We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Star Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

While the building looks a little old and out dated it is well maintained and very clean. The rooms are updated, fresh and modern with comfortable beds and linen. Service in all areas of Jupiters is exceptional. Any large organizations - this is a perfect place to hold a conference with excellent organization and catering and function rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear NathL88

We are delighted to hear your recent stay with us was so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to provide this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters Hotel & Casino and the Gold Coast in the future.

Kind regards
Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    650
    330
    131
    99
See reviews for
261
716
69
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Treated well on arrival. The only problem we had was where to stop at the entrance as there were a lot of cars everywhere and a bit if confusion. Room was lovely as was the bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the room. The buffet was great. Lovely get away for a couple retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear tps_13

We are delighted to hear your recent stay with us was so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to provide this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters Hotel & Casino and the Gold Coast in the future.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

booked a night in jupiters just to get away. really enjoyed the location in broadbeach had a wander around in the afternoon not as manic as surfers paradise and enjoyed a glass of wine near the beach.
the hotel itself has a lovely pool with lots of sun loungers wasnt too busy as it was out of season but nice enough to have a swim in the sun. there is massages available on site never had one but good to know for anyone wanting a pamper weekend.
on the night we had a pub meal in The PA and stayed to listen to the band that were in turned out to be really good had everyone up and dancing really good atmosphere mixture of age groups played until pretty late so would definitely recommend this one for a drinks or two.
next we tried our luck in the casino, now been from the uk where its pretty cheap even in the casinos and not been a big gambler i found the roulette tables quite pricy and could burn through money easily. stayed in there for about an hour it was good and if your a regular casino goer am sure its fine.
hotel room was really nice had all the amenities described in the hotel room description was comfortable and roomy no complaints really. downside was the queue for breakfast in the morning seemed quite disorganised and service couldve done with a little improvement but the food was nice enough.

would recommend to couples or groups of friends looking for a night away and a bit of a party.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear deana c

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Gold Coast and stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is very satisfying to read your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with fantastic accommodation while they are travelling for business or pleasure.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back again one day soon to Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a king room with terrace,room was comfortable if looking a little dated.Staff were friendly and attentive.Restuarants in the hotel are looking a little tired,food and service is okay but not special.Much nicer restuarants can be found at Broadbeach a few minutes away on the monorail.
Casino is very tired looking and lacks any sense of a classy establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the building with a terrace are more spacious and great to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgthmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear pgthmt

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Jupiters.

I was concerned to hear that our usually high standards have not been met particularly with regard to your experience at our Restaurants and I sincerely apologise for your unsatisfactory experience with us. Whilst it is disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we believe it is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence. I have forwarded your comments through to the respective Managers for review and consideration, thank you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters again soon and above all meeting your expectations.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

As locals we have stayed at the hotel many times over the years but last night's stay will be our last.

The hotel appears to have a combination of renovated and unrenovated rooms. Unfortunately last night we stayed in an unrenovated room facing west overlooking the pool. The beach facing rooms appear to be renovated to a higher standard.
While the pool, Mor amenities and facilities were all excellent our room was small, stuffy and old style. Next time we will try a more exciting new hotel such as Peppers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear TiffyW_11

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

Your feedback is extremely important to us and is an essential tool in ensuring we are not only able to meet but continually improve our service and overall customer experience.

Please be assured I have forwarded your comments with regards to your room onto the appropriate Manager for his review and consideration.

Again, thank you for letting us know.

Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights for the Gold Coast Marathon. My boyfriend booked this hotel and I was looking forward to it as up until a year ago I travelled every month to the GC for work and this hotel was always too expensive to stay in. When we arrived at 10am our room wasn't ready, which was fine as we were early and we were told they would text us. We had changed phone numbers in the months since we booked and gave them our new number, but at 2pm we had not received a text so went back to find out they text our old number anyway. The room was average, the bed uncomfortable unless you like soft mattresses. Then we went to use the pool. There was a sign to say it was closed for maintenance. We phoned the operator to see whether it would open again that evening to find out it was closed until the 12th - we had not been told this at check-in, there were pool towels still in the room and the sign by the pool did not indicate it was closed long term. We do not normally spend time in hotel pools but as we had come for the marathon this was really important to us when choosing a hotel and we would have booked elsewhere if we had known. On the plus side the concierge were really friendly and helpful giving us tips for when we went to the mountains. It is also well located to Broadbeach where we ate in a great Tapas restaurant. I think this hotel has really seen it's day and in terms of value for money I think there are much better places to stay on the GC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniveve200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jenniveve200

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

Whilst it is disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we believe it is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence. Please be assured I have forwarded your comments onto the relevant Managers for their review, thank you.

Please accept my apologies for where we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards
Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I took part in the Gold Coast Marathon and the hotel was recommended by the organisers. I'd heard good reviews from people and expected a good stay in a quality hotel, needless to say I was disappointed.

To start with, the king bed room I'd booked months ago was no longer available and only doubles remained. The pool was closed for refurb (great weekend to start that) and the gym opening hours were too restrictive to utilise pre-race or the night before.
Bar service was awful. I visited 3 bars in the hotel, fairly early in the evening and the two largest both had staff members stood around watching each other and ignoring customers to the point I had to wave to the person right in front of me to get served. The 'Food Fantasy" buffet has a good selection of breakfast food, but is overpriced.

The worst part of the stay was not being able to get any sleep due to the lack of sound dampening in the rooms which doesn't insulate against the bar music or neighbouring rooms. When you have to get up at 4 to race, that's a major pain.
To be fair, this review is probably biased by the fact I was staying for a race at a lively Casino. However, if you can't cater for people who aren't going to be up drinking all night, maybe you shouldn't advertise a marathon package...

I always try to take something positive away form a stay and not try to be negative for the sake of it, so I'm sure this place would be fine if you were there for the Casino or a show, just not what we needed it for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiters, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Greg J


Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Jupiters.

I was concerned to hear that our usually high standards have not been met and I sincerely apologise for your unsatisfactory experience with us. Whilst it is disheartening to receive this kind of feedback, we believe it is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence. I have forwarded your comments through to the respective Managers for review and consideration, thank you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters again soon and above all meeting your expectations and restoring your faith.


Kind regards

Jan Kalendra
Sales Manager - Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Gold Coast

Property: The Star Gold Coast
Address: Cnr Gold Coast Highway & TE Peters Drive | Broadbeach Island, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Hotel & Casino Gold Coast)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Star Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned amongst seven stunning acres of landscaped gardens, The Star Gold Coast is ideally located on Broadbeach Island, just minutes from the heart of Broadbeach. Discover some of the world's best beaches, only a short stroll or revel in the nearby Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping centres. Alternatively, relax in 5 star luxury in the stunning new swimming pool or for a touch of indulgence, a massage. Offering a range of first class entertainment, including a wide range of restaurants, bars and the never ending excitement of the casino, The Star Gold Coast combines world-class facilities and 24-hour entertainment with the luxury of an international hotel. 596 Rooms provide sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean and Gold Coast Hinterland. With so much under the one roof, what will you get up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Star Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Hotel And Casino Gold Coast
Conrad Hotel Jupiters
Conrad Broadbeach
Conrad Jupiters
Broadbeach Conrad
The Star Gold Coast Broadbeach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing