We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for!! Small studio,mouldy bathroom!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadbeach Savannah Resort
South east Queensland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for!! Small studio,mouldy bathroom!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Got a special on Wotif for this so called resort. Paid in advance so had to put up with it. The studio spa rooms are quite small,but equiped with a small kitchen with full oven,microwave,2 burner stove top,and small fridge/freezer. No room for a dining table so a strange breakfast bar is set up with 2 bar stools. The bedroom is small with a king zip bed which dominates the room,and was old & very uncomfortable,had been fitted with a foam egg grate mattress topper to try to hide the joining zip,but we still fell into the middle of the soft very well used bed. The bathroom has a very low ceiling,and the air extractor vent did not appear to work.
The toilet holder fell off the wall on the first morning. The shower over the bath is very suitable for an agile midget. The single spa bath is very narrow,and makes showering for anyone over 5 feet 9 inches a real challenge. The tiles had mould in a lot of the grouting,as well as did the ceiling,the grouting round the bath surround made you feel sick, it was so abundant,and so black. Even on a Wotif special I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chopper0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    64
    82
    49
    100
See reviews for
60
151
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have just flown back home and logged on to write this, my first review on tripadvisor, because I think people need to know what this place is really like. And it's not good.

I don't know where some of the pictures on their website came from - I suspect from photos taken some years ago, because the dining area does not look half as flash now as on their website.

I booked my stay via a mystery deal on wotif. I paid AUS$135 a night for five nights for 2 apartments for me and my partner and his son and daughter in law. What a disappointment, this has totally dented my faith in wotif!

Bathroom grubby, toilet needed a good clean.
Mould on grout in bathroom,
Fittings (hairdryer, clothes dryer) removed but the zinc holders on the wall left behind.
Louvre door to shared washing machine broken.

The whole place was just run down. OUr deal included a free breakfast, but one of us was challenged about this 3 days into the stay. Breakfast was strange, some times the bacon was hot, sometimes it was the eggs - I don't think there was one day when everything worked, The coffee for breakfast was a hot water urn, with a basket of grubby cheap coffee sachets - the same pieces of fruit were brought out every day, getting older and older.

I was unhappy when we checked in, but I had paid upfront, so we were stuck there..
But the worse bit was the penultimate afternoon of the stay - my partner went out, I stayed back to read a book and have a few zzs. I heard a knock at the door and got up thinking partner has left keys behind, to be confronted by a total stranger at door, who claims to be housekeeping. This is a non-serviced apartment, it's 4.25 in the afternoon...

The next nmorning I decided to report this to the Savannah staff and the women behind the counter were lovely - the manager or owner however did not want to know. I offered to look at their security cameras to see if I could see the chap who had come to the door, but the manager/owner did not want to know. I lodged my own police report.

So - the Savannah? Some lovely staff there, and if you can get a cheap deal to stay there, it might not be too bad, but I feel totally ripped off AND mortified, because I was the person who did the booking for our group.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broadbeach hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Savannah for 4 nights and found it as enjoyable as it was the first time we stayed last year. We had the family room ($189per night) because we wanted something a bit bigger then a studio. The breakfast was about what we got at other hotels in the past so no suprises there. Only thing was it was cheap. We paid $20 through a wotif deal and that suited us fine. The room itself was comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. This time around we found that the restaurant downstairs also opened for dinner so we decided to just eat there two nights and went out for the rest. The food was really good and the price was very reasonable. The facilities are basic 4 star. We only used the pool and my wife used the sauna a couple of times. We had a corner spa in our room however we didn't use it. The bathroom was clean and our bed was comfortable. Service was good and staff went out of their way to book tours for us and direct us to some restaurants. They gave us a late checkout no charge. Will definitely stay again and happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Try and book the family rooms if u want a bit more space otherwise the studios are ok for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is in a central location just across the road from Pacific Fair and Jupiters Casino. Also walking distance to main eateries and beach.

The rooms are small but well appointed. The bathrooms could do with some upgrading with mould starting to form around the bath. The rooms are not serviced for a stay less than 7 days and costs $15 if a service is requested. The pool area is nice and a good size.

All in all still good value with full cooking facilities. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Booked this hotel back in November for a 1 night stay (10 March) as we went to Draculas for my 30th, only reason booked was Casino was fully booked due to a convention and we wanted to be walking distance.

Paid $230 for an 'executive fully refurbed ocean view room incl breakfast'. Booked for 4 adults and as the room apparently caters for 5 adults, made the assumption that it was a 2 bedroom, given the high rate and the occupancy. When we walked in the room we realised we were in some sort of Indian student accommodation, where the dining room was converted to a bedroom, there was luckily 1 bedroom or we would have been in some sort of swingers room. 1 bathroom, 1 shower, zero bath. Teeny weeny room. I didn't want to get upset as we were there for my 30th. After a while I was so peeved off I went to reception to complain, and was told too bad!! I explained that I must have the wrong room because where the hell was the 5th person suppose to sleep? There was no fold out sofa or the likes. So off I marched, had a few drinks and let it go.

So the following morning we arrive down at breakfast to be told that our breakfast is not included. I said 'yeah it is' and the rude indian woman proceeded over to reception and came back to tell me I was wrong! So I said to our party, I know it is, so we will eat and I will sort it out. I found my wotif email and yes it clearly stated it was included so I went to reception where I did NOT receive an apology, just 'I wish people would do their job properly'. I then returned to our room for a rest, to have reception call me to ask when we were vacating the room, even though I had requested late checkout!

Total nightmare, total rip off, and i deliberately made a tripadvisor account to ensure that this hotel is stopped! Really peeved to see other reviews that people were paying $79 and I forked out $230 - SUPER UNHAPPY! lucky I have
A great husband who is taking me to QT in a fortnight to have a night away to make up for this horrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We booked a small apartment through a Wotif deal and on arrivial asked for a quite room and was given a family room on level nine.The room was better then what we expected well furnished air conditioning,bed,lounge and patio furniture all in good condition.We had no complaints about our unit. The amenties pool,gym sauna,outdoor spas,childrens play area were all o.k. Location handy to anything we wanted all within easy walking distance we did not have to use our car at all.The breakfast was alright and satified our needs. As the unit was self contained we had some meals in an other times ate out. With regards to smells, the pipes had
slight smell and the smells in the passage ways was coming from the rubbish chutes located beside the elevators. Maybe management could look at some way to fix this problem.
If you had to pay full price for a stay you may be wanting more for your money but for the deal we had we would return again if a similar deal was offered.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on Surf Pde.end of building Level 8 up are better for views and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I wrote a letter of complaint about our stay to the Manager, and did not even receive a response. Here is the letter which outlines all the issues, the worst being a smoke alarm that went off continually during the night! $160 down the toilet!

"This is a complaint. Please forward to management. We stayed at your establishment on Friday night 2nd March. Our family was really looking forward to a rest, and a night away, and we were badly disappointed. We had several unpleasant experiences. I have listed them in time order.

Friday afternoon - whilst swimming in the pool with my children, I found a cigarette butt floating past me.

Friday evening - we have 2 children, and despite advising the hotel, we only had 2 bath towels in the room for the whole family. A minor issue, but still frustrating.

Friday night - on going to bed, my husband and I found our windowless, airless room to be stiflingly hot. We couldn't turn the air conditioner up higher as it would have meant our children who were sleeping in the main room, would have been freezing. I finally got to sleep near midnight.

Early Saturday morning - we were woken at 1.30am by the smoke alarm beeping sporadically!!! This went on for quite some time, until eventually it went off "properly" then seemed to stop after a while. This was upsetting for us and the children and extremely annoying. Needless to say, it was a terrible, awful night's sleep.

In the morning, we found a HUGE puddle of water under the air conditioner.

We couldn't use the breakfast bar in the room without re-arranging the lounge room! The bathroom was disgusting. Very smelly and the grout was awful and mouldy. The spa smelled like a sewer

We advised the attendant at the front desk about some of these issues with no apology or interest.

We have returned home exhausted. We have stayed in many hotels and apartments on the Gold Coast and Brisbane and this was by far the worse experience we have ever had.

I hope to hear from you soon advising as to how you can correct this situation and compensate us for what was clearly NOT value for money and a most unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murbahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#15 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Resort
Neptune Resort
#7 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Broadbeach on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadbeach Savannah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadbeach Savannah Resort

Property: Broadbeach Savannah Resort
Address: Goonamurra 46 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Savannah)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadbeach Savannah Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Resort is located at the heart of Broadbeach, the cosmopolitan hub of Queensland's fabled Gold Coast. It is perfectly positioned, and within a short walk are the casino, two big shopping centres, the restaurants and cafes of Broadbeach, and not forgetting one of the Gold Coasts most superb stretches of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Broadbeach Savannah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadbeach Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Resort Broadbeach
Broadbeach Savannah Resort Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing