We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational seafood”

Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 281 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: WINNER - BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT 2014 GC Bulletin Readers Poll WINNER - Best Seafood Restaurant 2013 STATE WINNER - Best Seafood Restaurant 2010 & 2011 Restaurant & Caterers Association Awards for Excellence WINNER - Queensland's Favourite Seafood Restaurant 2010 I Love Food Awards - Lifestyle Channel, Foxtel At Yellowfin the focus is on serving the absolute freshest fish available at a reasonable price with impeccable service and well-trained staff. Meat eaters are also well catered for and we also offer a diverse range of fresh pastas, tasty desserts and a children's menu. With an extensive wine list, Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant offers a truly memorable wine and food experience enhanced by seemingly effortless, efficient service.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sensational seafood”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

In my experience great-tasting fresh seafood is no longer easy to obtain but the Yellowfin is an exception. My wife and I shared a mixed seafood plate for starters ($38) offering oysters,mussels, king prawns, scallops and beautiful grilled calamari (easily the best I have tasted.) We followed this with a snapper main course each ($35) and the freshness of this fish just jumped off the plate.The servings were substantial and we found that we really only needed one course each. The restaurant has won many well-deserved awards. We opted for a BYO bottle of special wine from our own cellar and BYO was $6.50 a head. I would rather pay $13.50 than a lot more for mediocre wine. The Yellowfin wine list seemed to be sensibly selected but starting price was around $40. It is in the heart of Broadbeach but parking did not seem to be a problem. We were fortunate to be sitting indoors as a storm encroached on the canvas-covered outdoors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Norman H,
Thank you so much for your amazing review of Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, your descriptions of our food and service were lovely and I can assure you our staff always love receiving pats on the back like this :) The only thing I thought I'd better mention is that our corkage is only $4.90 at Yellowfin, not $6.50 :)
Hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    235
    83
    40
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very disappointing Birthday dinner !”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Party of eight , six adults & two children . We arrived,very busy , we thought was an indication the food would be good , we were wrong ! My husband & I were the only ones to order an entree oysters , dozen, half natural half Kilpatrick , the natural were watery & tasteless & my husband said his tasted metallic . Our mains came I had snapper with gnocchi & veg , fish was luke warm & skin rubbery, gnocchi was doughy & tasted of flour, the veg consisted of fusion confusion baby corn tomatoes zucchini & some sort of watery butter sauce . My husbands sirloin steak was tough & inedible , he sent it back & wouldn't reorder another main as he was so annoyed , they did give him a complimentary free drink & six more Kilpatripck which he gave to other member of our group. The other members said their food was just ok , ruined a birthday celebration !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Annej_71,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent dining experience at Yellowfin Restaurant. We are dismayed to read that you didn't enjoy the birthday dinner - our food is usually met with very high praise and indeed our manager recalls that everyone else at your table said to him that they loved their meals and left a very generous tip in appreciation. The manager also mentioned that when complaining about the quality of your husband's sirloin you did compare it to the eye fillet that you cook at home that you said could be cut with a butter knife, we feel it is probably a little unfair to compare eye fillet to sirloin steak though as they are very different cuts of meat with different qualities.
It is our aim to make sure that every customer leaves our venue satisfied and happy with their meals - it was in this spirit that our manager offered your husband a replacement meal of anything else he wanted from the menu - even when he declined, the complimentary cocktail and oyster shots were sent out as a gesture of good will so of course we are disheartened to see that we have tried our best to turn your experience around on the night without any success.
I hope that you might consider giving us another chance to impress you and until then, rest assured that we have taken your feedback on board.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have eaten here before and decided to return at lunch for a family get together. The crab stack was just as good we remembered to start and everyone was very happy with their fish for mains. No room for dessert - be warned, the portions are generous! Waiter was very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere outside (nice to have some good weather for a change). We got the early bird special since we were in before 1pm which made it very good value too. No hesitation to recommend this restaurant, we will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Jamie S,
Thanks for your feedback after visiting Yellowfin for lunch recently - we loved reading every bit of it UNTIL you mentioned that you didn't have room for dessert! Next time, please save some room for our Berry & Custard Tart (nom nom nom!!!) it is to die for!
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delectable seafood fare!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having dined a couple of times at fabulous Sage Cafe next door, we decided to give Yellowfin a go (think they're connected?). We weren't disappointed... fish of the day was simply outstanding, in both preparation and presentation. Great atmosphere, preferred sitting indoors to being under the beam of an unpleasantly bright street light.
Definitely will return to try the seafood platter (so creatively presented)... just couldn't fault the evening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Evglen,
Thanks for your wonderful review of Yellowfin Restaurant - I notice that you mention coming back to try the seafood platter, well we just wanted to let you know that we currently have a seafood platter deal on Living Social for only $59 (inc bottle of wine)! Insane value - hope you check it out :)
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Pretty amazeballs”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our visit to yellowfin was memorable for all the right reasons!! Our waitress Kaitlyn was friendly and informative, and our food cooked perfectly. I had the salmon trio and my partner the calamari. The salmon was an interesting and innovative dish whilst the calamari melted in your mouth! The only negative was the loud music coming from inside the open kitchen..... Other than that, perfection!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 419JesseK419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear 419Jessek419,
Thanks for your fabulous review of Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant - guess what? We happen to think you're pretty AMAZEBALLS too!!! Sounds like we impressed in every area which is definitely what we like to hear and we have told the chef that he will have to come out and sing a sweet lullaby at your table next time you visit just to make up for the loud music he played (well, not really because you might prefer the loud music after you have heard him sing!)
Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing