We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible room and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible room and overpriced”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Needing only one night for our family we booked a 2 bedroom apartment number 606. The fit out & decor of the apartment was outdated and horrible, but worse it was in need of some simple maintenance with the carpet buckled in passage, power point not mounted well, timber blinds broken. To pay $190 for this apartment was $100 too much! When I spoke to the friendly & helpful staff member about the maintenance in the room he replied ' yes, I hear that a lot'. The room sizes are large. Balcony has views over Gold Coast highway to Jupiter's and toward the beach. On a positive note I did see inside the apartment (1 B/R) next door and it looked much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkl3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach T, General Manager at Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi tkl3128,

The Broadbeach Travel Inn service team appreciate the time you have taken to review our property. I am greatly disappointed that your stay was not a memorable experience.

I would like to first start of by apologising that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The maintenance manager immediately once receiving this review has rectified some of the issues with the room. As you noted our 1 bedroom pacific apartments are refurbished and fitted with new curtains. The timber blinds in our 2 bedroom apartments are currently being reviewed and as such management are looking to replace them with new fittings as soon as possible. Thank you for the enlighten comments in regard to the views and size of our apartments, in addition, I am pleased that your received friendly and helpful service. Our staff members are very experienced and knowledgeable in relation to customer service.

Once again thank you for your feedback. It is invaluable to achieving comfortable rooms for future guests. The team hopes to have you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Milena Malic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    29
    18
    36
See reviews for
29
30
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

we should have been warned about being in middle of construction zone.and of managements lack of policy regarding parties and boom boxes also of the fights in forecourt.the units were filthy bedding stained curtins covered in dust I don't think there has ever been a lux behind doors broken floor tiles with very sharp edges electric jug wires exposed doors that don't lock and how does one cook a meal in a fully ecq kitchen with only 1 pot.in 7 nights we never had a full sleep and spent as much time away as possible.if we had an option we would have left strieght away. BEWARE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murray r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach T, General Manager at Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
HI murray r ,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. It is always appreciated that we receive feedback from our guests. This can assist us in future training of our staff, and Management procedures.
Your comments and feedback regarding the room itself have been forwarded to our Maintenance manager for urgent attention.
In relation to the loud music, and fellow guests, it is stated on our website that we do encourage a no party policy. This particular matter was brought to our attention first thing, the very next morning, and was dealt with accordingly.
The current Light Rail infrastructure that is occurring throughout the Gold Coast, is for the benefit of future tourism industry. We are lucky that our property is not as close to the Light Rail roadwork's, as some other properties. As such, not hindering your accessibility to our hotel and the surrounding attractions.
We here at Broadbeach Travel Inn thank you for choosing our property for you recent holiday, and if there is any questions that you have prior to your next stay with us, please, do not hesitate in contacting the team.
Kind Regards,
Milena Malic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Broadbeach hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay here with my partner for 8 days last month. Overall a good experience for the budget we have for stay.

Highlights:
1. Lovely reception staff, they have helped assist with a special request to arrange a bottle of wine with cheese and crackers for our arrival. I particularly was impressed with the cheese selection they got for us considering the budget given.
2. Not the best view ever but it was really great to be up in the highest floor - 7th floor
3. Very close to main landmarks like Dracula, pacific fair, the oasis, Jupiter casino, grocery store and bottle shop and lots and lots of amazing restaurant and bar.
4. Maintenance and reception worked well together to get our shower to get fixed.
5. the kitchen and lounge and dinning area are well equipped and tidy.
6. lots of TV channels and Sky which are free.
7. good airconditioning/ heatpump.
8. 2 storey apartment and the bedroom is upstairs which is always good to be separate from the kitchen.

downfalls:
1. we had 3 single beds and 2 beds where combined to 1 - this is great and big but the mattress was not a little hard. took me a while to get used to it.
2. the dryer kept stopping and it was a mission to dry our clothes it stops and starts automatically which probably a safety feature but it was a mission for a few clothes to get dried.
3. we couldn't use the iron, it was leaking.
4.not a 24 hour reception
5.using the phone calls where more expensive than I have expected.
6. the outdoor pool is not heated - didn't get to swim at all. it was too cold for our liking.

Overall, a good experience specially if you have a set budget for your accommodation, Kudos! to the friendly staff despite the issues of the facilities that they cannot control, they do try their best to help you the best way they can.

Room Tip: get the higher floor with a view also the refurbished room as some rooms are outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach T, General Manager at Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Princess R,
Thank you for taking the time to make a contribution to our trip advisor review page. The guest service team and maintenance manager were both very pleased to hear the kind remarks you made about them. We always strive to make everyone’s holiday the best it can be with what we have to offer.
I do hope that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade into one of our roof top apartments that comes standard with a king zip and single bed. I’m sorry to hear that there were a few problems with your room that went unnoticed. We would have been happy to replace the iron for you and look into fixing the dryer. As such, a communal laundry area is provided for all in-house guests. Our rooms are not advertised having laundry facilities; however some apartments still have them.
The front of house team looks forward to welcoming you back again on your future travels and thank you for the feedback.
King Regards,
Milena Malic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rooms are basic and location is right on the highway, With lots of road noise. The street behind the hotel also has the local police station, meaning you hear a few sirens overnight.

On the plus side it is located very close to the beach within five minutes walking distance, Perfect for a cheap stay if attending the Gold Coast conference centre. There are a few very good restaurants close by that are open for breakfast lunch and dinner, And there is Woolworth supermarket close by for anything you might need.

Undercover car parking that is locked up secured is also provided at no extra charge.

Although basic and having an uncomfortable bed it is worth the price paid.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ozzztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach T, General Manager at Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi ozzztraveler,
It’s good to hear from another guest the benefits of our location. We are certainly lucky to be in the centre of Broadbeach. I’m glad that this was of use to you for the purpose of your trip

The current road works occurring unfortunately are not within our control; this is not only affecting our property but many others. We are glad that the undercover car parking pleased you. The beds here are king zipped in order to provide options for other guests because we are a 3 and a half star property.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Milena Malic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently had family reunion at the Gold Coast and all paid $200 plus for a two bedroom unit per night. In all, we had four units. Although we were there as a family unit they managed to have us split between floors and not within what we considered a reasonable distance apart all the while for well knowing that some members of the family travelled from as far away as Perth and North Queensland.

We were under the assumption that the rooms had been renovated however in actual fact it appeared that all that was done was a bit of new carpet and a basic revamp of the kitchens. The tiles where dated along with lighting and blinds. It was really cold the weekend we where there and only two rooms had heating the other two rooms were extremely cold and didn't have enough warm blankets to suit.

Apartments had plumbing for a washing machine/laundry tub however neither of those items were there. While showering or washing up the pipes where loud and noisy. Would only recommend these apartments for location to shops and casino. Not for a comfortable family stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjwilliams06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach T, Manager at Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi tjwilliams06,
Thank you for your recent review on our property, we appreciate your feedback as it enables our accommodation to grow. It’s cheerful to hear that you were happy with the location of our hotel. I would like to start off by apologising that your stay wasn’t as happy as you wanted it to be and that your family were apart from each other. Sometimes we are limited in our capacity to locate multiple rooms together as we only have 2 two bedroom apartments per floor. Thus at times it’s difficult, however in the future I will look to personally make sure families are closer together.

I have duly noted down the complaints with the apartment and reported the noise issues to the maintenance manager and he will look to rectify it as soon as possible. Our 2 bedroom pacific apartments are in fact only softly refurbished, this term can be confusing to guests but we do try our best to explain what has actually been done. All apartments come standard with an air-conditioner in the main area. It is a shame to hear that you were left cold for the night and that not enough blankets were available in the room (that’s unlike Gold Coast weather if I might say). Our guest service team would have been happy to supply extra blankets. A common laundry area is located on ground floor which is positively received by all guests that have stayed.

Our property is going through a refurbishment phase, in which we are continually striving to improve our apartments and your feedback will be valuable to achieving that.

Yours sincerely,

Milena Malic General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is completely shambles I would not recommend this at all.

The place is dirty, everything is broken and old, the staff are unhelpful and unpleasant.

The only thing good about this place is the location. But honestly pay the extra dollars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devondalemilk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great little down to earth apartment situated right opposite Jupiters in Broadbeach, this place was a very nice, clean and practical place to stay. Medium price cost about $240 for four of us in a 2 bedroom apartment $60 each.Was very spacious and had everything we needed. Though it was not alldecked out in the latest decor, it was clean, tidy, nothing was broken and shower, toilet and aircon worked well. Would be good for a family as the accomodation has all cooking facilities to make a few meals. Though there was no oven there was the basics, a microwave, and hotplates, toaster, crockery and cutlery. Recommended to families / friends on a medium budget. While you'r there go to Draculas right down the rd on pacific highway about 5 minutes walk, its great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank glassyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#16 of 21 in Broadbeach
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Sands Resort
Aruba Sands Resort
#18 of 21 in Broadbeach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
Pacific Resort Broadbeach
#17 of 21 in Broadbeach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments

Property: Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments
Address: 2651 Gold Coast Hwy, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly dbeach Travel Inn Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments is ideally situated in Broadbeach and within minutes you can be relaxing, indulging in some retail therapy, or enjoying a coffee and some delicious food, great night life abounds at the Casino, the shows and the clubs, a bus ride away are all the theme parks and extreme sports – experience the Gold Coast Life Style and take in a leisurely cruise or a speed boat ride about half an hour or more away you can experience the uniqueness of the Australian bush and rainforests and enjoy some spectacular landscapes formed over millions of years ago or mix business and pleasure with the Convention Centre only minutes away, do all the hard work first and then spend some time to unwind with colleagues, friends and family, and start work again rearing to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Broadbeach
Broadbeach Best Western
Broadbeach Travel Inn Apartments Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing