advice and safety tips and were ready to set off in confidence. We were provided with a map and given some suggestions as to where to go. Were also provided with a contact number in case of any emergences (of which thankfully there were none!!). Spent the next three days cycling our legs off!! First of all up to the capital Rosario, past the airport runway (literally), Second day, some proper off roading down to the beach at Pozzo Negro and on the way back, a well deserved beer and great food in a small restaurant on the beach front in Las Salinas.This was a great ride out but not for the faint hearted (take plenty of water!!!) Third day, along the main road up to Antigua (downhill all the way back).

Anyway, would have no problems recommending this company to you. It as a great way to get out and see so much more than you would with car hire. Our thanks to Caleta Cycles for making our holiday much more enjoyable

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Clare5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bikes for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good range of equipment and very knowledgeable staff. Thorough and safety concious, the proprietor, Geoff, is a very careful to stick to the rules and can seem brisk if hurried! Don't be put off giving it a go by his cautious approach - it's a great place to cycle. Give the off road tracks a go too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE WITH FANTASTIC GUIDE CALLED JEFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

fantastic guided tour on mountain bikes for myself and my husband.
jeff was very informative and knew exactly what he was doing.
bikes were in excellent condition and supplied helmets free of charge too. do not understand other review saying rude and rubbish. if you are looking to hire a bike or take a tour please go see this guy.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly20561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Efficient and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

I hired 2 bikes for myself and my daughter from Caleta Cycls during our holiday in Caleta in August 2010. The resort is ideal for cycling due to its long promenade. We took our time and felt very safe and comfortable on the bikes. The cycle shop owner was very pleasant and made sure the bikes were right for us. The fees were very reasonable and we had an enjoyable afternoon covering the length of the resort from the harbour to the shopping centre. A lovely experience, made better by the relaxed and friendly manner of the staff at the cycle hire shop. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Tielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Caleta Cycles - RUDE & RUBBISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We hired two bikes from Caleta Cycles. Not only were the bikes porly maintained, the gentlemen in the store was extremely rude. We went to choose the bikes we wanted and were told "he chooses the bikes". The supllied my wife with a bike too big for her. We honestly believe that he only hires out the same two bikes. We were pushed for time and with there being a shortage of places to hire from, decided to still hire them. When riding my bike made a constant shoshing sound like it was fill of water (and it was). Only supplied one bottle cage for two bikes (probably for this reason lol). Constant gear slipage, creaking headsets and spoke to us like we were stupid. I have rode several different bikes for over 30 years and am a member of a cycling club. When I mentioned this he said "don't go jumping in if theres a problem". They supplied a puncture repair kit but with no tyre levers and suggested we use the seat pin clamp (which is not practical when he is worried about damage to his bikes). We only hired the bikes because of the short time we were there and did not want to miss out because of his attitude. All in all would not recommend to anyone, if you are interested in hiring a bike, do you research, you will need to travel somewhere else on the island if you like service with a smile.

Helpful?
13 Thank FinnjackWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caleta Cycles also viewed

 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Caleta Cycles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing