We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food wrong atmosphere for me”

La Taberna del Capitan
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food wrong atmosphere for me”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food here was beautiful and could not be faulted. As a caveat to this however it has a very pubby atmosphere (being a pub) and as a non drinker who hates pubs I disliked the atmosphere. The food was A1 though

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank leavser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    482
    128
    53
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional & authentic”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sought this place out after the great reviews and we were lucky to get a table without booking.

A very warm welcome and a clear explanation of the menu choices left us in no doubt we'd made the right choice for the evening.

Chose 7 dishes from the Tapas menu and a few pints of Tropical which I think is a good beer compared to Dorada.

€40 for the whole meal was an absolute bargain and we will definitely be going again before the end of the holiday.

Having eaten Tapas all over mainland Spain including Las Ramblas in Barcelona this was of the highest quality

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leave your all-inclusive for a night here!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stumbled upon this place by accident and so glad we did! Busy, great atmosphere and packed with locals (always a good sign when eating abroad!) Food was fantastic:- cheap, tasty and portions were BIG! Service was excellent and the place was buzzing! All different age groups, couples and families...my boyfriend and I ended up there most evenings! Live music ranging from traditional Spanish to jazz and the drinks were CHEAP! Really good quality alcohol served as well...not the usual paint stripper stuff! Special mention goes to Mark the manager who is definitely the host with the most! An absolute credit to this place, he's fun, friendly, full of character and made us feel welcome in an instant! We happily 'zig-zagged' our way home every evening, and if we return to Costa Caleta, this place would be our first stop!! :)

Kerry and Luca x

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great tapas...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

There are some really good restaurants in Caleta but there aren't many tapas bars. We booked a table and I think it was worth it...it got really busy when the singers and dancers were getting ready to perform. Whatever negative comments you read about del Capitan ignore them and try it. We enjoyed many tapas dishes and they were all really good especially the prawn dishes. And don't forget that tapas doesn't mean ordering loads of dishes and expecting them all to arrive at once..order two or three, have a glass of wine (the cheapest was €8 a bottle and very good) and sit back and enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dajamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, we were more than a little confused with all the boards of menus and rows of food, we nearly left. But we were so delighted we didn't. The food was beautiful,service was excellent and it was just so reasonable. It is a very charming setting for a meal or a few drinks while listening to great live music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna del Capitan also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to La Taberna del Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing