We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Markham Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Markham Court
Ulverstone, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great accommodation and great location, will be recommending it to friends heading to the Gold Coast next year, easy to get around with the buses, nice and close to the Oasis with plenty of eating places and close to the beach

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for your genuine review on your recent stay in our Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for recommending our Resort to your friends.
We are fortunate to be in the most perfect location and will always offer good value for money. Looking forward seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    60
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
123
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

First of all the apartment was cheap which is a plus the room was nice besides a few things such as some of the lights not working, alot of stains on the carpet and the spa bath being dirty. We also had trouble with the live in resident which complained about bottles being thrown, when clearly they had not! We then had the late night manager up and we apologised as we didnt want any trouble. As it is a family resort we stuck by the rules and made sure that all noise was kept to a minimum. The next morning as we were all leaving we found our car in the 'secure' basement carpark had been completely blasted with a fire extinguisher. I then reported it to someone which I am guessing was the owner of the resort and she replied by saying that the live in resident had reported the extinguisher stolen. She also went on to blame our group by saying that maybe someone in our group of friends may have stolen the extinguisher and played a prank on us by spraying it all over our car (yes we are a younger group but we aren't immature nor disrespectful). After a few of us explained to her that no one in our group would do that, she then said sorry but she couldnt do anything as there is no security cameras in the basement carpark. I could hardly see anything when driving to a carwash which I had to pay for and I was completely upset as our stay was ruined. This may have been a one off but none of us will be staying at markham court again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank naomicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on your one night stay in our Resort. We are aware of the incident and after further investigation and after speaking to other guests, we understand that there is a conflict in stories on what happened. The occupants of one Unit are claiming that your party threw beer bottle tops and cigarette butts from the top floor to the ground floor. We have had this statement from several guests. They also suggested that some people in your party took a fire extinguisher and sprayed your car in the car park as a prank.
We also noticed that you left the apartment in a bad condition. There were empty bottles everywhere and no rubbish had been taken out neither. We will bare the costs for the extra cleaning in the Unit you stayed in and for the cleaning off the Car Park as there was more foam on the floor than on the car. We checked the lights in the Unit and they were all in working condition. All fans have a remote control, which need to be activated to switch the lights on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week and i will be recommending this Hotel to all my family and friends. The staff were so friendly and made you feel like you were at home. The Hotel is only a 4 minute walk away from the Oasis shopping mall and to the beach, The 3 bedroom apartment was so spacious for our family, and the furnishings were so homely. I will be going back next year for our family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Many thanks for posting this review on your recent stay in our Resort. Our Units are very spacious and are suitable for a family holiday. We are fortunate to be in a perfect location close to the beach, restaurants,Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino. All are within walking distance. We thank you for your feedback and for recommending us to your friends and family. Looking forward seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 13 for a week on a special rate. The apartment was spacious and spotless. It was well appointed with good furnishings and everything in the kitchen that we needed to entertain for family gatherings. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool is inviting. The complex is low-rise about 1 block from the restaurant strip of Boradbeach, two blocks from the beach and about a 15 min walk from Pacific Pines and the casino. Nice and quiet except for the groundsman who started his chainsaw a tad too early for holiday-makers.
If I had to make a small crtitisicm it is that water temprature in the en-suite shower was variable and the lack of a soap holder is not practical. But these are minor flaws compared to the overall value and appeal of the apartment. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizAndNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review on your recent stay in our Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We try to offer good value for money and were fortunate to be located in the best location on the Coast. We are close to all the restaurants, beach, Convention Centre and Jupiter's Casino. All our rooms are very large and suitable for a family holiday.
Many thanks for your comments on the grounds.
Hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Pretty cheep but you have to pay for air on and the pool Sign says pool open till 10 but the gate was locked at 9 just what you want after walking back from the restaurants no lift and some live in residents who are a bit scruffy

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karljcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
This review is incorrect and should never have been posted. We do not charge guests $5,- extra for Air-Conditioning. Proof should be provided before people can post something like this. Our Security Company closes the Pool area at 10pm in the Summer months and at 9pm in winter. These times are clearly displayed all around the pool area. We do not have live in residents neither.
This is not a genuine review on our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and it was lovely and quiet, the pool and spa area were excellent. But we were disappointed that it wasn't very clean and a bit tired. Little things that could have made it a 4-5 star stay such as the utensils in the kitchen were mostly old dirty and broken, the toilet door wouldn't shut, the lino floors in kitchen/bathroom/toilet hadn't been cleaned (when we moved the mat there was grunge under it), a couple of the outside plastic chairs were broken etc etc. Very spacious for the 5 of us - upstairs room had it's own balcony and bathroom. Great that it is located within walking distance to the beach, shopping areas, restaurants, Pacific Fair and bus stops. We found our own way around as the receptionist wasn't very knowledgeable about the bus routines or local info. Taking all this into account, it was good value for money and we will know, if we stay here again, what to expect.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs with all your gear then ask for a ground floor room, also a refurbishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucilou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. Unsure why it took four months to post this. We have gone through all our records and have been unable to find anything about a complaint made by anyone during that period. If a room is not cleaned properly we are happy to send the cleaners back in but this needs to be reported to us during your stay.
We are pleased that you mentioned that we offer good value for money. We are sure that the items you mentioned, which you say could have turned our resort from a 3.5 star to a 5 star could have easily been resolved if it was brought to the attention of Management.
We are pleased to hear that you are planning to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at Markham Court. We absolutely loved it and hope to come back again soon! The resort was beautifully maintained. It was very close to everything shops, restaurants and beaches. Fantastic value would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are already planning to come back. We will always try to offer good value for money. We thank you for complimenting our staff on keeping the grounds immaculate.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 35 in Broadbeach
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenician Resort - Broadbeach
0.9 mi away
Browns at Broadbeach
Browns at Broadbeach
#20 of 21 in Broadbeach
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Court

Property: Markham Court
Address: Markham Court 36 Australia Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Markham Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Markham Court offers fully self contained 2 Bedroom apartments and 3 Bedroom split level Penthouses with spa and wrap around balconies. Most apartments have air conditioning. The modern kitchens are equipped with microwave, dish washer, stove top, oven, fridge/freezer, crockery, cutlery and all cooking equipment. Beautiful outdoor pool and spa area with large barbeque and dining area. All apartments are equipped with washing machine and dryer. Linen, bath towels, soap, tea, coffee and milk starter kits are provided to the apartments. Markham Court apartments offer private balconies with outdoor furniture and views of the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Markham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markham Court Hotel Broadbeach
Markham Court Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing