We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I wish to warn tourists that the website for this resort does not in any way depict the true state of this accommodation. The accommodation is very dated and dirty. The resort's website led us to believe that the building had wonderful ocean views, in reality it is surrounded by tall buildings that block the view for most of the apartments. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment over the internet. When we arrived we asked for ocean views but the resort managers gave us the worst room on the second floor. The view from our apartment was actually of the bright neon sign advertising that these are luxury apartments! These are not luxury apartments. The TV was very small and on rollers and the choice of programmes was minimal. The corridor on the second floor had no ventilation so the stench from the garbage shute in the corridor was disgusting and it seeped under our door into our room at night. We repeatedly asked the managers to fix this health problem, but the stench remained. Even though it was off peak season, the school holidays were over, the managers refused to move us even though we were there for 5 days costing $1040. We were forced to pay extra for a roll away bed for our third child, even though the apartment was too small to fit this bed in. The balcony was that small that our family could not sit around the table, and we could also continually smell the managers smoking outside the room below. There was only one noisy airconditioner in the main bedroom above the bed, and so the apartment was extremely hot, because the airconditioner was too noisy to use at night. Due to the fact that we were on the second floor we had security fears, so we were too afraid to leave the sliding doors open at night, so we all sweltered at night . I would hate for other tourists to have their holiday spoilt in this way.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KDee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whale59, General Manager at Pacific Resort Broadbeach, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Please be advised this is a very dated review and the management have since rectified any issues regarding this review and assure all our guests are satisfied. We welcome any future guests with any questions to please call us direct to clarify any concerns after reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
38
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We had booked to stay at this apartment block after reading positive reports on this website. Unfortunately when we arrived our room was dirty, blood on back of the doors, hairs in the sink, grubby kitchen area, damp couch. The sliding door to the balcony was broken, off its hinges. When we went down to complain the attitude from the staff was appalling. Basically we were told that as it was cheap, what did we expect (we expected basic good hygiene!). Their answer to the broken door was that no-one had reported it. When we enquired as to why the 'cleaner' had not noticed they replied that she probably hadn't cleaned the balcony! After a long discussion and a very negative attitude from the ladies at the desk we finally left minus our 200 dollar deposit. No apologies what so ever. We would absolutely not recommend to anyone to stay here. There are a huge number of clean, modern and very pleasant apartments in the area- why reward those who don't bother to provide a clean, pleasant stay.

  • Disliked — the staff, the lack of basic cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AustraliaLucy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whale59, General Manager at Pacific Resort Broadbeach, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
We have now adressed the issue and have new cleaners, we assure all our guests are treated in the best attention by all our friendly staff and management. We are happy to address any issues immediately upon arrival to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable time here with us at Pacific Resort located in the heart of Broadbeach. Please note since this dated review we have undergone a lot of refurbishment throughout the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed at this aaprtment block for 1 night, in 2 bedroom aprtment
quick and easy checkin, parking included, room was a little dated, but bedding was new and comfortable, rooms clean, and everything worked, TV air con etc.
Despite staying in Schoolies time the block was generally quiet, with only a little street noise. Had stayed at Q! in Schoolies a year earlier and spent the entire night arguing with reception about the neighbouring room, so this place is a bit of a sanctuary. Pool is small, but heated a little to make it pleasant for an early dip and you are only 100m from the beach one way and the reastaurants in the other.
will definitely return when looking for weekend accom in Gold coast

  • Liked — LOcation, clean, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rurid
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in November 2007. Originally we were intending to stay in Surfers Paradise but, due to Schoolies week coinciding with our University Holiday, we were rudely turned away from several properties for 'being too young' around this time.

Pacific Resort was the first hotel that had no qualm about us staying there and, though it was a few kilometres away from where we initially wanted to stay, it actually turned out to be a great stroke of luck for us. It only cost us $102 per night and we were far enough away from Schoolies to feel more secure and be able to get to bed at night, but close enough that we could make the 2 kilometre journey on foot down the beach.

The hotel in question was great. We were swiftly checked in by Steph at the front desk, who was the one that also booked us in on the phone. She was very friendly and polite, and accommodated our request for a high floor. We stayed in room 1302 on the 13th floor. The room was cosy and well furnished (although slightly dated). However, the kitchen facilities were great and well equipped and we were able to cook several dinners throughout our stay. We had complimentary foxtel which included several movie channels.

The balcony was wonderful; large and included some deck chairs and a table. If we stood in one direction we were able to see the lights and buildings of Surfers Paradise, and if we turned the other way we had a breathtaking view of the beach. We often cooked our dinners and sat on the balcony to eat, listening to the ocean.

The location is great. There is a small shopping centre just around the corner (less than a minutes walk) where there is a full supermarket and bakery. Just down the street there's also a food court that was open quite late including a sushi stall, fish n chips, chinese, indian and a sandwich shop. This was very convenient on nights when we didn't want to cook, we'd just grab some fish and chips and sit on the beach. There's also PLENTY of cafes and seafood resteraunts just a few metres away from the door.

The beach in question is a very short walk. The hotel is on the corner, you cross a road and walk across a short park and you're there. The whole process only takes a few minutes or less. Very convenient. You're also a minutes walk from the monorail, which takes you to Jupiter's Casino, and a casual 10--15 minute stroll from Pacific Fair, a really huge shopping complex down the road. You can also walk along the beach to Surfer's Paradise (takes around 20 minutes), or you can organise to be shuttled to one of the theme parks, which takes about 30 minutes to drive to. The apartment block also has a communal spa and swimming pool, which were both immaculately maintained and easy to access. Speaking of access, we were given 2 keys, which opening our apartment and also the front door, which gave you access to the hotel after hours.

The only (very slight) problems we had were that the balcony door didn't lock (we didn't worry too much as we were only the 13th floor and doubted anyone could break in) and that the washing machine was broken. We wanted to wash the towels halfway through our stay and the washer filled with water but didn't begin the cycle. We ended up swishing it around with our hands in the water and then airing them on a clothes airer on the balcony. Not a big deal, and I'm sure if we'd complained it would have been promptly fixed.

Overall, I loved this hotel and it was fantastic value for money. I'd definitely stay here again! And a big thank you to Steph on the front counter who was absolutely wonderful and did everything to be helpful in our stay.

  • Liked — location, service staff, full kitchen facility.
  • Disliked — Nothing really, but a dishwasher would have been convenient!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rurid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

The apartment had fabulous views. The bathroom had been recently renovated and was very nice. Unfortunately the whole apartment needed a good clean and some maintenance done. For example the sliding door to the balcony did not lock and the window in the bathroom didn't slide properly. The apartment was located in a prime spot but had a lot of street noise at night - you can't have it all.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Room wasn't as clean as it could have been
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed here for 3 days and loved it. The view was exactly what we wanted, location perfect and staff friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 13th floor. The views were fantastic!! To our left we had a great view of the beach and directly infront we had a clear view of the Q1 tower. The rooms were great, nice bedroom, bathroom and kitchen area. The sitting area was nice and spaceous. The pool and spa very kept clean the whole time we stayed there. Overall we both had a great time and would definately go back to the Pacific Resort but would definately stay for longer!!!!

  • Liked — Definately the views!!!
  • Disliked — nothing, we didnt want to leave!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_beales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#14 of 21 in Broadbeach
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Broadbeach

Property: Pacific Resort Broadbeach
Address: 2 Albert Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Resort Broadbeach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Resort Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Pacific Hotel Broadbeach
Pacific Resort Broadbeach Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing