We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aruba Surf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
$162
$148
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
$214
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meriton Suites Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
$183
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Grande Apartments(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gold Coast Inn(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
96
77
30
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
77
30
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersno liftgreat locationquiet streetwashing machinenice swimming poolsix nightspacific fairthe gold coastjupiters casinowithin walking distancebbq areathe ground floorshort walk to the beachshops and restaurantsair conditioninghigh rise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 217 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent facilities (kitchen, washer, dryer, etc) and handy location for everything (beach, shopping, restaurants and golfing.
Only one wet day in 8 - not bad for winter :)
Too many courses to recommend. Emerald Lakes. Hope Island was the most expensive and a bit snooty, but the best

Room Tip: We were at the back on the second floor. More stairs but very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi Frank
Thank you so much for taking time to review Aruba Surf Resort.
Great that you enjoyed your stay!! we are happy to try accomodate guests in a ground floor apartment on availability.
The resort is in a great location, it was great that you enjoyed the golf!!
Look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked directly with the Aruba Surf and it was quick and easy.They also offered to organise our shuttles to and from Gold Coast Airport which was great. On arrival we checked in quickly and were given a package of pamphlets to help plan our activities while on the Gold Coast. Our 1 Bedroom Apartment suited us perfectly and had all the features we required.It was quiet and we were not woken by leaf blowers and noisy implements as is sometimes the case. Aruba Surf is close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and bus routes. I was especially happy with the built-in hairdrier in the bathroom/Laundry which saved packing mine. The pool and spa were well used as was the TV and it had many sattelite channels to choose from. The kitchen was well-appointed and the bed was very comfy. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We will return, hopefully soon

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are our choice and are very quiet despite being near the resort entry
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Sharolyn
Thank you for taking the time to review the Aruba Surf Resort, we are so pleased that we were able to accomodate your needs for your stay. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Aruba Surf Resort for a week and could not fault the location or service in any way! The managers were just lovely and friendly, always smiling and providing great customer service.
The hotel room was spacious, tidy and had everything we needed for our stay.
The Aruba Surf Resort is close to the beach and only a few minutes walk away from shops and restaurants.
I would highly recommend the Aruba Surf Resort to anyone staying in Broadbeach. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelP859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We are always so pleased to that guests enjoyed their stay, it is so rewarding so thank you. We do aim to pleased as this makes it all worthwhile, we do hope you return to Aruba Surf Resort as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This has a great location with excellent amenities. The helpful and informed managers couldn't do enough for us. Would highly recommend as a family destination with plenty of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We appreicate you taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future. We do appreciate your comments, we enjoy the service that we can provide as much as much as you enjoyed receiving it. Kind Regards Denise & Stuart McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had been on a packaged tour of Australia, and had been staying in luxurious 4-star hotels in 4 other major cities, prior to staying here at Aruba Surf Resort for 6 nights. After the confines of a guided tour, we wanted the freedom of being able to explore more of the beaches and sights of Australia on our own, with a rental car, and also try to cut down on some of our costs, by having the option to cook and eat some meals in our place in Broad Beach, so our travel agent found Aruba Surf Resort for us. When we first walked in to our assigned unit/apartment/condo, we were somewhat disappointed, by what we saw, based on what we had been used to, in the fancy hotels that we had just been staying in for several weeks. The extremely bright decorating colors were a bit shocking, in contrast to the clean whites and tan colors, that we had found in the nicely modern decorated four-star hotels that we had just been staying in, for the past three weeks. Our unit at Aruba Surf Resort had bright, turquoise blue, unpadded, flat, indoor – outdoor carpeting. The walls and counters were bright oranges, yellows, and turquoise. Although I realize that this is a beach area building, the colors were “pretty hard on the eyes…” My wife is a very positive person, and quickly put the correct spin on this, and said: “It is what it is!”
The nice thing about our condo rental here at Aruba Surf Resort, was its short walking proximity to the beaches. It was just two long blocks away from the beach, so it was easy to get to the beach, and still be able to leave the rental car safely parked away in the free, secured underground parking garage. It was a major plus, to find that we had a mini clothes washer and dryer in the bathroom. Since we had been traveling for three weeks in warm, humid weather, it was really nice to be able to do several loads of laundry, and have fresh, clean clothing again. The kitchen had everything you needed, for some eat–in meals. Although all the kitchen appliances were on the small side (like for a single student, studio apartment), they were adequate for our needs, to take care of some simple breakfasts, snack type lunches, and a pizza for dinner (small oven and stove top, refrigerator, microwave – see several attached pictures of the accommodations). This building was in a quiet neighborhood, and there was a very relaxing spa/Jacuzzi and pool on the front of the property. The unit was clean, and the building and grounds were obviously well maintained. Unfortunately they did not provide free Internet Wi-Fi, but charged an additional fee for that, that was more than we wanted to pay for that. Since we were paying what we would consider expensive hotel rates for this condo, we were a bit surprised (negatively) that the room would not be cleaned while we stayed, until we checked out after six nights, and found that only one roll of toilet paper was provided for the week (extra rolls at a premium charge), 1 roll of paper towels, and only two very tiny little bars of soap and one tiny little bottle of poor-quality shampoo, considering that there were three sinks (kitchen, bathroom, laundry sinks) and a shower, for the two tiny bars of soap. While we had planned to go shopping for groceries, we didn't expect to also have to buy toilet paper, soap, paper towels, etc., considering what we were already paying for the unit. Another drawback was that while there was an LCD TV in the living room, with cable channels, there was no TV at all in the bedroom, where a flat screen LCD could easily have been mounted on the bedroom wall. The mattress on the bed was actually one of the worst we have encountered – it felt like sleeping on the hard, unyielding plastic mesh of a trampoline, with no soft padding.
We did have a good time in the area, and this was a good location to base our daily adventures from, but I think we would look for something more to our liking, next time in the area.

Room Tip: No elevator, so stairs from basement car parking to upper floors with suitcases or groceries can be difficult for older folks.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalibuFireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Aruba Surf Resort it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay, the carribean style is loved by most however we are aware it is not appealing to all. Aruba Surf Resort is advertised as self contained apartments it is unfair if you are not made aware of this on booking your accomodation. I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to Australia. Kind Regards Stuart & Denise McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews