We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling trip”

Deep Blue Diving Base
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Blue boasts a prime location on the water's edge, allowing easy access to our RIBs which speedily deliver us to any of our numerous exclusive divesites. There is no need for tiresome shorediving and long hikes down the beach. You cannot miss us in the harbour when you discover El Castillo for the first time.We offer SSI,PADI, CMAS and IAHD (International Association of Handicapped Divers) courses.Theses range from Discover Scuba Diving introduction courses all the up to Staff Instructor.With years of experience in the Atlantic Ocean and innumerable guests we are the most popular dive centre in Fuerteventura.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was a nice snorkeling trip just a bit wavy and too deep for my liking. Fuerteventura does not have any coral reefs but it's still nice to watch fish and we even saw a small octopus.

Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe-P-Rouse, Public Relations Manager at Deep Blue Diving Base, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Inga,
Thank you for taking the time for writing your review.
We at Deep Blue are glad that you where able to see a range of fish while on your trip.
In regards to the depth of the site, it is normally explained during the briefing that the site is between 5-6 meters. If this was not the case then I apologize.

We hope to see you again one day here at Deep Blue.

Best Regards

Joe Rouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive centre"
in 74 reviews
"angel shark"
in 19 reviews
"open water course"
in 16 reviews
"octopus"
in 22 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 10 reviews
"discover scuba"
in 9 reviews
"great dive"
in 9 reviews
"padi course"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 27 reviews
"hotel pool"
in 9 reviews
"ribs"
in 16 reviews
"marine life"
in 10 reviews
"special thanks"
in 13 reviews
"whole team"
in 9 reviews
"returned home"
in 6 reviews
"can't wait to come back"
in 6 reviews
"many thanks"
in 13 reviews
Filter

467 - 471 of 665 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was part of a party of 9 divers some of whom had been to Deep Blue once or twice before, so it came well recommended. It certainly lived up to expectations, the returning divers were greeted as old friends and everyone else was made to feel very welcome. The operation was very professionally organised with divers getting kitted up at the centre and then just boarding one of their large RIBs. All the dives sites were within a 10 minute RIB ride from the dive centre. The trips were all well led, with the dive guides being really interested in, and enthusiastic about, the dives rather than just taking divers around. There was even a bar-b-q organised for our last night. A really good dive trip - thanks guys.

Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe-P-Rouse, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue Diving Base, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Alan,
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review.
We are all very glad that you enjoyed your dives here with us at Deep Blue.
It was a pleasure having you diving with us and hope to see you again soon.

Hope it isn´t too cold for you back in the U.K.

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Went diving here with my boyfriend recently. Can't say enough good things about the place. It was my first time diving, my boyfriend had done a bit before but we did the discover dive course together.
Going into enquire about the course, the staff were warm, welcoming & having fun. Booked the session for the next day - really reasonable rates, we def got our money's worth.
Induction theory was informative & well delivered. Went to a nearby pool for some practical training to help get used to the equipment, etc. which was great. Then I went out on the boat to the dive sight & I completely panicked - did NOT want to go in & would've nearly paid to go back to base. Instructor (Roman) was amazing! Gently coaxed me into the water & before I new it I was diving. He stayed close the whole time & I felt very safe & ended up having a ball. I had an excellent day in the end and it was all thanks to Roman's skills & patience!
Would def recommend these guys to anyone !

Thank Neenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe-P-Rouse, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue Diving Base, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.
We here at Deep Blue are glad you enjoyed your diving here with us.
Your comments have been passed on to Roman.
We hope you come back and dive with us in the future.

Best Regards

Joe Rouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first time diving with Deep Blue. In fact this was my first time to the Canary Islands, and neither disappointed. I planned this as a diving holiday and chose Deep Blue on the basis of their good reviews and reputation. I completed fourteen dives over seven days, from the eleventh to seventeenth of October. One dive in the morning and one in the afternoon, with around three hours between each dive. A nice and chilled way to dive in my opinion. Air temperature was between 25-30 degrees each day.

The centre is situated on the Marina in a good location. Plenty of shops and accommodation within a five minute walk. Decent kitting out areas, two showers (with hot water), freshwater tanks, drying racks, lockers for valuables, refrigerated drinks and snacks, bar area, and plenty of shaded areas to sit and relax. There are no toilets at the centre but they have an agreement with a hotel opposite and you are allowed to use their pool toilet block. This is about twenty meters away and was clean and presentable. There is also a small shop/admin area where you can buy souvenirs and basic scuba equipment.

You can store your own equipment in a separate room. I was more than happy to leave my equipment here at the end of each day. I rented a BCD and regulator for all my dives and they were decent quality as all their extensive range of equipment seems to be. Plenty of new kit on show, and they can obviously cater to all sizes and preferences.

There was a good mixture of staff present at all times. They were all professional, and obviously well qualified. I found everyone very friendly and helpful. Encouragement and advice was freely given and I certainly feel that my buoyancy and air consumption has improved after my dives here.

My first dive was an orientation dive, which introduced me to the waters and gave me a useful shot of confidence. All of my dives were between 35 - 50 minutes, and depths varied according to certification/skill/safety limits. Travel to the sites is by one of their RIB's, average around ten minutes, and are very enjoyable themselves. Descents/ascents are by shot line, depths vary, and currents were very manageable. There were plenty of Instructors and Divemasters on each dive, and so felt very safe. Water was very warm 20-22 degrees. I was more than comfortable in a 5mm full body wetsuit, and people were also diving in 3mm full bodies and 5mm shorties. Visibility was excellent 20-25m. Saw lots of barracuda, octopus, rays, morays, schooling fish, little critters in crevices, etc. Can't fault the marine life you can experience on these dive sites, with lots of rocks, reef, crevices to meander through. Or you can just glide serenely over it all.

So to sum it all up. A very enjoyable experience, in a superb location, with some really great people. Many Thanks to Gary, Joe, Tyler, Sophie, Alan, etc, and my various dive buddies.

Thank sebh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe-P-Rouse, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue Diving Base, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Seb,
Thank you for taking the time for writing such a detailed and positive review.
It is greatly appreciated.
We at Deep Blue are happy to hear that you enjoyed your fortnight diving with us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Joe Rouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the second time I've been to Deep Blue in the last year and I'm not a type that normally goes back, certainly not that quickly. This centre is very professionally run but it is the staff that makes it the most friendly centre I have ever had the pleasure of diving with. The diving is very good. I enjoy filming underwater and it is now a question of which footage will make the final cut! The guides know the area so well. On one dive Joe managed to get two shrimps to walk on his hand and give him a pedicure and then followed it up by enticing an Octopus out of its hole. On the night dive we saw the biggest Stingray I have ever seen. All dive sites are a short ride in a RIB and these boats a large and spacious.

I would also recommend staying in the excellent Barceló apartments right next to the dive centre. There are some excellent restaurants in easy walking distance nearby so don't bother with the all inclusive. Joe arranged for us to get some discount off the bill. It's all part of the service.

Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe-P-Rouse, Guest Relations Manager at Deep Blue Diving Base, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you Nigel for the fantastic review.
All of us here are glad you enjoyed your self with us once more, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Blue Diving Base also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Deep Blue Diving Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing