We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food a little expensive”
Review of Gambrinus

Gambrinus
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
horsham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food a little expensive”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate here twice in week we stayed at Caleta. The food was good but real reason for return trips are the staff and the atmosphere.
The staff were all very attentive without being intrusive they treid to keep customers entertained and even when busy they still managed to keep things moving. Both nights we went there was a singer who was very good and not too loud.
So yes it is a little expensive compared to some but I would say well worth the extra money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    148
    72
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
350 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“overpriced, but good”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited this restaurant this week, having read the reviews on here. We found the starters to be a bit overpriced, but we went for the 4.95 euro asparagus soup and the Argentinian sausage at a similar price. Both were excellent choices. I then had the lovely mixed fish grill which came with a small salad and a boiled potato, my boyfriend had the ribs at about 16/17 euros which he felt was very overpriced for what it was. the house wine was also nice, but overpriced compared to the other restaurants in the area. The staff were very pleasant and attentive, but we just felt there was something lacking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came here for an evening meal. Food was cooked fresh on the grill in front of us. Would definitely come back again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevaune P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have been to Caleta for eight years , plenty of restaurants have come and gone,plenty have been decent one year and awful the next . Gambrinus has been excellent every year , the food, service and the atmosphere that Patrick presents is an absolute pleasure .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeechris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Caleta de Fuste”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to this resort for 8 years and Gambrinus has consistently been the best place to eat. The service is warm, friendly and efficient and the food is absolutely excellent. The steaks are the best we've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambrinus also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing