We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Diamond Beach
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
ocean grove victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Our family of seven stayed here for seven nights. Great location close to lovely restaurants and the beach. The kids loved the pool couldn't get them out of it, but was very disappointed with the apartment. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment that was in need of an update. Kitchen was okay except for the horrible brown stains in the kitchen sink, the same went for our shower over our bath. The decor in the apartment was not child friendly at all uncomfortable cane couch and glass coffee table and glass dinner table, very dangerous. Cockroachers were found in the kitchen and linen cupboard and the single beds were like sleeping on a piece of wood, all we could feel were the springs in very old mattresess.Id heard such good reports about this place but was very disappointed. Next time i will definately stay somewhere where they have airconditioning the ceiling fans just didnt cool down the apartment. The apartment just felt very dirty and the carpet was putrid.

  • Liked — close to shopping and great food places
  • Disliked — the dirty outdated apartment
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank natcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    462
    181
    80
    65
See reviews for
950
58
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We have stayed here twice before. Both times when children were younger great. But this time very disappointed. We had an appt facing the road,across to broadbeach school. The appt was very tacky and grubby. We had to put sheets over the lounge settees as they were very greasy to sit on. The shower door had mould on it. Below us was a heavy smoker who was always smoking out on the verada outside. This whould whiff upto our appt and we would have keep the windows closed. So much for being told the entire resort was smoke free.The pools were full of kids jumping, diving , throwing balls despite the rules clearly stating that none of these were tolerated. No use mentioning this to staff, no action is taken. Will not stay here again, though love the location to Pacific fair. Walking up the beach to Surfers under moonlight is fantastic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smokers,Not well maintained rooms, though was clean
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donut4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Nov 2006
Sayed here again for the second time in 12 Months we were also here in Nov 2005. It was just Fantastic, We had many Barbeques in the very well kept BBQ area which is also very clean just like the rest of the resort complex. This Resort is in an ideal location close to Shops beach and Restaurants. I will be coming back again as soon as i can hopefully witin the next 12 to 24 months. The Pools are just fantastic especially the pool that is heated. I will be sure to come back to this resort a third time as I love it so much and I am quite like the Broadbeach area. I had a look at other resorts whilst i was there but in my opinion I would only stay at this resort in broadbeach

  • Liked — Apartment & Pool Area & well Kept Tropical Gardens
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ADJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We have just returned from a 7 night stay, (we have one 3 year old) the resort was clean and exceptionally well maintained especially the pool areas. There were staff members cleaning windows and tending to the gardens on xmas and boxing days.

For a large resort it is quiet at night and we did not hear pipes or noise from adjoining apartments.

Security was good and reception staff were attentive and friendly.

Beautoful beach, parks and Broadbeach shops and restaurants are just a short walk away.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Low rise, well maintained complex.
  • Disliked — Would have preferred a unit service for 7 night stay instead of min 8 night stay for service.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jules-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We have just returned from 10 days on the Gold Coast staying at the Diamond Beach Resort. After some reviews on this site I was a bit wary as to what the apartment accommodation would be like.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was great. We had 3 balconies - 1 at the front, side and rear of the unit. The accommodation was spotless. There was no signs of wear and tear, only 2 small scorch marks on the carpet from an iron. The furniture and fittings were good. There was Pay TV available.

The resort has 2 swimming pools, 2 spas and a children's pool area. Our 2 children loved spending their afternoon/nights in this area. There are also BBQ's available and the area also has a children's play area.

There was no noise during the night and did not have problems with noise as others have regarding pipes/toilets etc. Staff at reception were most helpful. There are papers and basic essentials available at reception and they can arrange theme park tickets.

The grounds are beautifully presented and there is also a games room to keep the kids occupied.

My children loved staying at this resort. They had plenty of room within the unit and plenty to keep themselves occupied outside.

The beach is a 2 minutes walk and a 5 minute walk to Pacific Fair shopping centre. Buses to theme parks pick you up at the door and other local bus service stops are only a 2-3 minute walk away.

Visited all the local theme parks and the weather was good, not too crowded as it was not school holiday time.

Would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Liked — Good accommodation with excellent garden and pool area
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank JPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

booked through a broker who was in an offsite location. The room was not managed by the resort. Not what we expected. disappointed with room. not enough blankets, pillows, no dishwashing or clothes powder etc. No heating, the unit was cold.
Resort staff polite but unable to help with requests (do not hold spare keys to the room). To be fair we did not contact broker with our concerns however there are other places on gold coast better value for money at $200 + a night......................Would not stay again

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stevethekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki, NZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Diamond Beach resort in May 2006 with three children under 12. Compared to most high rises on the Gold Coast the resort is a garden of eden. A maximum of three stories surrounding a magnificent pool, spa and BBQ area, including a heated pool and spa. Show the kids a lovely heated pool and thats their holiday taken care of. BBQ area is great for meals at any time of day and a great watering hole to meet other guests. Grounds are kept immaculate. Same could not be said for the apartment itself. As previous reviews have stated the apartments are individually owned so its luck of the draw. Although our apartment overlooked the pool and caught the sun which is important at that time of year, it was starting to appear dated with its furnishings etc. eg. The bed was hard, the stove, hot plate and hot water jug were faulty, and if the whole family wanted a shower atfer a day at the beach you had better be one of the first. The hot water cylinder is small for family living. After informing the desk of problems with the stove, two men inspected it briefly two days later said they would be back the next day. They were never seen again during our nine day stay. In summary a great place to relax with a family but for a couple or people wanting something modern try elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mons_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Property: BreakFree Diamond Beach
Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the lifesaver patrolled beach and the chic Broadbeach cafe precinct, BreakFree Diamond Beach is family friendly and ideally located. You will be within walking distance of the stunning beach, and the popular restaurants, bars and shopping at central Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and Jupiters Casino. This popular low-rise resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments nestled amongst tropical landscaped gardens and waterfalls. All apartments are self contained and include fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, ceiling fans, Austar and large balconies, some with direct pool access. Recreation facilities include two swimming pools landscaped with waterfalls, bridges and rock-cave spas. For the kids, there is a heated novelty fun pool, playground and games room. The resort also has BBQ cooking facilities and a kiosk selling all the beachside holiday necessities. Explore the greater Gold Coast during your stay. Tours to famous Gold Coast theme parks and national parks can be booked through the Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing