We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of high security deposit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Sierra Grand
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Beware of high security deposit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Every aspect of this apartment style accommodation was of a high quality that we were very satisfied with. Comfortable, clean, modern and very spacious. In the heart of Broadbeach, close to the beach, restaurants, bars and shops.

The only negative aspect was the high security deposit of $1,000.00. We had prepaid the full amount for our stay and on arrival i was told i had to swipe a pre-authorisation security deposit of $1,000.00. I was surprised that it was so much and there was nothing mentioned in the confirmation paperwork that i was sent from the Mantra group upon booking and paying. I was VERY lucky that i got myself a credit card a few weeks before otherwise we would have been stuck, most people these days only have visa debit cards and if you wish to use this you need to have the amount of cash in your account and it can be frozen by the hotel company for approximately one week after you leave.

I would recommend the hotel and i would stay there again but i think the Mantra company should pre-worn of the security deposit before they allow you to pay online...so beware!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Age84,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand. It was pleasing to read that high quality of our property met your expectations and the location was just what you needed.
In regards the security bond, unfortunately this is a neccessary deterent, particularly for our larger 3 bedroom apartments, that can accommodate a large number of people. During the summer season and around events such as the Big Day Out, some guests do try and use the rooms as a party venue, causing significant damage and nuisance to our other guests. As the apartments are individually owned, we protect our owners from large damage bills. We also wish to keep the envirnoment safe and secure for the large number of families that stay at the resort and who are here for a relaxing holiday. My apologies for the inconvenience of the bond, this is of course refunded once the apartment is vacated and returned as it was prior to arrival.
Age84,once again thank you for chosing to stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand, we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    320
    143
    70
    34
See reviews for
433
163
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

After 12 months we came back and this stayed 12 nights instead of 7. this time it felt like home except for a few issues.
1. 8 days is too long for a room clean, 5 is more like it.
2, broom and dust pan would be nice.
3. we had hot water issues which was fixed promtly but why are the valves in the wall not adjusted properly?
4. the kitchen equipment like pots pans etc needs to be checked. we had to go and buy a frying pan at Harbourtown.
5. ensuite door would not close properly. my 2 girls had to prop something against the door to keep it shut.

Get these right Mr Manager and you will be spot on.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Mr Baptistbeach,

Welcome back! Great to have you with us again.
Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for missing the items listed. Unfortunately while we strive to be perfect everytime we do miss things occassionaly. Next time you stay with us, please bring these to our attention and we will repair and replace the items promptly to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Please contact us at Mantra Sierra Grand and we will happily reimburse you for the fry pan.
Once again thank you for posting your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The first room we were given was absolutely disgustingly dirty, bed linen foul, drink and stains all over couches, carpets filthy, sticky floors in toilet and kitchen, windows putrid - no way was this cleaned from previous visitors, we complained and after stating this was unacceptable they prepared us a whole new room after 3 hours, This was clean. Sad though that you pay so much money and have to go through this even though the end result was good. Hygeine is a basic necessity, Australia is not a third world country!! We pay enough to stay at these places so cleanliness shouldn't be an issue. STRESSFUL!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtrilakos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear Mr Strilakos,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and choosing to stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand. I sincerely apologise that we did not get it right the first time, there is no excuse for this and I can assure you we have followed up with our housekeeping department.

It was pleasing to read that our team were able to get the room you insisted on and that the cleanliness was to your expectations. Again I apologise for the stressfull start to your holiday and do hope that the rest of your break was an enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment over the Xmas-New Year break and it was wonderfully presented, very modern and clean, just like the pictures. Everything required was provided, all kitchen utensils and bathroom supplies. The pools were lovely, I especially enjoyed the steam room, and I would definitely recommend these apartments to anyone, however there were just a few inconveniences.
Firstly, 3 elevators is not sufficient for a 30+ storey apartment building. At busy times, between 10-11am, and 3-4pm, we would sometimes have to wait whilst 3 or 4 lifts went by completely full before we could get downstairs, and I heard many other guests complaining about this as well.
Secondly, the 2-bedroom apartments are endowed with beautiful floor-to-ceiling windows which face out to the sea. Beautiful in the day, however they do not appear to be tinted, and with a Gold Coast sun which rises at about 4.30am, by 6am the bedrooms are ridiculously hot, even with the air-conditioning on full blast. Thicker blinds and tinting on the windows would make for a much more enjoyable sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Thaierin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand, it assists us greatly in continuing to strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations.
It was great to see that your apartment was perfect for your requirements and that all the facilities added to the enjoyment of your stay. I do apologise for the inconvenience of the lifts and will also pass on your comments regarding the blinds to the apartment owners.
Thaierin, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us to the tripadvisor community and do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Sierra Grand again.
Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

I booked this hotel last minute when there was not much availability left on the coast and wasn't too sure what to expect. I was pleastly surprised with the Sierra Grand. The location is fantastic - a short walk to cafes, beach, shops etc.
We booked a deluxe room with 2 bathrooms and the place was massive!! The kitchen had everything we could want and it was all in great condition.
The only thing I disliked was the television - there are only 6 Pay TV channels (2 sport, news, music, kids, travel) of which none were of interest and no digital channels are connected yet. This did become even more frustrating when our dvd player and pay-movies did not work. It also took 24 hrs and several calls to reception to get it repaired. So check early....
But overall a pleasant experience, and would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08132010b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear 08132010b,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand. It was fantastic to read that the apartment and location of the property met all of your needs. Being so modern, spacious and close to all amenities, we are truly fortunate to be able to offer thise to our guests.
I am sorry that the selection of TV chanels were not to your interest and will follow up with our maintenance team as to why these items were not actioned promptly.
We do thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Sierra Grand in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I just came back from the Mantra Sierra Grand today and stayed in a one bedroom deluxe apartment. The apartment was large and modern with two bathrooms and a kitchen. IGA just downstairs which was very helpful as we could make food in the apartment if we didn't want to go out to have a meal. Outdoor pool is beautiful with lots of deck chairs and indoor pool is good too. Right across the road was the Pacific Fair the beach was a five minute walk and the restaurants at Broadbeach were a five minute drive from the hotel. the only bad thing was that it was very noisy at night from cars on the main road and was hard to sleep. other than that great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterinaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Dear Katerina2297,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and recommend Mantra Sierra Grand to the tripadvisor community. It was great to read that our apartments met your expectations in regards to space, facilities and location.
Our two pools certainly ensure that you can have a swim no matter the weather or the season. Being in such a fantastic location does have it's challenges, one being that everyone else wants to get here too. I am sorry if the noise generated by this was an inconvenience during your stay.
Katerina2297, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Welcoming & efficient booking and reception staff. Self-contained apartment (1 bedroom, deluxe) was large and well-equipped (including 2 bathrooms! The second for a third person using the fold-out bed in the side alcove / office area), for the same price during the Christmas period as a standard 1 bedroom apartment. Even though the apartment overlooked the Gold Coast Highway and Pacific Fair Shopping Center, minimal intrusive noise entered the rooms, even when the door was open. The king bed was very comfortable. The facilities in the complex - gym, indoor & outdoor pools, theater - were in top condition and well used at peak times. Would certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraGM, General Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Geoff_10,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Mantra Sierra Grand.
It is great to read that our team looked after you and we have exceeded your expectations with the facilities and services available at the property.
The team thank you for chosing to stay at Mantra Sierra Grand and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayne Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#8 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmel By The Sea
Carmel By The Sea
#9 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sierra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sierra Grand

Property: Mantra Sierra Grand
Address: 22 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#10 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sierra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 250m from the beach, Mantra Sierra Grand offers modern and stylish One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments all within walking distance of sidewalk cafes, superb restaurants, boutiques and specialty shops as well as Jupiter's Casino, Gold Coast Convention Centre and Pacific Fair. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom self-contained apartments all featuring contemporary furnishings, air conditioning, wireless internet access, full kitchen and laundry facilities. All boast wide balconies. Start the day with a sauna or spa. Swim some laps. Enjoy an al fresco breakfast. Relax in the in-house theatre. Arrange a few sets of tennis. Plan a poolside barbecue with your neighbours. Visit the patrolled surf beach waiting just a few minutes walk from your door or stroll to the sidewalk cafes and boutique shops of nearby Broadbeach. Later, dine out at one of the fine local restaurants, and try your luck at the Casino. The property offers a variety of facilities and services available to all guests including heated pools and spas, sauna, steam room, tennis court, fully equipped gym and in-house theatre. With a variety of accommodation options, numerous dining options, sun drenched beaches, boutique shopping and vibrant nightlife the resort is the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sierra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sierra Grand Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing