We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish at its best”
Review of La Frasquita - CLOSED

La Frasquita
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fish at its best”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

this restaurant has no menu they bring a very large platter of fish to your table .. the food is excellent . at first glance it looks like a snack bar dont be fooled .. take a chance you will be happily surprised fish at its best..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    146
    33
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Another memorable meal in Fuerteventura”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I sought out this restaurant when we visited Caleta. We preferred somewhere which was typically Spanish. We also declined the opportunity to watch live premiership football whilst we ate, thus eliminating well over half of the restaurants in the town.

When we arrived we were slightly concerned to be the only patrons (it was about 1:00 pm on a Saturday). We chose a table in the small room overlooking the beach. We were shown a platter of fish from which we could choose. Although we were told what each of the fish were, we were really none the wiser so we both opted for the vieja, or parrot fish. We were provided with fresh rolls and a selection of dips, by way of an appetiser. The main course soon appeared, grilled accompanied by salad and canarian potatoes. The fish was cooked to perfection, simply dropping off the bones. We declined a dessert, and we were given complimentary drinks (honey rum) with our bill. As we enjoyed our meal, other diners came into the restaurant. They were all Spanish - this seemed to vindicate our choice of restaurant.

The decor and furnishing are basic but nonetheless appealing. We chose this restaurant for its reputation with serving fresh fish, rather than its ambiance. At about 15 euros per person, the meal represented very good value. We can heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys eating freshly caught fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Caleta”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

All fish caught that morning, you cant get better of fresher. interior a little basic but do get put off, the food is excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attention to choice”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend made the mistake and ordered the paella. It was prepared during the day and then brought to us warmed in the microwave. I must say that the taste was not bad, but anything special. My boyfriend also took the fish broth - that one was definitely bad choice. The soup did not have any taste, 2 days after we tried it in different place and it was such a big difference.
Then we saw other clients ordering the fish plates and those looked fabulous. So I guess it really depends on your choice in this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the resort by a mile”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Do not let the unassuming exterior/interior fool you. If you like quality fresh fish then this is by far the best restaurant in Caleta. No gimmicks, no B.S to pull you in. Menu is a choice of whatever has been caught that day. Platter of freshly caught fish brought out for you to choose from. Have been coming to Caleta for the past 4 years and have only tried it this year. Can't believe we had previously missed out on this and gone to mediocre places instead. The simplicity says it all, absolute perfection. Wonderful food and great service. Definetly not style over substance here. Cannot wait to go back next year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Frasquita also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Antigua, Fuerteventura
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing