We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family holiday for 5-Lisa S”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Diamond Beach
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“family holiday for 5-Lisa S”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just recently stayed at breakfree diamond beach for 7 nights. We are a family of 5. We stayed in one of there 3 bedroom aparments and have nothing but great reviews for this room and complex. The room was clean, spacious and very well presented. Our 3 young children loved the pools, spas, BBQ area and play area. Overall I would recommend this complex to a family wanting a reasonable priced holiday to the gold coast. The staff are friendly and helpful and the complex suited our family. After reading other people's comments i was abit taken back, because our family had a great time at this property. All I can say is are people getting to fussy and you don't go to the gold coast to sit in your room.

Room Tip: The 3 bedrrom apartment on the ground level near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Craig S

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to read that your family had a fantastic holiday staying with us.

Many of our guests comment on the expansive layout of our units and how these cater perfectly for families. I am so pleased that the allocation and layout of your apartment suited your family needs well.

I must admit we too are disappointed regarding some of the reviews received for the resort and don’t believe this paints a true picture of the accommodation provided at Diamond Beach. Although I maybe a little biased, I truly believe that we offer affordable, well appointed spacious rooms with outstanding and unique facilities all within the central Broadbeach area.

Thank you again for sharing your review and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    421
    164
    75
    64
See reviews for
864
53
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had stayed here before and were very excited about coming back. Unfortunately our experience was ruined by having money ($450) stolen from our locked room while we slept. As soon as we realized it was missing we reported it to reception and we were told the general manager would ring us shortly. Over 24hrs later after a sleepless night and still no contact we decided to move elsewhere as we clearly weren't going to enjoy the rest of our stay. We were not expecting our money back, maybe just some contact from the manager and the option of moving to another room. After visiting reception again and speaking with the very helpful man there, we were given the option of moving to either another room or another Breakfree nearby at no extra expense to us - which we took. As I work in hospitality management myself I was very disappointed with the way this was dealt with until we spoke with the man in reception on the second day. If choosing to stay here I would highly recommend using the safe in your room - even at night while you are sleeping!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank At38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear At38,

This was certainly a very disappointing review to receive and we were saddened and concerned to hear of a theft during your stay. It is unfortunate that thieves strike at anytime let alone when you are on holidays and for this we do offer our utmost apologies. Security is a very important to us at Diamond Beach and we strive for our families to feel secure, safe and comfortable whilst staying with us. We are one of the only accommodation providers in the area to have security based onsite each night patrolling our resort. With security swipe access required for access into the resort and safes installed in each of our rooms we proactively try to ensure that instances such as these are very rare occurrences.

I sincerely apologise that you felt dissatisfaction in the support provided and wish to offer my personal apology for this. I was advised that you had requested not to be contacted that day as you were heading out with your family and although calls were placed to the unit in the evening I was unable to reach you. I am reassured that my staff were able to speak with you the following morning and provide assistance.

We apologise again for this unfortunate incident.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in unit 167. Our 2 bedroom unit strongly smelt of dog or similar. The furnishings were well past their use by date. You couldn't sit on the sofa as it was totally stuffed. The lounge ceiling fan was unbalanced & noisy. No working extractor fan in an enclosed bathroom. Decor & general condition were poor. The kitchen accessories were lacking eg: 2 teaspoons in a 2 bedroom family apartment? The carpets and furnishings were dirty.
All the exterior sliding doors had buggered bottom track rollers & were almost impossible for my wife to operate
We had very little to zero interaction with staff and all our dealings seemed to be by written corrospondence
The location however is second to none and this resort also had great exterior family appeal wlth the pools & outdoor living spaces
Having said this we have stayed at various other gold coast establishments at braodbeach & have found them all far superior.
There is a lot of available accomadation in this area & we think that although these units are owned by investors / individuals - the managemnet need to impress on their clients the need to keep their units up to scratch to maintain good occupancy rates

Room Tip: Ask to see your unit on arrival. Don't settle for 2nd rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jon K,

Thank you for sharing your review on our holiday at Diamond Beach.

I appreciate you allowing me to correspond with you directly after your stay and provide some reassurance to you. I was so very disappointed to not have had the opportunity to rectify any of your concerns whilst you were staying with us, hearing of your concerns after your departure was very disappointing as we do not want any guest leaving us after having a disappointing stay.

167 is a lovely apartment and the owner is very conscious to ensure it is well presented for holiday guests. The unit is set to have further refurbishment works completed and we are very excited to see the results.

Thank you again for communicating with me directly and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Diamond Beach and restore your faith in our resort.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Breakfree for the last week of our two week school holiday. First we were put in room 44 and after we unlocked the door and walked in, we turned around and walked out again. It was very smelly, there was a strong odour of feet or dogs, and the carpet on the stairs was covered in brown stains. The kitchen was extremely outdated, there's no way you would use the stove, if you could even work out how to get it going, and the pantry door only opened part way. We had a cockroach in our pantry and our shower was blocked up, and the sliding door to the upstairs balcony wouldn't close properly, let alone lock.
The receptionist came and sprayed the unit with deodorising spray, but we had to buy some disinfectant spray to use as the smell was so pervasive.
A woman came to our unit and said we couldn't be moved straight away but Monday at the latest. We visited the office several times over the next few days, asking to shift, then after two nights, on Monday were told one more night. After we told the manager how unacceptable the unit was, finally he said he would try to shift us and we got a call shortly to say we could shift to a unit in one of the blocks. That day the shower and door were fixed, and we saw an exterminator van parked nearby.
The second unit was lovely, really fantastic - roomy and clean, completely up to date and equipped with everything we needed. If we hadn't had that first horrible room I'd be giving the BF Diamond Beach 4+ stars instead of 3.
I agree with the suggestions that you ask for a refurbished room before you book. Our time in the old room was extremely unpleasant, we couldn't relax in the lounge with the smell, even the dining room chairs were filthy. The refurbished room was a delight, so as long as you have one of those you will have a great stay.
The staff were very nice to us during our stay, very friendly and helpful. The BF is a short walk to the beach and mall, so in a really handy spot. The pool is great and barbeque facilities really clean. I didn't mind the stairs, it was just lovely to be staying in a beautiful unit after the nasty one.

Room Tip: Don't book until you are assured in writing that you have a refurbished room. There is a massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefiveofusxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear thefiveofusxxx,

I sincerely apologise that your stay with us was met with challenges and your first unit did not meet your expectations.

I was most concerned reading your review and the overall disappointment in your first allocated apartment. I can confirm that your valuable feedback will be actioned to improve the accommodation provided.

We do take a very proactive management of the bug life experienced here on the Gold Coast to mitigate any concerns to our guests. All rooms are treated by pest control twice yearly and inspected routinely to ensure their effect is minimised. I do sincerely apologise if you experienced this whilst staying with us and can provide reassurance that every effort is made to ensure this is kept to a minimum.

I am heartened to hear the remainder of your stay was well enjoyed and do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at bf diamond beach for 8 days at the end of april with friends. We both had poolside rooms which were great ,ours was on the second level over looking the warm pool,bf diamond beach has two pools (warm and cold) and a cave spa ,our kids 5 in total , had hours of fun .we found bf diamond beach to be a great resort in a great spot in broadbeach handy to pacific fair and easy to get to themeparks from ,our room was spacious with all that was needed to be self sufficent. We will definately be back.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Brian W,

Thank you for your ‘great’ review on your stay with us poolside at Diamond Beach.

I am thrilled to read that both yours and your friends units had everything that you needed and made for a great holiday.

I love receiving feedback such as yours, where families have spent hours and hours of fun enjoying the pools and truly making some great holiday memories.

I thank you again for sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing week in the Gold Coast with 3 children 4, 6 and 11. I was very apprehensive about staying here after reading the reviews but was wonderfully surprised when we entered our three bedroom loft apartment (30). It is on the third floor so a lot of steps to get there but the place was clean and modern and very spacious.

The pool/bbq area is very clean and the children loved the resort. Great place for large groups. Close to the beach and shopping centres.

We had friends also stay at the resort and each apartment was different and some not refurbished so it is worth asking for a refurbished one.

Price was reasonable for what it was and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms owned and managed by the hotel. Look at the resort map to get an idea where would suit your n...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyAustTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear HappyAustTraveller,

Thank you so much for your review on your ‘amazing’ week’s holiday with us.

I am so pleased that we were able to surpass any concerns and provided a great holiday for you and your family at a great price!

Unit 30 is a stunning apartment and one that is very popular with our guests. Nestled away from the pool area guests enjoy this unit for its modern design, large and well appointed layout and the peace and quiet of its location.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a hard place to review. The resort is in a great location, very close to Pacific Fair, the beach and some great playgrounds for kids. The pool area is perfect for kids and our children aged between 2 and 6 wouldn't stay anywhere else and would give it the big thumbs up for that very reason!. The staff are also very friendly.
However....it really is hit and miss in terms of the accommodation. Our friends and I spent a 6 nights there, our room (134) was like staying in Faulty Towers. The carpet was very old and there was a musty smell. The kitchen facilities were average at best and if I am honest I gave everything a good wash before I used it. The ceiling fan made a ticking noise that felt like you were being slowly tortured. The furniture was old cane style and very dated and you couldn't get at all comfortable on to relax at night. The toilet had a slow leak, the bathrooms were old and very tired and things like the light fittings and fans really needed a good clean.
In the week we were there the staircases to the rooms were not vacuumed once and were really filthy by the time we left.
Our friends were in a different room that had obviously been refurbished and they couldn't fault it. The problem is of course that these are individually owned so they are all done up to different standards. However you pay the same price when clearly you don't get the same value!

We would stay there again as the positives outweighed the negatives and lets face it you don't spend a huge amount of time in your room while on holiday with small kids, however I would only stay there if we could be guaranteed a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Insist on a refurb room, otherwise a non re furb room at a discounted rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisepetrie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear louisepetrie75,

Thank you for your honest and informative review of your stay with us at Diamond Beach.

I am certainly disappointed to hear of your concerns with your allocated apartment and can confirm that your valuable feedback will be shared with my executive team and the owner of the unit. There is certainly no excuse for poor cleaning and although some of our units yet to be refurbished maybe a little older we still expect them to be spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Thank you for your postive feedback regarding our pool area. We have many families that return year after year as the pool facilities of the resort cater perfectly for all aged children. The heating of childrens wading pool is to a great temperature and we see not only the children but many Mums and Dads reluctant to get out.

I am pleased to read that you would stay with us again and we do look forward to restoring your faith in our beautiful resort.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Property: BreakFree Diamond Beach
Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the lifesaver patrolled beach and the chic Broadbeach cafe precinct, BreakFree Diamond Beach is family friendly and ideally located. You will be within walking distance of the stunning beach, and the popular restaurants, bars and shopping at central Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and Jupiters Casino. This popular low-rise resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments nestled amongst tropical landscaped gardens and waterfalls. All apartments are self contained and include fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, ceiling fans, Austar and large balconies, some with direct pool access. Recreation facilities include two swimming pools landscaped with waterfalls, bridges and rock-cave spas. For the kids, there is a heated novelty fun pool, playground and games room. The resort also has BBQ cooking facilities and a kiosk selling all the beachside holiday necessities. Explore the greater Gold Coast during your stay. Tours to famous Gold Coast theme parks and national parks can be booked through the Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing