We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIEW TO REMEMBER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Rainbow Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VIEW TO REMEMBER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful long week-end with marvelous views especially of the beaches. Room 115 was the best I have ever experienced and our friends from Adelaide and Melbourne were equally impressed. We were within walking distance of numerous restaurants and had some delightful meals both of an evening as well as breakfast. We will certainly be looking to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoldbrowni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea.
The sub-penthouses never disappoint - they are absolutely stunning with such fantastic views and spacious enough to lose yourself! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time in 115. I can assure you the other sub-penthouses are equally stunning!
Contact us direct to arrange your next holiday and we can discuss which one you will try next!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    72
    18
    15
    6
See reviews for
132
35
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to at Carmel by the Sea. Stayed in July 2013 for the first time since the management change, and I was generally happy with the level of service. Apartment was newly renovated and very clean. One slight issue was the lack of heating of the outdoor swimming pool during winter months. The weather was really nice, and had the pool been heated, it would have been quite enjoyable at this time of year, but as it is, it remains pretty much unused during winter months.

I would very much recommend Carmel by the Sea as the place to stay at Broadbeach due to really good value and great facilities.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay was only short, 4 days. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor, which initially I was disappointed because we wanted an ocean view and got the view of the park. However, the apartment was great - spacious living area & master bedroom, second bed room good but would have suited us better with 2 king single beds as my 2 teenage boys found 2 regular single beds a little small. The apartment was very clean and kitchen had plenty of utensils. Security, reception & manager service excellent. Location excellent - walking distance to restaurants and shops. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good to return to Carmel by the sea. Great view large rooms and excellent facilities. Close by to the shops at Oasis and Pacific Fair. Pleasant surrounding and good walking areas along the beach. Would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough,qld
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great rooms,plenty of room to move about.
Large bathrooms with spa bath in one bathroom.
Large lounge and dining room.
Good size kitchen.
Very friendly staff,most helpful.
Indoor heated pool and spa,fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJillL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay, close to all the main things, beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, casino and night clubs. Rooms are large with all utilities, disappointed with our bed as it was a double, should be a king in this style of hotel. Spa also good. We booked at Mint Broadbeach, no reference to Mint on the building making it confusing to find. Otherwise good for a high end stay as it was expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom unit with 7 people. Nice big unit with a tv in the main bedroom and a double and single bed in both of the other bedrooms. Our unit faced south which we enjoyed but if you haven't visited the Gold Coast before you would probably prefer a north facing unit. Ensuite was massive with a huge spa bath beside the window. As some have stated on here the units are getting a little tired but we wouldn't hesitate to book again. The location is fantastic with Pacific Fair and Oasis both within an easy walk. Plenty of restaurant options within a short walk as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzbrizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.9 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Property: Carmel By The Sea
Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing