We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST RESORT I HAVE EVER STAYED AT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Markham Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Markham Court
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST RESORT I HAVE EVER STAYED AT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Being a family on a budget, It was hard to find an affordable resort in a great location that is great value for money, but I would have to say this is the best resort we have ever stayed at. The apartments are amazing, we were so happy with ours. The staff were wonderful and so very helpful. Everything is so local and public transport is in easy walking distance for theme parks and any other areas we wanted to visit outside of Broadbeach. I would recommend staying here and next time we come to the Gold Coast we will be returning to Markham Court. We had a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yummymummy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday. We always try to offer good value for money. We have the perfect location and some fantastic apartments. All very big in size. We thank you for your review on our Resort. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Many thanks too for referring us and our Resort to other people. This is very important for us. Looking forward seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    59
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
121
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zeland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Markham. We had a three bedroom apartment with everything you could need and its was very spacious and clean. We have a grown family so it was great that everyone could have their own space. It is in a nice quiet location that is central to everything. The ladies in the office were lovely and very helpful - we did all our bookings for theme parks, etc through them. The only little thing that was not so great was that there is only one hot water cylinder and there was not enough for us (five adults) all to have showers in the morning - but we worked around it. Just a hint with regard to transfers from Gold Coast to Brisbane - we found it was cheaper to book a Limo than to have seats on a coach!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NanaNewZeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Had a terrible time with the hot water constantly running out. Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and the hotwater only lasted 11 1/2 minutes!! Complained to the manager and was told they didn't build the apartments and we would just have to stagger our showers!! Wouldn't offer a discount on stay, so when we said if we couldn't have hot showers we would have to check out was told that once we occupied the apartment they would not refund the money. This sums up the attitude of the management they had your money and didn't care what your stay was like. Here is a list of what was wrong with the apartment. Competely dated apartment, Old smelly stairwells, chipped and broken tiles in the kitchen, dinning room chair was broken and wobbley, lamp shade stained, curtains so badly faded that they were no longer the same colour, apartments behind complex are privately owned and we were woken twice once at 3.20am and again another night at 4am by neighbours having a party, plates and cups chipped, no hairdryer in the apartment, only 1 towel each for an 8 day stay, only 3/4 roll of toilet paper...........the list goes on. Choose somewhere else to stay as you will be very disappointed staying here in apartment 59.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milkt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Very unfair review. Unit has a new hot water system but the guests, five of them wanted to have a half hour shower each one fater another, have the washing machine on as well as the dishwasher. On their request and our expense we had a plumber inspect the hot water system and he could find no fault. Impossible for any manager to fix what is not broken. Guests did not complain about anything else and realised that they could not find a better value for money Unit in Broadbeach. We take any complaint very serious and always try to satisfy the client and rectify what is wrong. In this case we could not do anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were 2 adults and 4 children staying for a few days on the Gold Coast on our way back to Melbourne from Noosa.
The accommodation was quite dated with the taps being difficult to turn on & off. The apartment was not particularly clean including the cooking vessels so ate out apart from breakfast. When we arrived the first evening we had to ask the night managers to come as we had no overhead lighting in the main bedroom and the balcony off it. The managers were particularly lovely and helpful though.
Extra blankets in wardrobe still had previous guest's hairs on them. Retired to bed complete with welcoming cockroach at the end of it!!
We were only there for 3 nights so we managed but it would have been unpleasant if we had to stay longer. A few days earlier we had spent 3 nights in a beautiful & clean three bedroom apartment in Noosa, 5 minutes walk from the beach for the same price so were very disappointed in this Gold Coast property.
We would not recommend this place to anybody as I'm sure you can get much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graysland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkhamCourt1, Manager at Markham Court, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Markham Court. It is very unusual for us to get bad feedback but appreciate that you have taken the time to do so. The resort has a regular pest inspection. We can only apologise for the cockroach you noticed but sadly we can not control were they die. Our resort is sometimes very busy and we have often 15 to 20 arrivals in one day. Because of this, the cleaners still try to clean these Units to the best of their ability with the time they have available but might have overlooked a few items. The same must have happened with your outside light. We are sincerely sorry that this has happened. We can also see that you made a comparison on price with another resort in another district. Most of the reviews we received tell us that we always offer very good value for money. When comparisons are made it is very important to compare like for like, special deals etc.. Some resorts have low occupancy and have to offer below market value deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great value and excellent location, so close to the beach and shopping centres, also it was really easy to get to the theme parks from Markham Court. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saskia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

From the moment we contacted Markham Court to make the booking to the moment we left we had exceptional service from Lynn and staff.
The location is fantastic, walk five minutes to shops and the Beach.
We had a three bedroom Apartment for a family of 6. Four children ranging from 7 to 15.
A two level apartment with a huge bedroom with king size bed. Normally we are hard to please with beds, but this bed was so comfortable!
Having a full kitchen as well as washing machine and clothes dryer in the Apartment was
very convenient.
The pool and spa were enjoyed by us all. It was great to be able to use the BBQ's also.
So if you are looking for family friendly accomodation in a good location with excellent
customer service we would highly recommend Markham Court.

Thanks Lynn and Markham Court for making our much needed holiday from Christchurch NZ a thoroughly enjoyable one!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keza1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

As soon as I walked into the reception area of Markham Court my family and I were greeted by friendly staff who were more than helpful with advising us of where everything was, we had a 3 bedroom apartment which was 2 levels and was very spacious, I have a young family so a spacious apartment was definitely a bonus, the ausstar was great with a huge variety of channels, I found the rooms to be nice and clean, everything I needed was there the kitchen was well equipped, it was a treat to just chill out near the pool with the kids daily, the bbq area was always very clean as most nights we would eat there. I could not have asked for a better spot in regards to location there was a park across the road, 3 minutes walk and we were in the hub of it all restaurants, Woolworths, the beach and a carousel for the kids just to name a few. All in all we had a great holiday and will definitely return one day

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfundayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#18 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Aruba Sands Resort
Aruba Sands Resort
#16 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenician Resort - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Court

Property: Markham Court
Address: 36 Australia Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Markham Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Markham Court offers fully self contained 2 Bedroom apartments and 3 Bedroom split level Penthouses with spa and wrap around balconies. Most apartments have air conditioning. The modern kitchens are equipped with microwave, dish washer, stove top, oven, fridge/freezer, crockery, cutlery and all cooking equipment. Beautiful outdoor pool and spa area with large barbeque and dining area. All apartments are equipped with washing machine and dryer. Linen, bath towels, soap, tea, coffee and milk starter kits are provided to the apartments. Markham Court apartments offer private balconies with outdoor furniture and views of the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Markham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markham Court Hotel Broadbeach
Markham Court Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing