We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude management”
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel By The Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We checked in quite late as our flight was delayed and we were made to feel like we had done something wrong.
We were given two keys between the four of us and this was ok until we came back to motel and couldn't get to our floor as they didn't give us a lift key. I rang management and she was extremely rude about it and tried to tell us it was our fault. We had to wait about half hour for her to come and let us into the lift.
Great rooms and location but the attitude of management was deplorable!!
We were treated like 15 year old school girls and we are all in our 40s.
I would NOT stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaff555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Kstanza.
It sounds as though you had a memorable stay for the wrong reasons. I'm so sorry to hear how you were treated. You will be pleased to know that the management team you dealt with are no longer within the building and were never affiliated with Carmel by the Sea.
For your next stay, make sure you book direct with our reception team and you will enjoy the benefits of 24 hour check-in and on site managers who will treat you with respect and welcome you. If you would like further assurance that the manager you had issues with is no longer here, please feel free to call reception on 07 5592 0011.
We look forward to welcoming you back as a Carmel by the Sea guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful long week-end with marvelous views especially of the beaches. Room 115 was the best I have ever experienced and our friends from Adelaide and Melbourne were equally impressed. We were within walking distance of numerous restaurants and had some delightful meals both of an evening as well as breakfast. We will certainly be looking to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theoldbrowni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea.
The sub-penthouses never disappoint - they are absolutely stunning with such fantastic views and spacious enough to lose yourself! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time in 115. I can assure you the other sub-penthouses are equally stunning!
Contact us direct to arrange your next holiday and we can discuss which one you will try next!
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to at Carmel by the Sea. Stayed in July 2013 for the first time since the management change, and I was generally happy with the level of service. Apartment was newly renovated and very clean. One slight issue was the lack of heating of the outdoor swimming pool during winter months. The weather was really nice, and had the pool been heated, it would have been quite enjoyable at this time of year, but as it is, it remains pretty much unused during winter months.

I would very much recommend Carmel by the Sea as the place to stay at Broadbeach due to really good value and great facilities.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay was only short, 4 days. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor, which initially I was disappointed because we wanted an ocean view and got the view of the park. However, the apartment was great - spacious living area & master bedroom, second bed room good but would have suited us better with 2 king single beds as my 2 teenage boys found 2 regular single beds a little small. The apartment was very clean and kitchen had plenty of utensils. Security, reception & manager service excellent. Location excellent - walking distance to restaurants and shops. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good to return to Carmel by the sea. Great view large rooms and excellent facilities. Close by to the shops at Oasis and Pacific Fair. Pleasant surrounding and good walking areas along the beach. Would come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great rooms,plenty of room to move about.
Large bathrooms with spa bath in one bathroom.
Large lounge and dining room.
Good size kitchen.
Very friendly staff,most helpful.
Indoor heated pool and spa,fantastic!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonJillL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay, close to all the main things, beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, casino and night clubs. Rooms are large with all utilities, disappointed with our bed as it was a double, should be a king in this style of hotel. Spa also good. We booked at Mint Broadbeach, no reference to Mint on the building making it confusing to find. Otherwise good for a high end stay as it was expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#4 of 7 in Broadbeach
1,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Grande Apartments
La Grande Apartments
#7 of 7 in Broadbeach
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: $148 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing