We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

Sage Cafe Restaurant
Reserve with
Sage Cafe Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 277 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WINNER – Australia’s Favourite Family Restaurant 2014 WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2009 & 2012 STATE WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2007 WINNER – Best Licensed Restaurant 2005, 2006 & 2007 Open from 7am till late, 7 days; Sage Café’s menus feature traditional favourites mixed with contemporary flavours and we specialize in high quality steaks and fresh seafood. Sage’s steaks are Meat Standards Australia certified and are 90 day aged and grass fed. With it’s northerly aspect, Sage Café Restaurant is one of the few venues that enjoys full sun all day, making it the perfect place to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or lunch and has a bustling pace enhanced by the action of the open kitchen.
gold coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I took my mum to Sage last week after a recommendation; it was pretty busy so i took that as a good sign. Mum had the lamb and i ate the sirloin steak. Both were perfectly cooked and the lamb particularly was supeb; i did have to ask for a steak knife though. Only issue all night. Friendly staff always help and made mum more relaxed. hooray! will be back soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Peter m,
Thanks for your glowing review of Sage cafe and for complimenting our friendly staff - we are very proud of them and look forward to seeing you back at Sage Cafe soon!
Kind regards,

Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    439
    174
    95
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over priced garbage.. Cheap low quality rubber prawns, old salad we'll past fresh ....the food was just disgraceful do not eat t”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Go anywhere else.. Broadbeach has a few good places to eat but Sage certainly isn't one of them. Don't be fooled by the marketing the food quality is as bad as it gets. It's unusual for a group of four Peoplee to complain but all four meals were just not up to the standard you expect for the menu prices being asked.

The staff are quite good and the service itself is pretty good but it took them five minutes to attract attention to get bill.

Overall it's a there out of ten place don't east your time and money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear martin h,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of Sage Cafe on Trip Advisor, we are so disappointed that on this occasion we did not live up to your expections, your feedback is very unusual as our food is normally very well received. It is a real shame that you did not bring your disappointment to the attention of our manager or staff on the night as we take food complaints very seriously and would have been happy to rectify any issues before you left the restaurant. Thank you so much for acknowledging our wonderful staff and the service they provided.
We would love to have a second chance to impress you - hopefully we will see you back at Sage Cafe one day so that you can experience the high standards we are renowned for.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
312 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Food, Modern Restaurant”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Fam enjoy their night out on the Goldy at Broadbeach at Sage, the meals were different and creative. Food came out quick, sage is situated on a nice intersection where you can watch the people walk by. A Great night out will come back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear SugSydney,
Thanks for your brilliant review! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything at sage and hope to see you back one day soon.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Coffee club is better.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fish was bland. Steak is better at The Stock Exchange bar and grill ($10.00 steak n chops) Brisbane. Which is nothing to be proud of.

The calamari entree was a taste tester and the drinks were Luke warm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dontgotosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear "Dontgotosage"
Thanks for taking the time to review Sage Cafe after your recent experience. While of course we are very upset that we did not appear to live up to your expectations on this occasion, we also note that many people reading this review might feel that the name you have chosen to give yourself in order to offer it makes your motives seem very personal and not objective as is the spirit of this website. It is a shame you did not take the time to offer this feedback while you were still at Sage as I can assure you that we take the uptmost pains to ensure that our guests have a fantastic experience with us and leave happy.
Thank you again for caring enough to share your thoughts, we take all feedback on board and are grateful for it.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have eaten here numerous times. When you stay at The Wave they give you 25% off the food bill. We have used this before but have even driven in to Broadbeach to eat here with friends. Great friendly service and fantastic fresh food from a great menu!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear David_and_Samantha,
Thanks you for your lovely feedback - we LOVE that The Wave Resort thinks so highly of us to refer us to all of their guests and also that you enjoyed the experience enough to give us the thumbs up on-line!
we definitely look forward to serving you again at Sage Cafe soon.
Kind regards,

Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Sage Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing