We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RockSalt Modern Dining - CLOSED

RockSalt Modern Dining
Cuisines: Australian, Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday night and had a great time. It has a casual atmosphere and the food was delicious. We had the 5 course degustation and each course was lovely. The ravioli and dumplings were particularly great. As there are many restaurants around that area we weren't sure what we were going to get but it was definitely a pleasant surprise.

We didn't have to wait long for each course and the staff were brilliant. We definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    63
    22
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small portions, high prices, average taste.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We went here being reccomended by trip advisor as the best restaurant in the area. We were quite dissapointed with the experience. The margerhitas were average, the bread cost 9$ (1 small loaf with butter), the pork belly portions were ~100grams and had little flavor. This place does not deserve to be ranked the best food for anywhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thesauseboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Off wine and bland food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were recommended to eat here by friends who said that the food was amazing. The entree was good, and the mains came out timely, but the food was altogether bland. I sent back a wine that was off but was still charged for it - even though the bartender swilled the entire glass behind the bar. For the price there's so many better places to eat on the coast eg The Fish House! Would not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Bigeater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a must visit if your looking for the best fine food on the coast at great prices , i took advantage of the $65 three course lunch special , with a glass of wine ,and every dish was a absolute treat ,I had the quail , for entree ,. Ocean trout ravioli and scallops for main and the choclate parfait for desert , each dish was pure heaven on a fork ,absolultly fautless topped of by excellent freindly knowedgable waiters . i will return with my wife for sure , as I was a lone dinner at this restaurant ,waiting for my wife and daughters to finish formal dress shopping on a very wet saturday , I was so glad i stopped here for lunch i was welcomed in by the very freindly waiters and made fell extremly comfortable from the get go ,i woundt normmally go it alone in a restaraunt , but so glad i did , thank you rocksalt for one of the best meals i have had on the coast look forward to a second vist on our next trip to the coast well done

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandersonsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sensational degustation experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the 8 course degustation dinner to celebrate a friends birthday. I thought 8 courses would be far too much food but each course is smaller than an entree and we didn't start feeling full until about the 6th course. While the restaurant itself is quite small and the decor leaves a bit to be desired don't let appearances fool you. The service was excellent, in particular our waiter Elliot was knowledgeble and entertaining through the whole experience.

The food itself was delicious, particularly the scallop wanton and beef course. The only course that nobody at our table liked was the quail, which had a really unusual apricot sauce that we all agreed did not work with the dish.

All in all it was an excellent and really memorable dinner, but be prepared to spend $200 for the 8 course degustation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockSalt Modern Dining also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing