We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, but more like a residential unit than a resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice, but more like a residential unit than a resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

We booked a 3-bedroom unit at Air for 6 nights when my parents came down from Canada in May/June 2007, allowing for sleeping space for 4 adults, 2 kids, and a baby. The bedrooms were pretty small (except the third bedroom with twin beds, strangely enough), and I agree with another reviewer about the "room for bed but not much more" comment. The bedrooms weren't a big issue for us, though, as we were out all day most days and used the unit as a base for resting children, getting the baby to sleep, and winding down at the end of the afternoon. The kitchen/lounge area was VERY spacious, however, and the balcony was huge and north-facing. Noise was surprisingly an issue for us as well, as the Oasis shopping centre puts on free outdoor music on the weekends which necessitated closed windows and air-con -- a bit disappointing.

The car parking was a bit of an issue, winding around and around until we got to the Air parking. The trip from the carpark was "fun" as well, with many trips back and forth for all the kid & baby stuff. Since we had to go down from 20+ levels, walk across to another lift, then up a ramp to the cars, it wasn't the quickest unloading/loading I've ever done.

The staff were absolutely wonderful from beginning to end, which includes arranging the booking with them over the phone (originally on 8th floor, then bumped us up kindly to 20th+ (can't remember exactly)), allowing us 2 car spaces (although I kind of expect that for a 3-bedroom unit), and just being helpful, friendly, and cheerful all the time. You just don't see that very often at resorts anymore, in my opinion.

The pools are very nice, but it's a trek to get there as well; the kids loved them. I think that if we were staying in any season other than winter in Queensland the pool area would not only have been packed out, but BLAZINGLY hot, as the only cover is directly over the kiddies' pool. Even that doesn't get complete sun cover except at high noon.

The location is brilliant and really the main reason that I booked at Air -- directly across from the park (massive green space, multiple playgrounds, walking/bike tracks), Kurrawa Beach, above the Oasis shopping centre, close to Pacific Fair shopping centre, central to everything else at Broadbeach. The noise, as mentioned earlier, was an issue for a few nights. The furnishings are really nice and modern, all in great condition (resort is only a year or so old), and the views we had were possibly the best I've had at the Gold Coast in years.

The price was a bit steep -- close to $300/night in what I thought would be a low season (beginning of June, not school holidays), and specials seem unlikely to come by. Maybe this resort will be available on some booking services in the near future, but it wasn't when we booked.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — getting to and from the carpark
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canuckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    112
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
156
91
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

After our rather unfortunate experience at the Sofitel (read reeview), we went on a hunt for another property. It was the third porperty that we had gone to on our search. The ladies at the reception were friendly and helpful. After viewing one of the properties, we decided that this will serve our needs for our last two nights.

We immediately checked out of the Sofitel and moved straight into Air On Broachbeach.

This is an ultra modern block of apartments with trendy and minimalistic furniture. There were two plasmas, a 42" in the lounge room and a smaller one in the bedroom. The balcony was the width of the apartment facing the beach. The open concept meant that the apartment was airy and spacious. It was more than comfortable and luxurious. It didnt have tacky rattan or plastic type furniture like other apartments we saw. The pool was a good size and well equipped. Also having the Oasis shopping centre downstairs meant that you could easily stock the fridge at supermarket prices and not mini mart prices.

A couple of drawbacks is the weak air-conditioning. These ducted systems really suck. We had one in our place in Melbourne and it was the same. The other thing is the strange access to the car parking. A fair bit of walking to get your luggages in and out. Thank God you only need to do each once.
The access at street level is also rather poor. There is no where to stop the car and there are heaps of infringement officers waiting to get you.

In a nutshell, we highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The apartment and the views.
  • Disliked — Strange parking access.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lanceheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent a weekend at Air during August and were very disappointed.

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment and found it to be a lot smaller than we expected. The layout is like a rabbit warren and the bedrooms are just big enough to fit the beds in. We only had four adults and felt cramped in the living area and can't imagine six people sharing the space comfortably. The balcony size is good though - enough room for everyone to sit around a full size table and room for deck chairs too. We have previously stayed in a 3 bedroom at Oceana and found it to be much more spacious.

The living area also feels smaller as, unless you have a balcony at the front instead of the side, there are louvres which make the room feel closed in. They also really detract from your view which was a big disappointment.

The main drawback however was the noise from the pubs downstairs. We specifically asked about this when we booked in and were told that the hotel had never received complaints about this before. I also noticed on another traveller's review that they couldn't hear the noise at night with the balcony doors closed. We were about mid way up the building and even with all doors and windows closed the noise kept us up at night. The music in the pub is really loud until about midnight and we even got woken up by a bunch of people doing the haka downstairs at three in the morning. If you are wanting to be in the middle of the action then this place may be for you but if you are actually looking to get some sleep then steer clear. Monday night was a lot better so may just be best to avoid the weekend.

In addition the parking and access is a major hassle. You have to drive up about four floors of the oasis car park and then go through the air security gate and then keep on going up. Once there you have to get a lift from the carpark and then swap over to another lift to get to your apartment. If you are going to be using your car or needing access to it the whole thing gets a little trying after a while.

This place just doesn't feel like you are at the beach - it feels like you are stuck in a little inner city apartment. We generally prefer really modern places but just found that this one didn't work. We will be heading back to Oceana next time.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller112Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed here for a week in a 2 bedroom apartment on level 32. It was fantastic!!!! The apartment was spotless, the views were exactly as the ones posted on their website.

Pros:

1. Across the road from the beach.
2. Amazing views.
3. Spotless apartment.
4. Excellent, solid bed with quality sheets = good nights sleep.
5. Shopping centre and restaurants underneath.
6. Easy driving distance to Surfers and other attractions.
7. Over the road from Pacific Fair and Jupiters.
8. Washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, oven, cooktop, microwave and good size fridge!
9. Single beds for the kids in a separate room (we booked a 2 bedroom apartment).
10. Kids pool and adults pool next to each other + good deckchairs.
11. Well furnished apartment.
12. No noise - the place was quiet!

Cons:

1. Having your own car park a few stories up. It took a little bit of time driving in/out of the car park. Having said that, its secured from the rest of the public - so that's actually a good thing.

That's it!

I seriously doubt that we would find a better place on the Gold Coast. I'm already planning to come back next year!

  • Liked — Modern, clean apartment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

We had a great holiday in a spacious two bedroomed apartment which faced the ocean with wonderful views. The apartment was spotless, very modern in style and fully equipped .
It is just across the road from the beach and centrally located for shops, bars and restaurants and a good driving distance to major attractions.
Security involved the use of electronic tags to access doors, lifts etc with the added benefit of gated underground parking.

  • Liked — Modern,clean,new and central location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Surid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

Spent 10 days staying at AIR with husband and 3 year old recently, and have to say that we were more than pleased with the apartment. It was absolutely stunning, extrenely spacious (in fact way big for the 3 of us). It far surpassed our expectations; everything was luxurious, beds comfortable; lovely bed linen and sofa; extremely well kitted out with everything you could possibly want. Had a tv in the living room with dvd and sk and a tv in the main bedroom too.

We had a Solitaire apartment on the 15th floor.These are slightly larger than the standard apartments, but you are guaranteed a bath with these (Littley doesn't do showers yet!). My only criticism would be that we only had half a sea view. The Solitaire apartments are in the rectangular buliding behind the main buildng,and although bigger and with bath, they don't have the full-on front seaview that you get in the main building.

The pool is wonderful, its about 25m and heated to 27 degrees also a childrens pool.

Location is absolutely perfect as you are right in the Oasis shopping mall, where there is a Woolworths, bottle store, lovely bakers, pharmacy and lots of other shops.

Weather was a perfect 26-28 degrees for the entire time we were there. It started to cool down at about 4 and was dark by 6.

Noise level between apartments was non-existent. We never heard any of the neighbours at all. The only noise came from the Alto bar underneath the building. This was only on Friday and Saturday night and was blocked out by shutting the balcony doors.

Restaurant we would definitely recommend are:

Mario's
Pizza Cake
Bugzies (although service was pretty bad on 2nd visit)
Kurrawa Surf Club

Restaurants we wouldn't recommend:

Mama Roma (shocking service)
Ming Palace (very average and overpriced)

All in All had a ball....would definitely go there again

  • Liked — Newness, spaciousness, cleanliness and location of apartment
  • Disliked — Sea view was partially blocked by the main AIR building
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank KiwiKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Carmel By The Sea
Carmel By The Sea
#9 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenician Resort - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach

Property: ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach
Address: 159 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air on Broadbeach is an ultra-modern beachfront apartment building in the heart of Broadbeach across from the beach and foreshore parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Air On Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
ULTIQA Air On Broadbeach Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing