We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 hours of my life I'll never get back”

Dracula's Cabaret Restaurant
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.11*
and up
Dracula's Cabaret Restaurant on the Gold Coast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dracula's is Australia's longest running and most successful dinner theatre. A total night of entertainment combining burlesque, contemporary music, comedy and quality dining, all in the one incredible venue. From that first tentative step inside, you and your party are transported to an underworld of gothic splendour. Ride the famous ghost train into the Theatre of the Vampyre. Explore the multi level castle and be captivated by the intense atmosphere. Animated creatures as well as original and rare horror collectables adorn the entire venue. Sample unique cocktails in the Van Helsing cocktail bar. A quality three course dinner is followed by the main event, Dracula's two hour live production featuring some of Australia's most talented performers. The productions change annually and continue to 'wow' audiences with the latest audio and visual special effects and a menu that is to die for! For over 30 years, multi award wining Dracula's has wined, dined and horrified over 3,000,000 guests from all over the world. Dracula's has always been and continues to be produced, written and directed by the Newman Family. An all Australian entertainment success story that is truly immortal.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 hours of my life I'll never get back”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are the kind of person who enjoys music (and I use the term loosely) which registers on the richter scale, finds fart jokes hilarious, and considers being packed into uncomfortable seats surrounded by drunken buffoons an evening well spent, then Dracula's is for you. If, however, you like good food, staff who make eye contact, clever repartee, distinguishable lyrics, or even singing in tune, then avoid this place like the plague. It manages to make the Moulin Rouge look classy by comparison. Generally my experience has been that Trip Advisor is pretty accurate, so it is astonishing to me that it has got this one so terribly wrong. On my death bed I'll probably say "the only things I regret are the things I did not do, except for visiting Dracula's".

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    450
    216
    146
    154
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous night of entertainment and Laughs”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this place it was the best. Col, Trish, Diedre and I made a night of it. At first I thought it was good but lacked a bit of spark in the entertainment only to discover that this was the pre entertainment and the show was yet to start. Once it did wow, it was fabulous. These guys also run the show, they do the admission, welcoming and the entertaining. It was top notch entertainent, and very cleverly thought out. A good nigth was had by all and never laughed so much.The food was a 3 course meal and was nicely cooked and the perfect portion size.
It was a great night with lovely company, Ive got to take Bretty next time he will love the Queen Tribute.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank glassyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just an awsome night”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What can i say,,,,from the moment we arrived we were entertained the whole time till the end of the night......The food was great........all the drinks and the entertainment from the cast and crew throught the whole night was great.....great fun place to go to....would recomend this to anyone....i am going back again

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't do it!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The basic premise of this enterprise is a vampire-themed show and dinner. About the only good thing I can say is the food was edible. Otherwise expect a hugely commercial experience (heavy marketing of photos, drinks and merchandise), along with terrible singing at brain-rattling volume. Avoid at all costs!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“old unfunny jokes and racism”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'd only heard great things about Draculas, but it was so terrible that our party of three walked out partway through the show. I've never walked out of anything before. It was crude and racist and about twenty other kinds of offensive and not even a little funny. There was hassling, touching, and insulting the audience on a level we found completely inappropriate-- referring to some of the ladies in the B seating as sluts, grabbing a woman's ponytail, making jokes about male audience members being gay and/or women because of their haircuts. I was terrified they were going to start in on our table too and relieved they didn't

The staff however were absolutely lovely, the band was great, and the acrobatics were very fun to watch. The food was mediocre, the ghost train ride boring. Everything else, the stand-up and much of the show itself, was sickening.

Save your money for better food and less condescending and boring entertainment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lslines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dracula's Cabaret Restaurant also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Dracula's Cabaret Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing