We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Kiwis will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Pacific
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Kiwis will be back!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights. We had previously been in August last year and decided to return for the view. Last year I found the bathroom floor was filthy but this year the place was spotless! We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 19th floor, great views of the ocean and school from front of balcony, and homes, hotels and streets to the south from the side of the balcony. The unit was very clean, very spacious and had plenty of seating. Personal laundry is a great idea, needed the dryer in the humidity! Hint: The metal bead across the floor of the shower entrance isn't sealed, perhaps it should be to avoid water running underneath it? The pool area was great and my husband made use of the gym equipment daily. The sun patio is good, keeps the heat away from the lounge and the air conditioning is nice and quiet. I liked the idea that we provided our own necessities after the complimentaries ran out. It made the place seem very safe and secure knowing staff weren't entering when we went there, made it very homely. This fact is widely advertised so I'm surprised some people have complained. Washing a couple of towells isn't rocket science aye! The hotel's close to amenities we love: casino (usually for donations), pacific fair for retail therapy, the beach, and surf clubs galore! It's a very short walk to a veritable pot pourri of restaurants and bars, all in all a great location. The staff were great to deal with, no check in/check out problems, no hidden costs and there's secure underground parking. All in all its a great place to stay, we could choose to be busy, or relax in the peace; we'll be back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorty24121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
It is honest feedback and support from guests such as the "Kiwis' that get us up and out of bed each day to welcome new guests and say goodbye to those moving on or returning home. We have the privelege of living and working in a Resort in one of the best locations in Australia and we never take it gor granted. Despite our best intentions, some things can and do fall between the cracks and we can't please all of the people all of the time. Thankfully, we do get it right most of the time and is why the 'Kiwis' and our other valued guests keep coming back. That our guests take the time and effort to provide their feedback on Trip Advisor means they understand and care about the importance of a valid critique about their experience with us. After all, our No 1 Rating is based entirely on what our guests say about us. For this we are truely grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    213
    44
    6
    4
See reviews for
368
267
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This review is for our stay in a one-bedroom apartment back in November 2011. With largely positive reviews here, we thought it would be a good experience, and it turned out to be so.

As per usual, I read all of the reviews available here on Tripadvisor, so, I knew roughly what to expect, prior to our arrival. If you want a modern apartment in a quiet location, then, this is the place for you to stay.

APARTMENT: We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment (without a study) which was great. We did pay extra to stay in an apartment with ocean views, as we'd never had the luxury of having such views before. Was it worth it? I'd say, yes, it was, but, admittedly, I don't think it was the most stunning oceanviews that I could possibly imagine, however, I would go for this option again in the future, if I can afford it.

Everything was clean and tidy, and we did not have a problem with anything there. The kitchen was clean, and so was the bathroom. With the shower (clear glass) beside the toilet, you better feel comfortable with your travelling partners or else, you'll need to take turns in the bathroom to avoid any embarrassment!

The bed was comfortable, but, one important note was that the bedroom was very hot in the morning and with the sun rising very early each morning (please note that this was in early November, so, it may be a different case entirely during other times of the year), it made it difficult for me to sleep in, but, this was not an issue with my travelling partner. I found the lounge room was never as hot as the bedroom though, so, sometimes, I liked to sleep on the couch instead.

For families or those who will be staying for a little longer: It's great because they supply you with a washing machine and dryer. They also provided a clothes drying rack, which was very handy (and something I've not seen provided before elsewhere), as you could place your towels or clothes onto it, and pop it out on the balcony for them to dry.

We did not opt for our room to be cleaned daily, as this was at an extra cost. Instead, we cleaned the apartment ourselves, and also, cleaned it upon exit, so, that we would not be charged any cleaning fees. This was not any issue, as they supply a vacuum cleaner.

SOME NOTES: Previous reviews (especially those more recent ones) comment about how few things are provided like toilet paper (I think we had only two rolls), a little packet of detergent, washing powder, etc. This is definitely something that is true, but, we had read all of the reviews here and also, the information that we received via email, so, it hardly came as a surprise. I admit though, that it was a bit annoying that there wasn't even any cooking oil provided, as it seems a bit strange to buy a whole bottle of oil (or packet of salt, etc.) for a short stay, but, we were realistic and understood full well that it was a "self-catering apartment", which literally means as it reads. So, this is something to take into consideration, but, as long as you're aware of what you're up for, you shouldn't have any problems.

ONE TIP: Thanks to one review here that mentioned that scissors were not included as part of the kitchen utensils, I made sure that we brought some scissors, and thank goodness we did because our apartment truly did not have any scissors (which are quite vital, if you're wanting to open items), so, reading reviews is definitely worth your while!

LOCATION: I really liked the location. It is on the side of Broadbeach that is closer to Pacific Fair (the large shopping mall), which is "across the road", and only about five minutes walking distance away. This is fantastic, as you can just pop over to Coles (supermarket) to purchase groceries and other essentials, but, also, go shopping at the many stores there. Thursday night is late night shopping, which is good if you want to fit in a bit of shopping.

For restaurants, there is none at Ocean Pacific (which was not of any issue to us), but, across the road is Mantra Sierra Grand, which has three restaurants underneath (i.e. a Thai, Indian, and Japanese restaurant, which all seemed very popular, especially on the weekends), but we did not dine at them. There is also a small local shop along the row of small shops at the Mantra Bel Air, where we picked up a newspaper occasionally. Entertainment-wise, it is within walking distance to Dracula's, but, we also didn't go to the show.

The location is quiet, which is great if you want a good night's rest! But, you are not so far away from Oasis Mall, which houses Woolworths (the other major supermarket - it closes at 6PM on Sundays, which is very early and surprising to us!) and other stores, including many cafes and restaurants in that area. It's really only about 10 minutes walk away (on a flat road), so, it is definitely in a good location, but away from all the "noise" of the cafes/restaurants.

TRANSPORT: If you are driving, there is free parking, but, we relied on the public transport system, and it was in a good location to catch the buses to the theme parks, Surfers Paradise, etc.

I was worried about catching the bus #702 from the Airport (a BUDGET option, and easy to catch) and not knowing where to get off the bus, but, I used Google Maps and managed to work out where to stop. If you're coming from the Airport, the bus stop is opposite the Mantra Bel Air Hotel, or, another "landmark" that I knew was that, once you saw the "Broadbeach" sign indicating you had arrived in Broadbeach, the bus stop straight after the sign was where you needed to alight from the bus. Thanks to the eye-catching and "different look" of the Ocean Pacific Resort, it was very easily recognisable from across the road at the bus stop, so, we knew where to go.

If you are going to the theme parks or to Surfers Paradise and so forth, the bus stop is the one where you would alight from the bus from the Airport (i.e. the bus stop opposite the Mantra Bel Air Hotel). If you are heading back to Ocean Pacific Resort, the bus stop is outside the Mantra Bel Air Hotel. That is also the bus stop to catch the #702 bus back to the Airport.

SERVICES & FACILITIES: There is a swimming pool, spa and a kid's wading pool. We found the pool to be quite nice. There is also a games room, which is something we also haven't found elsewhere, so, it's a good option for kids to enjoy indoors.

Ocean Pacific offers a lot of brochures to many tourist sights/attractions, and Mary (the manager) was nice in offering assistance, but, because we had everything planned out prior to our stay, we never made use of the tour booking service available, although, it was appreciated.

Internet: I enquired about internet charges (they have a computer available close to the reception area, and also, internet in your room), but, the staff member at Reception advised that using the internet in Pacific Fair would be cheaper, so, that's the option we went for instead.

Take note that Reception has limited hours on the weekends, so, there is not staff available for the whole day on Sunday, for example, but, this was no problem for us, as we did not require any assistance.

FACILITIES WE DID NOT USE (and hence, can't comment on): Sauna, parking, internet, BBQ beside the swimming pool, and gym.

Overall, we would certainly stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, opt for an apartment with oceanviews, but, it will be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breath-of-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
The effort these guests have gone to in their review is very gratifying and gives an excellent overview of our Resort. We certainly thank them for their time and commitment.

Certainly living on the Gold Coast and having uninterupted ocean views (east facing) means we get fantastic sunrises. We do have ducted airconditioning which can be cranked up to make for a more relaxing sleep on hot nights and sunny early mornings.

On the matter of 'guest amenities' on arrival, health regulations only permit us to provide the very basics, such as tea, coffee, laundry & bathroom sachets which must remain new/unopened. we are not permitted to leave any 'opened' foodstuffs because of the risk of contamination and bacteria etc. For this reason, 'self-catering' apartments requires guests to be responsible for supplying all their own food and ingredients for cooking purposes. For our part, we provide designer kitchens with the latest appliances and all crockery, cutlery and cookware etc.

We pride ourselves on striving to deliver the best possible experience for all our guests. Our No 1 Trip Advisor ranking for speciality accommodation in Broadbeach, means we get this right 9 times out of 10. Tthis is certainly a record we will diligently protect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Ocean Pacific. I was attending a conference and my partner and I stayed a couple of extra days.

Its a 5 to 10 minute walk to various directions to the beach, restaurants, the convention centre, Jupiters and the wonderful Pacific Fair shopping mall. The apartment we stayed in was really nice, spacious, modern with a good size balcony. The bedding was of a good quality, nice pillows and bed covers, but the bed wasn't that comfortable (two bases, two mattresses to make a kingsize ?). While the bathroom was very stylish and well laid-out, sadly the water pressure was terrible (and we were on the first floor).

The supplies were stingy for a non-serviced apartment. Only two towels, one laundry powder sachet, and a couple of sachets each of dishwasher and detergent. Oh, ... and a tiny carton of milk in the fridge.

The pool area was nice, but fairly compact. The barbeque area and steam room are great bonuses. We didn't use the games room, but it looked really well equipped and spacious. There was a large information display in the foyer, but no info folder in the room which would have been handy.

The customer service was strange. There was one young woman who we dealt with who was professional, friendly and customer focussed. But the rest of the staff, including those who checked us in, were indifferent, and not in the least bit friendly.

Even though the customer service was patchy, we liked this place a lot and would stay again. Shame about the service though.

Room Tip: While our view of the pool and park beyond was nice, a higher floor with a sea view would be awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenWelington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback which we have noted. Customer service and attention to detail are critical to us which is why we rank continuously at No 1 in Broadbeach on Trip Advisor for this criteria. That you did not experience this is both an exception and a disappointment to us which will be taken on board. We are sorry that you had 'water pressure' problems in your unit. Had we known at the time we certainly would have investigated the cause immediately because the rest of the Resort was not experiencing such problems. Guest Amenities and linen in self-catering apartments are always provided "complimentary" for all guests. It is well recognised that guests purchase their own food and beverages thereafter according to their own personal requirements and circumstances. Extra towels ($2 each), other linen and other kitchen and laundry supplies are always available from Reception. On the matter of ocean views, these apartments are available from level 6 above, but do come at a slightly higher rate. That you selected to have the garden view apartment on Level, we can only assume was made by you purely on the cheaper price. Next time we are sure you will be more than happy to enjoy the 'wow' factor from our ocean view apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We really liked the big shower, open balcony (both doors slide out for a breeze inside). Couch was a bit small.. liked the size of the balcony. nice long pool. not enough lounge chairs though. good distance to beach and shops, 5 mins approx.
found a major flaw, king bed was two king singles! which we got used to but felt a bit fooled..
reception was helpful. had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback. During your stay, yes we were down 4 pool lounges which were away being repaired. Unfortunately the pool area got a real work out over summer, as is normal, but sadly some of the webbing on four of the lounges split. We are currently waiting on new replacements to be delivered. In terms of the "king zips" this is a common practice across the 'self-catering fully serviced accommodation market. Many guests request "twin-share" so it makes economic sense and is the only practical way to satisfy this bedding request. The only alternative would be to bring in a 'rollaway' bed and for adults, this does not make for an enjoyable sleeping experience. Two king beds zipped together to make a large king bed, with king linen and a king mattress protector, on balance gives a very spacious and comfortable nights sleep in the majority of cases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I love the fact that the location of the Ocean Pacific Apartments were close to the beach and away from any noise. It was great to have the kitchen to cook and such a spacious apartment. I only gave an average rating though because there were a few things that happened where staff did not care. One was, our rubbish bin absolutely stunk of cigarettes, it was so unpleasant for what should have been a clean & checked room ready for a new arrival. When i asked for the bin to be changed it took 2 days and one staff member said "oh just put in on the balcony" ?? Also when we arrived back to our room on day 3 from being out at Movieworld all day, our apartment door was open, for anyone to go in. Again the staff member didnt care when I asked why, and said "no one can get in unless their on the same floor". Seriously??
Would I go back? probably not but I would still say to anyone else, try it, its a great location and spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Request High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We thank all our guests who take the time and care to provide feedback on their visit. It is important to point out in this case that our Resort is a fully self-catering serviced apartment and not a hotel. This is well publicised in all our marketing material, on our website and in the Guest Information compendium located in all apartments. As such, guests provide all their own food in terms of their own requirements for their stay. However, we do provide all our guests with a convenient/starter pack on arrival - such as tea, coffee, sugar, toiletries and kitchen & laundry sachets.

We strive very hard and pride ourselves on being ranked No1 on Trip Advisor for Bbroadbeach, so any lapses, where they do occur and are genuine are certainly noted. We are No1 for very good reasons and will continue to work for all our guests to maintain this ranking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ocean Pacific in Jan. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and felt the best part about Ocean Pacific is the fact it is a boutique block in a great location, with wonderful views! Short walk to the beach and a few blocks to all of the restaurants and shops.

We had a 1 bedroom unit - it is modern and clean... some of the furniture is looking a little worn but overall it was very nice. It is lovely sitting out on the balcony looking at the water !The pool area is very nice and kept very clean and despite us not using it the games room + gym looked good also. The easy and free parking was another bonus!
In terms of feedback:
I have seen a couple of comments regarding the cleanliness and I would have to agree ... the standard should be higher, plus for what you are paying they could provide a larger qty of toilet paper, cleaning products.
In terms of customer service , whilst the lady who checked us in when we arrived was lovely, I would have to say we did experience rudeness when we checked out - I wouldnt have called it warm and friendly - which is what you would expect !
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Floors above 7 or 8 have a magnificent view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romy_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We thank all our guests who take the time and care to provide feedback on their visit. It is important to point out that our Resort is a fully self-catering, serviced apartment and not a hotel. This is well publicised in all our marketing material, on our website and in our Guest Information Compendium located in all apartments. As such guests provide all their own food and personal necessities according to their own individual requirements. However, we do provide all guests with a 'Guest Convenience/Starter Pack' on arrival - such as tea, coffee, sugar, toiletries and kitchen & laundry sachets.

We strive very hard and pride ourselves on being ranked No1 in Broadbeach on Trip Advisor, so any lapses, where they do occur and are genuine are certainly remedied as soon as we become aware of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Nice room and nice pool. sort of clean... Bath room could have been cleaner. Rude staff! I won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrschatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPacific_11, General Manager at Ocean Pacific, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We believe it is very important to consider all feedback from our guests and we don't claim to keep all our guests happy all of the time. However, being ranked No1 on Trip Advisor for Broadbeach, is an honour bestowed upon us by 99% of our guests who have enjoyed the Ocean Pacific experience. Guest Reviews that state for example "we found Ocean Pacific to be scrupulously clean" and " we are notoriously hard to please, and had no complaints at all" are testimony to just how hard we work to stay No 1 in Broadbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Phoenician Resort - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific

Property: Ocean Pacific
Address: 25 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Pacific 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Broadbeach
Ocean Pacific Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing