We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sensational food”

Social eating house + bar
Ranked #2 of 277 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“sensational food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The tripadvisor reviews encouraged me to experience Social for myself and indeed the food was spectacular. Loved the quail on lentils.. best ever! We will be back to try the Barossa Chicken or maybe the Lamb, but hoping on our next visit we receive the friendly service that has been mentioned.

We must have landed in on a bad day for the staff... definitely not very 'social' on this occasion and limited interest or passion for such a new venue, which influenced our lunch experience. We would have stayed longer to try another dish and definitely the desserts... but did not feel so welcome to stay longer, so we left without even a coffee to finish.

Having said all that - we will be back to try again. Love the interior fitout, love the open kitchen, love the food, love the wine list... just a hickup with the service on that day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    111
    26
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food & service, particularly the Barossa chicken & barramundi. Disappointed that there was no reduced price for kids fish & chips @$22ea. Maybe they could review that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Social is the absolutely perfect name for this place. The food and atmosphere is second to none.... But what made the experience so superb was the ability of the head chef and his team to talk to you while you enjoy your tapas at the bar. The recommendations and discussion made this visit thoroughly worthwhile. Your chef and team are a credit to your establishment - well done!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyJC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Social is the most sensational restaurant I have ever been to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is faultless! Everything we ate was a pleasure in every mouthful. The oysters are amazing and are prepared in a variety of ways that are nothing like anything else I've had in other restaurants - just divine! My favourite from the snacks menu was the Rye toast with hot smoked trout mouse & Yarra Valley salmon pearls where the flavour just bursts in your mouth with each bite. From the Main we enjoyed a variety of beautiful meals, but I have to say, the Barramundi was out of this world in flavour & a good size serve for us all to have plenty to fill us. Social is a place for not only the adults to enjoy, but also our teenage children, with meals to suit their tastes & desserts to leave them wanting to come back to again - and soon!

I can not speak highly enough about the restaurant Social, Matt the owner & head chef & their charismatic & attentive staff. A must do for dining on the Gold Coast & for that matter when visiting Australia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ringinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A GBEAT ESTABLISHMENT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Social Restaurant.
3 Oracle Bvde..
Broadbeach. Qld.4218
07
One of the best eateries in Broadbeach, if not The Best, although the owners do have another restaurant described as the fine dining branch. This called Rock Salt.

The layout concept is superb with stools seating throughout the restaurant which give diners the opportunity to see into the kitchen or sit at the bar and watch cocktails being made..

Staff are superb and the service exemplary. as is the food and choices of cuisine. Try small plates of tapas or go for what it termed the Big Plates: Roasted garlic tweed river king prawns has great flavours as does most dishes.

If this restaurant does not satisfy you, then my advice would be to give up,but Rock Salt could be a last try for you.

The owners Matt and Amy Jefferson's two fine dining establishment are gems. You'll need to travel a long way for anything to touch either of these two great establishments. One final piece of advise. DO BOOK EARLY, both places are invariably fully booked by 8pm for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social eating house + bar also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Gold Coast, Queensland
 

Been to Social eating house + bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing