We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good vibe...”
Review of Boonchu Thai

Boonchu Thai
Ranked #77 of 279 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, good vibe...”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nestled in amongst the big dollar, coolness of Broady's strip you'll find Boonchu. The Hotbox tells you straight away that you won't find Boonchu in any Michelin guide. But for good Thai at realistic prices without any pretension at all, this is the place.

You'll get a huge serve of food - three plates between four will probably do you fine - and you pretty much can't miss with the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_in_hokkaido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Best Thai in Qld”
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Great, great, great. The crew here really care about fresh and quality ingredients. If you care about good quality food and tasty hearty food then this place is for you. My partner and I eat here atleast once a month...and we don't generally eat out much because most places serve rubbish food that is overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyandNoemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local favourite”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We are regulars to Boonchu Thai, it's affordable and delicious. We get a large plate ($18) and a couple of springs rolls and it's enough to feed our family of 2 adults and a toddler.
The boonchu chicken is so so good! Our 3 year old LOVES it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mumtobe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite and good value”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We often pop to Boonchu with the kids for a quick dinner. The fried rice is big enough for our girls to share and then we usuall get another dish and rice for two adults to share. The food tastes good and is fairly authentic, although not hot authentic like real Thai food. Quick service and friendly staff add to the atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cassnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Affordable casual and excellent food. Staff are so friendly. I would definitely eat here again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boonchu Thai also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Boonchu Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing