We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality”

Nestor's Restaurant & Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Homemade Food With Love And Passion
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“hospitality”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was given a heads up about this place by a friend so made sure we checked it out, unfortunately our friend forgot to mention the portion sizes and we had a starter on our first visit, when our main meal arrived, we could have saved ourselves the bother. great friendly family run establishment, that made us very welcome and nestor comes out to greet all of his guests and nothing is to much trouble for him. just make sure you starve yourselfs for the day and enjoy the best ever meal you will ever have, thanks to nestor, emma, susie and the team, just wish there were more of him, and we had him in brittain, great work team, thankyou again, will definately be back again, we visited three times on our ten day trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    176
    85
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

People recommended this restuarant and we checked on tripadvisor and all seemed set fair for a gourmet treat. What a disappointment for our party of 6 who all left wondering what had gone wrong.
A television chef said once go to the toilet before ordering and if you don't like what you see leave.
Perhaps we should have followed that advice as the gents wc was out of normal working order the pan dirty, the lid removed and could only be operated by tugging on a length of very dirty string.
My partner said the ladies were little better.
Of our party of 6, 2 thought is was OK, 2 thought it was rubbish and I left thinking they must be writing their own reviews and after talking to others on holiday who had eaten here I really can't see how it gets it ratings.
The chef, I think he was Nestor himself but I'm not sure, turned up at the table with dirty hands, a tea cloth tied around his head looking for all the world like a beached pirate looking for a new ship.
The lady meet and greeter from yorkshire looked bored and particularly disinterested in customer satisfaction.
When our drinks order arrived 2 of the glasses had lipstick on them and because we had already poured the wine we asked for fresh bottles as they tried to just move the wine from glass to glass. What was the woman thinking!
We can commend the starters and advise that if you do visit you could have a starter for a main course and beware if you've had a starter you may well not finish the main.
The mains were presented and first impressions were that the food had been thrown on the large plates. The steaks were good sized although cooking to customer preference was very hit and miss.
Don't know if there was a mix up somewhere but a med - well came as a blue!
It must be nigh on impossible to have a starter, main and then move on to a sweet unless you need a guilt trip on world hunger.
Conclusion, over priced, over rated and its better over the road at the Grill & Garden, or along the street to Fado Rock..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grahame b”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great food, but don,t take a starter,!! Cos you will never finish your main meal. good atmosphere and staff very helpful. I got seafood pasta but this came with cream sauce and I asked if I could get this without cream and only to happy to do this got it with a lovely tomato sauce. Estafado is amazing but big portion!! .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quality and Quantity”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had read reviews prior to going to this restuarant, which stated the chef was a bit of a 'character'. We were not disappointed, but for a small portion person 'it was too much' I ordered a steak which was just as i asked for, however I was unable to finish. No problem I was given the remaineder or my meal to take away, this proved to be a tasty snack for my husband for the next two days, steak and onions and a steak sandwich... Nestor and his wife are wonderful people, We were fortunate to get a table without booking, (not advisable), as we returned rthe following evening only to find it fully booked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenpendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is amazing!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Eight of us went to Nestors, could not fault it in way. Great portion sizes, staff were excellant and the chef came and introduced himself. He also sent out extra steak and chips even though we didnt need it! Need to book as its so busy but highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nestor's Restaurant & Steakhouse also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Nestor's Restaurant & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing