We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, very poor service”

Mario's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 277 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Classic Italian Meets Modern Dining The famous Mario’s Italian Restaurant was first established in 1989. Referred to as “Mario’s”, our restaurant is an icon of Broadbeach. We specialise in authentic and modern Italian cuisine. Sit indoors or dine alfresco, plus enjoy our takeaway and delivery options too.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food, very poor service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

First time dining in at this establishment. We waited for 5 mins at door where the 'wait to be seated' sign was situated (restaurant open from 12pm). About 5 wait staff walked passed us, not one of which looked sideways at us! When a staff member who seemed to be arriving for evening, she seated us. Our orders were taken promptly and food arrived in less than 20 mins. Our waitress was very nice. Meals were amazing! Can't fault them one bit! Felt let down when we had to wait about 10 minutes after finishing our mains to have dishes removed and dessert orders taken. We would go back purely for the food, it really was amazing. The kids menu should also be mentioned for variety. Best kids menu I've probably ever seen!!!! Wait staff, you are letting this place down. Management shouldn't rest on the quality of their food....step it up and employ staff that care and provide a 'whole' dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shang80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    302
    111
    51
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, lively atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Initially the service wasn't great as we didn't have a reservation and we sort of got left standing then an older man came and he was fantastic found us a table and from their on the service was excellent. Food was fabulous, big servings though! There were 4 of us and we experienced pizza, gnocchi, seafood and meat and all were excellent. we all enjoyed it. one of us orderd the tiramisu for dessert and it was really good but very big,enough to share. The service was good and we had a really good night. We sat outside and it was fine, we left about 10.30pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Italian food !”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Second time we have had a really great food experience. Pizza's and Pasta really good, waiters and waitresses know their stuff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daviedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Generous”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have dined at Mario's twice now.

The first time, the food was absolutely perfect. We had pasta which was cooked to perfection and the sauce was delicious. The second we visited was last night and the restaurant was packed. We ordered a pizza each and both were topped generously with good quality ingredients. Hubby's was good but unfortunately mine was lacking flavour.

Service was quite fast considering how busy they were. A good Italian with generous serves which is moderately priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bree_La_Marca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great food, reasonably priced and fabulous with the kids. We stayed in Broadbeach for 10 nights and ate in for 3 night and take out for 1.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Mario's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing