We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect to much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Diamond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family, 2 adults & 4 kids recently stayed here for 7 nights, would we stay here again - NO.
I requested a renovated unit on the ground level on 2 different phone calls before we arrived.
We where given a renovated unit but it was on the 3 rd floor, was exhausting & disappointing to have to carry up all our luggage and groceries when we arrived. The next day the staff offered us a ground floor unit, but it wasn't renovated & looked awful. We decide to stay put.
Even though the unit was renovated, there where a few things that we felt could have been improved upon.Firstly they need to buy a new bed in the main room, it was like sleeping on bricks. There wasn't enough dinner plates & drinking cups for us, no bread board, only an old frypan, skillet to cook in. Clothes dryer didn't work. These little things all add up.
On a positive note the resort was in a great location in broad beach, lovely pools to swim in & the staff where very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Michelle W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review you on your stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

It was disappointing to read your review and hear of your overall dissatisfaction with your stay. We can confirm that our apartments here at Diamond Beach are located on three levels throughout the property. At the time of your stay the property was running at full occupancy and unfortunately although every effort was made staff were unable to satisfy both of your requests for ground floor and a refurbished apartment. We can provide full assurance that every effort is made for all of our guests to be able to provide an apartment to their booking requirements however we must advise that this is unable to be offered guaranteed.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the central location of the property and the helpful support from the resort staff. We sincerely hope that overall your holiday on the Gold Coast was an enjoyable one.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your review.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sorry to the people who look after there units but this is the pits
First unit was on the 3rd floor the kitchen sink was made of plastic and had been burnt at some stage along with a couch that was on the floor if my mum was with us she would not be able to get out of it, the room was not clean and was very run down.
We moved to a better room... Not by much this room was on the ground floor the the couch was broken when you sat in it you were on the floor they changed it with one from another room the next day the amount of dust and mould in this place was to been seen please clean and renovate this place as your location is good! Easy walk to beach, restraints, shops and casino

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank iamKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear iamkelly,

I sincerely apologise that your stay with us was met with challenges and for your overall dissatisfaction with your holiday.

There is certainly no excuse for the poor condition of your accommodation and we can provide reassurance that this is not indicative of our normal high standards presented in our apartments here at Diamond Beach.

In a continuing aim to improve our resort we have completed a large volume of upgrade works to our apartments since your holiday stay with us as we continue to improve our resort for future guests.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

so i came and stayed here for the night because i was in the search of a place to rent so i thort i would stay here just a night to see what its like and i loved it needless to say i now live in this resort it has an amazing pool area and BBQ area wich are kept soo clean. all the staff are amazing its exactly what you would expect from a family resort

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Luke S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

What a fantastic compliment it is to receive that not only did you enjoy your stay but that you decided to stay on as a permanent resident because you enjoyed the resort so much.

I am so pleased that you find the staff to be very supportive and that you enjoy the facilities of the resort.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in a 3bedroom apt on the 3rd floor. Unit was clean, but did it need a makeover. Cupboard doors would not close and the best example, was the board under the 3 seater lounge cushions so you would not sit on the springs. The beds were also uncomfortable. For the price paid for this unit, unless you have a guarantee of an updated unit you would do better elsewhere. On the upside the pool and BBQ area was excellent and well maintained.

Room Tip: Request updated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iha255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear iha255060,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

I was disappointed to read your review and the overall standard of your apartment. I can provide full reassurance that since your review the apartment in question has completed a full refurbishment to ensure our standard quality levels are met. This is certainly no excuse however for poor maintenance for your stay with us and I sincerely apologise for this.

I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the facilities of the resort and that you found these areas to be well maintained.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return stay in a newly refurbished apartment.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Bit run down, needs a facelift.. lots of Pool fun for the kids..unless I had ground floor (which im told isnt a guarantee) I wouldn't stay again. Did put in prior requests but didn't get them. We had a refurbished 3br apartment. The front door knob was broken and unsafe.. I phoned reception but had no-one come and look at it.. The window from the top floor was a push open one and had a lock which was broken off .. my 2yo daughter had she lent on it would have fallen from the top floor, so we did lots of furniture rearranging..The refurb was nice but I think quite cheaply done, the carpet was coming off in our room. No Air conditioning only ceiling fans. Again though very central. nice park a short walk away and about a 20min walk to main st broadbeach.

Room Tip: BBQ's are in the pool area.. NO glass allowed. Ground floor is on request only...good luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear cassy141,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort.

It was disappointing to read that although you were allocated a newly refurbished apartment that maintenance concerns did arise during your stay and was not attended to in a timely manner. This is understandably very concerning feedback to receive as although we understand that issues can arise during a guests stay we do have proactive measurers in please to handle these swiftly and without guest interruption, I am disappointed that this did not occur for you during your stay.

Being a three storey walk up our units are located on all three levels. Ground floor units are very popular and although we cannot offer these guaranteed I can provide full assurance that staff would have completed all possible to try and provide this for you. I am sorry in this instance that we were unable to provide this for you.

Thank you again for sharing your review and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My family recently stayed at Breakfree Diamond Beach Resort at Broadbeach and had a wonderful relaxing holiday. Our apartment was beautifully renovated and the pool area was fantastic. It was an easy stroll to beach with fabulous playgrounds to go to along the way.I highly recommend this resort for families who want a relaxing beach holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellydiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear kellydiann,

What a fantastic review – thank you!

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that the property met all of your holiday needs.

There are three children’s playgrounds all within walking distance from our resort which is certainly very popular with our guests. Every second Sunday the Broadbeach Art & Craft markets are on just near the all abilities playground from our resort. Many of our guests enjoy a relaxing walk down to explore these markets and afterwards enjoy sitting back watching their little ones have a ball in the playground.

Thank you again for sharing your great review and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back for another great stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here twice now with our young family of 5. Both times have been a great experience. The resort-style pool is great for the kids. When our friends came to visit from a nearby hotel they were jealous of what we had. Sure our apartment was a little dated, but was very clean and spacious so we couldn't complain.
Very good central location, only a stroll from beaches, Oasis Centre and Jupiters Casino.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_and_Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Justin_and_Sylvia,

Thank you for your lovely review on your stay with our resort.

What a wonderful compliment to receive that not only was your second stay a fantastic one but that your visiting friends enjoyed the property so much that they were jealous of your holiday accommodation.

We pride ourselves on our well maintained and spotlessly clean rooms and I am so pleased that we did not disappoint and that your stay was a great experience with us.

Thank you again for the great review and we hope to be welcoming you back for your third visit with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#2 of 51 in Broadbeach
1,086 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: $102 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the lifesaver patrolled beach and the chic Broadbeach cafe precinct, BreakFree Diamond Beach is family friendly and ideally located. You will be within walking distance of the popular restaurants, bars and shopping at central Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and The Star Gold Coast. All apartments are self contained and include fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, ceiling fans, Austar and large balconies, some with direct pool access. Recreation facilities include two swimming pools landscaped with waterfalls, bridges and rock-cave spas. For the kids, there is a heated novelty fun pool, playground and games room. The resort also has BBQ cooking facilities and a kiosk selling all the beachside holiday necessities. Explore the greater Gold Coast during your stay. Tours to famous Gold Coast theme parks and national parks can be booked through the Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing