We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend ruined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Sierra Grand
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Bonogin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend ruined”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are looking for a great weekend away do not stay at Sierra Grand. Three couples stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for valentine's day. Two kings and a queen, WRONG. One king, one queen and two singles. Things happen, no worries, we went down to reception to see if we could figure it out and were told that they can't change anything in the rooms and that two singles zip to a king, alright then, can they do that? Took a lot of asking and then they finally had someone come up and make the beds as they should have been before we checked in. A VERY UNCOMFORTABLE sleep awaited us for the two nights as of course when you put two beds together the middle isn't flat, but the staff said they couldn't offer us anything else so we just left it.

So a relaxed weekend away turned into a very uncomfortable one, if it was just the beds I wouldn't complain BUT there were no blankets as well the sheets were stained, our fridge didn't work properly so nothing stayed cold (hence we didn't trust any of the food that we had left in there), the microwave didn't heat properly either, the oven didn't work and the dishwasher cracked two glasses. On top of this the dryer also didn't function well and the bathrooms weren't clean and the shower pressure was non-existent.

The services in the hotel such as the pool, spa, sauna and gym look like they are taken much better care of then the rooms. Our level also has a very distinct "pot" smell. We were offered to move rooms (if they had one available), there was on a lower level except we had paid for the our level and would therefore be out of pocket and the "two singles = a king" would also still have applied in the new room. Overall the advertisement for their rooms is incorrect and the amount we paid was way too expensive for the quality we received.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    343
    156
    73
    35
See reviews for
471
171
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked a one bedroom place for 3 nights. On arrival, the staff were very pleasant, however there was a beaten up man in the foyer and Police running around the hotel. This was not very reassuring and none of the staff seemed to want to tell us what was going on. We went up to our room to find it was VERY dirty. 10 cm from every skirting board was lined with dust. The room had not been vacuumed. The shower was mouldy, there was food on multiple surfaces, sand all over the couch. We were upgraded twice, even to a 2 bedroom apartment with stunning views but this too was very dirty and the windows so dirty the view was wasted. At the end of the day we decided to just pay for an upgrade to Peppers (owned by same parent company as Mantra) which was 5 minutes down the road and 100x better. Mantra is cheap but if you appreciate cleanliness I wouldn't bother.

Room Tip: Don't stay here- but if you do, be aware that none of the 1 bedroom rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikaila28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

On arrival we found the staff were great. Let us check in early, which is a bonus! Mantra has a great pool / gym and very convenient parking underneath.

On first inspection of our room was quite good but lacked the finer cleaning detail. Looked like vomit was smeared down the side of a bedside table, muck around light switches, general furniture not cleaned.

Shower leaked into robe aswell.

Overall stay was just ok. Was good that no one really bothered you. All the staff were very helpful except for when we were leaving. The printer was broken at the Internet kiosk so we asked if the lady at reception could help us print it off ( she must of thought this was a inconvenience, because she went out of her way not to help us. So we just left)

Next time we will try somewhere else there seems to be many more hotels in the same spot so I would recommend trying one of those.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a 3 bedroom apartment for 3 nights.
Positives: Spacious and attractive rooms. Generally clean. Outdoor pool & indoor lap pool, sauna & Gym all well maintained. Comfy beds. Large TV. Plenty of free parking space for our 2 vehicles undercover.
Negatives: Great view - of roadworks & major intersection complete with plenty of traffic noise :-( Afternoon sun made all bedrooms into hot boxes regardless of blinds and A/C couldn't keep up. 5 of our party are North Qld residents and heat tolerant. Others might not be so forgiving. Some of the furniture had seen better days with several dining chairs coming apart at joins and wood chipping off where timber has cracked. Total of 5 power points all up not working or defective switch. Blinds had pale pinkish stains, one was damaged. Shower head in ensuite was sub-standard.
Despite these glaring NOT 4.5 Star features, we enjoyed our stay. It was adequate and staff were at all times pleasant and helpful. Would we stay again? Maybe, but only if the deal was exceptional ...

Room Tip: Avoid Western facing apartments in summer! Rooms get very hot plus these ones overlook the intersect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
far nth nsw
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Mantra Sierra grand over new years, after reading some reviews I was unsure of what we would get. But I can assure you that both the rooms we had were spotless and fitted with quality furniture. The reception staff were professional and very helpful. Location is a little away from the main areas but this can be a good point as well. I will be returning and it had everything I need in a Serviced Apartment

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colegate85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The serviced apartment was comfortable to stay at. There was nothing outstanding or extraordinary about our experience staying here, however, the 1 bedroom apartment we stayed in for 1 week was comfortable, tidy, secure, modern and spacious. There was absolutely nothing to complain about with our experience. The location of the Sierra Grand is what made our vacation amazing. We walked to the beach, to Pacific Fair, to the plethora of Broadbeach restaurants, to Dracula's. Had to drive to Surfers Paradise but this was a quick 5 minute trip down the road.
Would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Hinterland view rooms are good. The ocean view rooms are blocked by the building directly in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My apartment floor 16 so clean fresh. Beautiful ocean views! I enjoying with my daughter & son & my grandchildrens. We all having fun & love this place. It's brand new! Next door to the beach easy walk. There is mmm coffee & restaurant. 1 min walk to big shops. Comfortable to stay 2 wks. No problem.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hihow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#8 of 21 in Broadbeach
1,741 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#6 of 21 in Broadbeach
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sierra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sierra Grand

Property: Mantra Sierra Grand
Address: 22 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#10 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sierra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 250m from the beach, Mantra Sierra Grand offers modern and stylish One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments all within walking distance of sidewalk cafes, superb restaurants, boutiques and specialty shops as well as Jupiter's Casino, Gold Coast Convention Centre and Pacific Fair. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom self-contained apartments all featuring contemporary furnishings, air conditioning, wireless internet access, full kitchen and laundry facilities. All boast wide balconies. Start the day with a sauna or spa. Swim some laps. Enjoy an al fresco breakfast. Relax in the in-house theatre. Arrange a few sets of tennis. Plan a poolside barbecue with your neighbours. Visit the patrolled surf beach waiting just a few minutes walk from your door or stroll to the sidewalk cafes and boutique shops of nearby Broadbeach. Later, dine out at one of the fine local restaurants, and try your luck at the Casino. The property offers a variety of facilities and services available to all guests including heated pools and spas, sauna, steam room, tennis court, fully equipped gym and in-house theatre. With a variety of accommodation options, numerous dining options, sun drenched beaches, boutique shopping and vibrant nightlife the resort is the perfect place for your next getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Sierra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sierra Grand Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing