We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get up close”

Oceanarium Explorer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Oceanarium Explorer in Caleta de Fuste´s marina, offer a wide range of activities and excursions. You can swim and interact with our 2 resident sealions, Debbie and Donna. We have whale & dolphin safaris. There are daily deep sea fishing trips. We have a 75ft catamaran offering sailing excursions with lunch, drinks, snorkelling and jet ski all included. There is jet ski hire and also pedal boat & kayak hire. We also have a huge old pirate boat for kids to play aboard.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Dalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent value for money. Children and adults alike will love it.
It was fantastic to be able to see so much marine life so closely

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    132
    77
    42
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor show”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Before you go realise that you will only be out in the sub for 20 minutes, and it only goes about 100ft out in the bay. The remainder of the time is a sea lion show and a chance to go on a childrens pirate ship (woohooo). I'd rather pay more and spend more time out looking at the fishies, which there were not that many that close to the beach. They do a dolphin and whale spotting one but we had just missed it. A guest at our hotel said they had gone and it was good but saw no whales, but it was pricey ... but isn't everything these days?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank boyo685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable morning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

A great morning, very educational and fun for all!! Meeting the seal ions was a highlight!!! The boat/submarine was quite claustrophobic and made a few people feel a little sea sick, but with the trip only being about 25 minutes, it was really a problem!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RBF1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“whale watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

was ok but 2 hour was 2 long we saw everything in first 30 min and last 90 min we saw nothing, there are cheaper trips which are cheaper and they would be better value, also boat we was on was a sport fishing boat and smelt abit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiekyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only go if the weather is fine and calm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

When we arrived were told that the glass bottom boat was not available therefore the cost of the experience was half price. however the experience was a tour of the aquarium, a look at the sea lion and a play on a pirate ship. Although staff were friendly the aquarium leaves a lot to be desired only a few fish in it could see more just looking in the harbour. The sea lion experience lasted about 5 minutes although you were given an opportunity to go into the enclosure and have a picture taken with the sealion for an additional charge of 6 euros. the play on the pirate ship wore thin after about 5 minutes too all in all cost 26 euros for my husband and i and two under fives which did not represent value for money

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanarium Explorer also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Oceanarium Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing