We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, nicely presented, friendly management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portobello Resort Apartments
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Handy, nicely presented, friendly management”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here with my partner and some friends for one night (though my friends had their own rooms). We were happy with our one-bedroom apartment which had a separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen space with a big fridge (the fridge itself wasn't very cold but ah well), lounge area (awesome settee!), and a balcony. You can tell that this hotel has been refurbed at some point and is a bit basic but I thought it was pretty nice anyway. The pool and spa looked amazing but due purely to the chilly cloudy weather I didn't personally try it out :)

The hotel isn't far from the beach and is close to a petrol station and a massive shopping centre - this was handy when we got midnight munchies.

Though the whole hotel was clearly booked up with we Foo Fighters fans, it was quiet and sleep quality was really good.

My friends found it a bit unusual that guests are asked to take their own rubbish out to the bins located outside the building, I wasn't too bothered and put this rule down to those pesky November schoolies kids :D

Management seemed quite friendly and approachable. Car park was included with the room.

Overall a nice place to spend a night at the coast! Not sure if the option already exists but I reckon it might be nice to have a late check out option for people who are staying one night - even if there was a small cost attached.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Clean, comfortable and convenient.
I was on the top floor which was very quite with no road noise, everything in the apartment was new and worked well. If climbing stairs is an issue ask for a lower floor.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfella63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great location for Draculas and Pacific Fair which is why we picked it. Office staff were very friendly and organised and overall the place was great. Lifts would be handy as when you stay on the top floor, lugging your suitcase up numerous flights of stairs is a pain - however they do make it clear that it's a walk-up complex of their website, so we were expecting it. Our only issues were that whilst the rooftop spa was an excellent size and very relaxing - there were a few stray hairs in the tub from previous people! The other issue was the fridge/freezer - the fridge kept things barely cool no matter what setting you had it on and if you wanted COLD drinks, they had to be stored in the freezer (which never got cold enough to freeze things, even if they'd been in there for 2days). We would stay here again and hopefully by then, the fridge has been replaced!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards to the roof top spa, we can assure you that they are cleaned after every departure by our housekeepers. With them being out in the open sometimes the wind can blow leaves and grit into them, so we are sorry you did find that this happened - we are looking at getting covers for them to prevent this from happening. We were not aware that when you stayed with us that you had a problem with the temperature in the fridge/freezer. Next time please let us know and we can advise which setting it should be on as from time to time guests do change the settings and this can make problems like you had with the cooling.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very comfortable hotel very near to the surfers beach have large bedrooms with full kitchen and excellent rooms and facilities walking distance to bustand,also walking distance to casino and shopping malls

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed here as it was part of the Best western chain (they just recently joined). Great location - can walk to the beach, Pacific Fair, Draculas or casino. We found the manager really helpful as there were a leaking taps which he quickly fixed. The 2 bedroom rooms are great, 2 storey with main bed, ensuite with kinky glass screen into bedroom. There is a huge entertaining deck with hottub. Downstairs kitchen, combined lounge dining (with Austar on LCD screen) and twin bedroom with bathroom. Also a laundry!

We found it to be a great base for themeparks, beach and shopping for the wife

Will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Portobello.

Thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

On 18 November we arrived with our family (2 children 7 & 8) in the well situated Portobello Resort Appartments complex. The owners (a pleasant couple) have directly stolen (on right) our harts. Very helpful with all kinds of information on the atracties which we wanedt to visit.

Arrived in our (very clean and nicely accomodated) apartment we were right very satisfied. Good kitchen possibillities and larch sleep chambers for our all 4 of us. After a hour the owners rang us to ask if all was okay.It was perfectly a holiday with the four of us. The Supermarket on walking distance we have been possible cook nicely for our itselfs.

Also important to know the fact that (did not know prior of our holidays) that we stayed in Broad Beach durining the so-called schoolies periode. Schoolies is a celebration for graduated high school youth up to 17 years of age. One grand festivals with many celebrating young people. All schoolies which were staying in Portobello were frendly told by the owners to have a good time but requested firstly to be quiet. This was observed by the owner it was daily checked. We have had totally no nuisance.

Elles Geenen, Guust, Jet en Paul Metz

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPMETZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here on the Gold Coast. Thank you for your kind words, and im sure we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The room its self clean tidy and no problems the apartments met all needs but kitchen window had no curtain which was very sunny for the loungeroom part. The location is great but unfortunatly sleep was horrible so noisy, windows did not lock out any of the sound.
The front desk man was very friendly but the lady seemed very annoyed about my presence and it was inconvient to help me.
I don't recomment this to other people as there are so many other apartments on the Gold coast with much better service and alot better to get sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkie0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Hi Pinkie,

Thank you for your feedback I thought your review was tough considering you liked everything about us apart from the noisy nights sleep. I do apologise to you if you felt uncomfortable with the front desk lady, I will be able to resolve that.

I would like to extend to you if you wanted to return a discounted stay in a different apartment.

We have recently rebranded and are now called Best Western Portobello Resort Apartments.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

Gerard Wilkinson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aruba Sands Resort
Aruba Sands Resort
#18 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#23 of 36 in Broadbeach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Resort
Neptune Resort
#8 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Resort Apartments

Property: Portobello Resort Apartments
Address: 2607 Gold Coast Hwy, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portobello Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello Resort Apartments is located in the heart of Broadbeach on the beautiful and world famous Gold Coast. Our spacious Mediterranean style 4 storey walk-up holiday apartments are just a few minutes stroll from the pristine white sand of the beach, and only a stone’s throw from world class shopping at the Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and glamorous all night entertainment at Jupiter’s Casino. With an ideal location, great value for money rates and a full range of facilities that includes a heated pool, soothing spa and barbecue facilities, our apartments are perfect for business stopovers, romantic getaways or family holidays. Please note that Portobello Resort is a 4 storey walk-up building (NO LIFTS) and the apartments are all fully self contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portobello Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Resort Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing