We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th stay at couran cove.... And feeling a little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Couran Cove Island Resort
brisbane
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Our 4th stay at couran cove.... And feeling a little disappointed”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We love couran cove as we can drive our little boat over and stay the night.

If this was our 1st stay we probably would not be in a hurry to return. Unfortunately the service was poor and the rooms were not as clean as you would expect.

We stayed 2 nights, the 1st night we were woken by someone above us pacing the room from 3am, I think they would of walked up and down around 100 times.... We informed reception and they said they would change the room... But no sorry or apologies...we were informed that they would call us when the new room was cleaned, we visited reception at 2pm and they were unable to confirm if the room was ready.......still nothing at 4 pm. So we wondered back to the room to find a new set of cards on the bed side table. Good old customer service would of been great...set expectations and deliver!!!

Both the rooms could of done with a good clean, the air vents dirty, past guests items in draws and kitchen plates, frypans and other utensils could of been cleaned.
Staffing also must be an issue as each time I went to reception (checkin/check out) there was a queue of at least 10 people..... 20mins for a coffee.

We will return, but expectations are now low. Lucky it was only $140 per night otherwise I would of been very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Claire_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    160
    90
    59
    60
See reviews for
170
181
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Currently on night two of 3...
Young couple with 4 month old baby.

Pros-
- When I called to make booking, gentleman I spoke to was nice and very helpful, he went out of his way to get us a room during a busy time.
- Room was quite nice, nice views, screen door and shutters
- Ferry trip was fun, and the skipper was awesome value, extremely accommodating for us travelling with a 4 month bub asleep in pram.
- 2 of our 3 nights were $50, because of current special (now makes sense)
- Great pool area and facilities

Cons-
- No information book in room, or site map etc. No notepad or pen.
- Phone only let me call reception, couldn't call housekeeping, or resturants, asked reception to bring me a clothes horse as my room didn't have one (its meant to) and it took all day and 3 calls before I got one (looks like we're putting wet togs on and using wet towels tomorro)
- Most staff were short and unhelpful
- The resort is situated over a huge area, just getting to the reception or pool is a 15 min walk. Most people hired bikes which is pretty much a necessity..but we weren't going to pay $30 to hire a bike for one day, plus, no help for us with a baby.
- We were looking forward to a nice day at the beach, but that was a non event, the surf club isn't open/functional, the boardwalk is about to fall apart, there was no real entry to beach.
- the sporting complex is there, but what was open/functional was very poor and looked abandoned, no staff around, no bats, balls, raquets in site.
- mozzies a million ( not the resorts fault and nothing repellent can't fix, if you know to bring it )
- Food prices ridiculous, and food very average. Kitchen facilities are okay, should of bought our own.
- Minimal food available between dining hours, and what was available, cake and soggy wraps were expensive.


We are bored in our room, and ready to go home.

Once resort is back up and running ( shame we didn't know it wasn't ) I can see the potential.










Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEOCouran, CEO at Couran Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Tara and Joel

Thanks for your feedback. It is a shame you didn't contact me or one of the staff whilst you were here to discuss these issues as I could have helped with some of your "cons".

For example, if you have a 4 month old baby, it's not practical or really possible for you to ride a bike, however as a guest you have the option of using the train or having one of the staff drive you to your destination in a buggy.
It does state on our website that the surf club is closed for renovation and will be reopened later this year.

There are no information packs in the rooms as all of this appears on your TV and is updated regularly.
All of the sporting equipment is available from reception including tennis racquets, volley balls, basket balls, mini golf equipment, table tennis equipment etc.

We treat all still water and ponds throughout the resort several times a year to control the mosquitoes, however as we are on a sand island with lots of vegetation the mozzies can get the better of us for a couple of days at a time in certain areas. We do have repellent for guest use at reception, the cafe's and also the restaraunt.

I am keen to speak with you further regarding your comments on staff and food as this is an area that I take very seriously, so could you please contact me on jm@courancove.com.au

Thanks

John Muntz
CEO
Ramada Couran Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well we stayed at this resort many years ago, then it closed for a few years, just re opened last year so we thought lets go for lunch. We decided to have lunch at the Poolside restaurant. It would have been nice for them to have simple sandwich and wrap options there also, not just in the cafe as you enter the resort. Ok husban had fish and chips. chips and fish were soggy. we also had chicken burger which was just ok, The garlic and cheese pizza was swimming in oil and had an awful aftertaste. As we went on Easter monday, public holiday there is a 15% surcharge. Yes I know thats normal, but at least you expect a nice meal. Not impressed really. Might be alright to stop for cofe and cake but thats about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Stradbroke Island hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for Easter with family and friends. The resort is slowly being brought up to standard, plenty of activities for Easter, sports areas and pool ready to use and the grounds are improving. we tried the Spa island restaurant and the food was great and cheap compared to other island choices at Mclarens, Tipplers and Couran Point. The two ladies serving were a little crazy and over the top but apart from that the experience was great.
The reception staff need to be improved to be seen as a resort experience, personally did not have an issue but certainly heard others complaining. I in fact had all three reception staff helping me check in while others were waiting to be served, great for me but I am sure frustrating for those waiting. All the other staff around the resort were friendly, it was noticable that everyone whether they were driving a cart or walking would say hello as they passed.
The weekend was enjoyable and certainly facilities and food on par with other resorts we have stayed in apart from service staff perhaps needing some supervision and training.

Will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qldr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I visited friday and saturday night for easter weekend. It was a nice ferry ride over, the captain was friendly, and provided a nice commentary on the way over. Staff greeted us prior to the ferry, and whilst it was a little disorganised and confusing they were friendly and helpful. The resort has a very nice feel to it, and we got a good location overlooking the Marina. The accommodation is quote good,the rooms are in good condition, and they have a nice balcony to make the most of the view. The accommodation from a value point of view was excellent, the only criticism I could have is that they do seem to really carry noise, though with the tv and aircon this didn't bother us much. We weren't too sure if they were offering room service or not (we don't use it), and we noticed we didn't have a do not disturb, or please make my room sign. Obviously they don't provide that service, which would've have been nice to have known, maybe with a card stating as such, and to contact reception if anything is required would have been nice.

There's a bit of a lack of communication on facilities, and they could really use a flyer in your room or handing you one when you come in. We got checked in and it was very busy, so we went back later to ask about what was included in the resort and what wasn't. Fortunately the vast majority of stuff is included, however, there are things marked on the map that aren't in running condition (eg, squash courts or ropes course). This could be communicated, and overall whilst the accommodation, tennis courts and the pools are in good condition, the rest is pretty run down and in need of attention. The gym equipment looked unusable, and the mini golf course is very poor. They only had left handed pitching wedges for us to use, and as there was only one couple there before us, it looks like they only have one set (maybe 2?). It seems to have been put together without a lot of thought, and doesn't offer a great experience so don't expect too much there. There's a beautiful beach volleyball court, that has a dilapidated and barely there net. The canoes are in pretty good knick and there's a good number there for use. All in all from the facilities point of view, if you plan on using the pool or canoes, and are looking for a nice quiet settings, it's a very good experience, the rest is a real let down.

We didn't try out the restaurant as it was a bit too expensive for us, particularly with public holiday surcharges. The poolside cafe is overall pretty good, but again isn't cheap. We found it incredibly noisy, and a lot of parents not keeping their kids behaviour in line (not the resort's fault), meant it wasn't that enjoyable, but the food was quite good. We had the breakfast buffet, and whllst it was again pretty good, it's overpriced.

Using bikes to get around makes a lot of sense, and would add a lot to the experience, but we didn't do it out of principle as they are way overpriced. If I could have my time over again, I'd have taken our bikes over and an esky with more drinks and food. I noticed a number of people did do this, and seems the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Sadly the poor reviews of the resort turned out to be true. The staff were unresponsive, unhelpful, and uncaring. They screwed up our dinner reservations twice in two nights. And wouldn't even shout a round of drinks to make up for it. The resort has a surcharge on everything. I wouldn't come back here. And it wasn't just the mosquitos.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BLU200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEOCouran, CEO at Couran Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Blu200,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Just so are aware, Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Monday are public holidays and incur a surcharge as we pay our staff penalty rates on these days. As far as the rest of your comments are concerned, can you please contact me at jm@courancove.com.au to discuss the specifics of your experience.

Regards

John Muntz
CEO
Ramada Couran Cove Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Have just had a most memorable experience at Ramada Couran Cove Resort on South Stradbroke Island Queensland being part of a birthday weekend celebration organised through Ramada Couran Cove.
Having visited Couran Cove many times in its heydays, I was very interested to revisit. I knew the resort had been through difficult times and closed for a couple of years, so I was pleasantly surprised on arrival. It was good to see it up and running.
On arrival the reception staff were very pleasant and efficient. Our 1 bedroom accommodation, with a lovely elevated view over the lagoon, was excellent, very spacious as I remembered, and spotless.
The setting for the birthday dinner was stunning and had a view over the marina. Drinks at the Boardwalk Café followed by a sit down dinner for 40 or so guests at the restaurant. Menu was amazing and to top it off Executive Chef Chris McIntyre came to the table to explain the menu. A very nice touch. Entrees and mains at the table. Buffet desert. Food delicious. Choice of excellent wines. Simon and his team provided wonderful service. Fine dining standard in every respect.
Morning breakfast was equally delicious with a wide choice and reasonable prices.
The café on Spa Island had an extensive menu and my favourite lunch was, without doubt, salt and pepper squid which was superb and very reasonably priced.
I saw two artificial grass tennis courts were in use and there was a well patronised, horizon, heated swimming pool as well as a large, mostly shaded wading pool for the younger children. Pool aerobics and water polo were great to watch with a coffee. I noticed some facilities on the web were not in use yet.
A 2.5 Km walk to the surf beach past numerous holiday lodges in the bush is fairly easy although we caught the free train. 20 kilometres of sandy ,pristine, beautiful, natural coastline to explore.
With party guest ages ranging from 1 yr to late 70s, the variety of facilities available made this an excellent location for a fabulous weekend party. I think it would be difficult to find such a venue on the mainland.
The lagoon canoes provided additional entertainment for the younger party guests.
This is a great place for a back to nature and / or just a peaceful, relaxing holiday in pleasant surroundings.
Would recommend as an excellent place for a weekend party. We had a ball.

Congratulations and compliments to chefs, staff and management for a wonderful weekend.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Stradbroke Island
12.8 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
11.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
18 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
9.3 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couran Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couran Cove Island Resort

Property: Couran Cove Island Resort
Address: 4216 Gold Coast | Gold Coast, Gold Coast, South Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly Ramada Couran Cove Island Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > South Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in South Stradbroke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couran Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our bestsellers on the Gold Coast! Located on idyllic South Stradbroke Island and on the water's edge surrounded by beaches and natural forest, Couran Cove Island Resort offers a truly unique experience for the entire family. All accommodation offers a balcony with views, a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen TV. En suite bathrooms include a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and free toiletries. Guests can enjoy a vast array of recreational facilities including a large lap pool, children's pool and playground, fitness centre, beach volleyball, basketball, tennis and mini-golf as well as a fun family activities program and new inflatable water toys including kayaks, stand-up paddleboards, trampolines and water slides in the lagoon. The extended boardwalk is where you can explore the tropical gardens and treehouse between the surf beach and the marina, and you can also pick up your supply of groceries at the general store. The on-site café, tavern and restaurants continue to receive very high praise from guests. The Portside Cafe and Marlin Bar overlooking the marina are popular spaces for relaxation and refreshment - great spaces to start and finish a fulfilling day of fun. The Poolside Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Ferries operate regularly to Couran Cove Island Resort - it's an experience not to be missed just minutes from the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couran Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing