We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy local bar and restaurant”

La Taberna del Capitan
Ranked #11 of 120 Restaurants in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, Spanish, Soups, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Busy local bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

A busy local rustic restaurant central in the resort.
Menu displayed at the restaurant counter on chalk boards, selections changing depending what is available or specials.
Usual tapas selections all cooked fresh to order, very good serrano ham and seafood options.
Meal of olives, bread, serrano ham, garlic prawns, croquettes, corrizo cooked in cider, callamari, two bottles of wine, coffee for two approx 60 eurros. VERY GOOD VALUE.
Entertainment in evenings makes restaurnt busy so booking advisable.
We ate here once in our weeks holiday, but returned a few more times for drinks with a plate of ham. Happy hour 12 till one and 8.30 till 10.30. Two large glasses of good house wine 3 eurros! You must try this restaurant if you are in the resort.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wales2g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    463
    121
    51
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

having had this place ( I cant bring myself to call it a restaurant) recommended to us i popped in to book a table for the following evening.And was asked by the waiter if I would like paella and if so he would book it for 7.30,we said yes paella for two please.So 7.30 the following evening arrived and in we went to be shown our table and just left, not asked if we would like a drink just left.After what felt like an eternity we managed to attract the attention of a waiter who instructed us to go and look at the chalk board and pick something.When he was told that two of us had booked paella a look of horror came over his face,he then ran to the book then disappeared into the kitchen only to come back and say ok ok and wander away again, only to be shouted back again and asked if he could take the rest of the order and could we have some drinks please,myself and a friend ordered beer only to be served up what looked like and tasted like warm cats urine.Now having eaten paella many times and knowing how long it takes to prepare and cook I was now thinking if they have not realised paella has been ordered we are in for a long wait, but fair enough it will be fresh and as this is a supposedly authentic spanish restaurant should be really good,how wrong can you be.
after 35 min,this plate of mush arrived at the table,and although it was ment to be paella for two the waiter looked so embaraced he dumped one plate on the table and shot off.The long and short of this sorry tale is that it was so over cooked the rice was burnt and stuck to the serving plate and was so salty one forkfull was enough,the three prawns were so rubbery if you had bounced them on the floor they would never have been seen again, it also consisted of three of the smallest mussels I have ever seen and also what appeared to be stock bones and shells.The waiter sheepishly came over and aked if everything was alright only to be told in the strongest terms that everything was not alright.the manager then appeared took one taste screwed up his face and said we will not charge you for this and then said this sometimes happens,REALLY !!! Also the friends we were with ordered fillet steak medium when it came it was so rare it was a suprise it didn't stand up moo and leave the plate. In summary the paella was rank, the steaks were not as ordered cold and covered in a brown glupe and served with cold frozen chips.I also had a look at the tapas displayed in heated trays, and I have to say worst tapas i have ever seen,I also have to say that the toilets were disgusting avoid at all cost

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had a wonderfull night in this good restaurant. We had tapas, which were great. Not the cheapest restaurant around, but worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank Popko80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We we stopping over the road in the Barcelo, dropped on this place for lunch, with kids in tow. Ended up returning again & again...!

Food is good, and excellent value.

Service can be very slow.

On our next visits, I asked for the food to brought out when it was ready, not all at once, which did seem to speed up the service. This also allowed to eat the cold tapas first, such as melon & Palma ham & fresh bread.

I recommend the garlic prawns & chicken wings.

Very baby friendly place, lots of high chairs.

My teenager girl enjoyed the free wifi too,just ask for the password & very fast connection.

Yes, you must go, day or night, magical vibe here.

Do it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous tapas and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

What a great little find..... If you like tapas...this is the place....some great dishes...loved the way it was dripfed to you so you could have a long leisurely meal...Very flavoursome and fresh..and good portions....we had 5 between 3 of us which was more than sufficient...phew.... Was nice to try some foods we hadn't had before.... The permeant happy hour in the bar attached was a bit mad.... 2 wines...2 large beers...2 colas...for 7€ .... So cheap .... The staff were lovely and a great mix of customers and characters....nice to see so many locals which is always a sign the food is good... Loved the quirky decor... There is a tapas chain in england la tasca and which is way overpriced and the food is bland compared to here and i will never go again...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank The-Whatleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna del Capitan also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to La Taberna del Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing