We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sierra Grand Penthouse was amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Sierra Grand
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Sierra Grand Penthouse, 3 bedrooms and media room with 7 people, family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) and grand parents. We had room 3002 on the 30th floor and it was just perfect for our group. The Grandparents had the main room with a large storage area and their own ensuite, including spa, which could be closed off from the rest when they wanted a break from the screaming children.

The apartment was big, all of the bedrooms were really big. The roof top area was amazing with outdoor kitchen, fridge hammocks, lounges and 6 seater spa so the kids could swim whilst we cooked on the roof. The only isse was it was a bit noisy, even 30 floors up.

The location was fantastic, straight across the road from pacific Fair, shops and supermarket so we could walk for supplies.

Would highly recommend and will book here agin when we travel there next time. We booked this with Gold Coast Luxury Rentals and the service provided was great, any issues were resolved without any issues.

Room Tip: Penthouse - 30 floors up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFischer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear AFicsher73

Great to hear your enjoyed your time here at Sierra Grand.
Yes our location is great able to walk just about everywhere.

Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here as a family in a 2 bedroom appt. for a 5 night stay. room was clean and tidy with all amenities. Staff were very pleasent and accomodating. Facilities are great and location is good, not as central as some but within walking distance to shops and easy access to Pacific fair. Great value for the price.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Derek A

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Sierra Grand. They do say Location , Location and we do have a great location - close to shops and the beach.
We look forwrd to welcoming you back to Sierra Grand for your next holiday.

Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is really great accommodation on the Gold Coast. We has a one-bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor. It had fantastic views of both the hinterland and the sea/ beach. The apartment was a great size for 2 people - although the bathroom is tiny - with full self catering facilities. The bedroom was really comfy except I'm surprised there wasn't a proper duvet on the bed - only sheets and a blanket. It's still pretty chilly at this time of year so I didn't think this was adequate bedding. There was also only one wash cloth provided even though the booking was always for two people. It is in a good location - about 10 mins walk to the restaurants and bars, 1 minute to Pacific Fair shopping center/ bus depot, it has nice facilities including both an indoor and outdoor pool plus jacuzzi. The only negative is the ceiling inside is peeling off and the tiles were coming off in the jacuzzi.

A couple of criticisms - this is supposed to be 4.5 star accommodation. When we arrived on the Saturday evening the carpet in the unit was filthy. It hadn't been vacuumed properly and so there were bits all over it. I called reception to ask for it to be cleaned. They said they would have to get someone in the next day to sort it. On Sunday we asked at reception again and they said they would send someone up to inspect it. We went out for breakfast and came back around 12pm and still no one had vacuumed the carpet. I phoned back to reception and she said they would be sending someone to inspect the carpet. I said to reception it didn't need inspecting (i think they were planning to send a carpet cleaner in!). Finally they sent someone to hoover the carpet after a day of wrangling. That was ridiculous really. In a 4.5 star accommodation if you complain that the carpet is dirty they should jump to send someone up with a vacuum cleaner.

Secondly, some of the reception staff have a really bad attitude. There was one lady who was absolutely lovely and pleasant. We booked a shuttle bus to go to Dreamworld. We booked the tickets the night before, had our booking confirmation and were outside the hotel 10 mins before it was due to arrive as instructed. The bus never showed up. When we phoned the company they had no record of our booking. We went back into the hotel and they also phoned the company. Turns out the hotel should have called to confirm our booking which they didn't do. For whatever reason the receptionist couldn't just refund the money back on to my card - when I queried why, they just said they couldn't do it!! It's plain ridiculous when you can't be given a clear explanation about something. So my partner had to give his bank account details for the refund - which also couldn't be done on that day either and we'd have to wait until tomorrow - why? WHY WHY? No reason - or none they will give you anyway. So hoping that money is in our account and we don't have to chase them for it.

The upshot of it is customer service in Australia is really poor - especially if you compare it to other key destinations in the world such as the UK and the US. In both those countries the customer comes first and it's just not acceptable for your carpet to be dirty or your money not to be refunded immediately after they've just taken it off you. In Oz they just don't care so if you never complain or write these honest reviews on Trip Adviser nothing will ever change.

This is lovely accommodation but what I'll also say is there are SO many hotels/ apartments etc on the Gold Coast that you don't need a 4.5 star place not to be giving you the service you're paying for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Katie H

Thank you for your feedback, it is dissapointing that the shuttle company did not show.
I appreciate your comments with regards to the service you were provided. This is something we do pride our selfves on , it seems you were not happy with one of the team.

I do hope you had a safe trip home to the UK.
We do hope you return to Australia nd Mantra Sierra Grand and allow us to provide the service you expect.
Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This property was outstanding.Excellent helpfull staff.Rooms clean and well presented.The property was located in a very central loccation in Broadbeach and we found it easily accessable by car and foot.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th Floor with ocean views.We found this excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Wes D

Firstly thank you for response, it always great to receive positive feedback not only about the units but the team aswell.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forwrd to welcoming you back to Sierra Grand.

Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed with friends on the weekend. Could not keep doors or windows open as was so noisy with road noise even though we were on high floor. Mould in bathroom. WORST, Air-Con turned on every night and could not be shut off. Was like a freight train in the bedroom. Not very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMonty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear MMonty007

Thank you for your response, I do appreciate any and all feedback as this only allows us to improve our service to our guests.

I do hope you return and allow us to give you the break for you were lookign for.
Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family & I recently stayed at the Mantra Sierra Grand. We only stayed for 1 night but cannot wait to go back & stay for longer next time.

The hotel is located close to the beach, close to the restaurants of Broadbeach & near pacific fair shopping centre.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view room. The apartment was very spacious for a family of four. Bedding was comfortable with 2 bathrooms. Also had a large balcony to sit outside & enjoy the ocean views.

On arrival I was met by friendly staff eager to make my stay a pleasant one. My only regret as we didn't stay long enough. We will definitely be staying here again next time we are on the Gold Coast.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Scootyburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Scootyburger

Yes one night is just not enough time to enjoy Sierra Grand or Broadbeach.
It souds like the family had a great time even though it was only short.

The units are great for families being self contained , yes I agree Ocean Views are lovely to relax on the balcony.

Please feel free to contact reservations on 07 5668 5105 and allow us to plan the longer family holiday.
Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for a family holiday, and as we were here to shop, hit the beach, and go to Dracula's Theatre Restaurant the location was ideal for us. It is a 5min drive to Surfers Paradise, where most of the action is happening.

This hotel is literally a 2min walk across the road to Pacific Fair Shopping Centre.

Rooms were clean, modern and spacious. We had an ocean view, and couldn't fault anything.

Most definitely happy to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank BennyVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leanne_ellams, Front Office Manager at Mantra Sierra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear BenVK85

Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you had a action packed stay in Broadbeach.
Yes our location is fantastic , walking to everything with our the hassle of traffic and parking.

We look forwrd to welciming you back to Sierra Grand.
Regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
0.5 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sierra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sierra Grand

Address: 22 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: $110 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sierra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Sierra Grand offers modern and stylish One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments all within walking distance of sidewalk cafes, superb restaurants, boutiques and specialty shops as well as The Star Casino, Gold Coast Convention Centre and Pacific Fair. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom self-contained apartments all featuring contemporary furnishings, air conditioning, wireless internet access, full kitchen and laundry facilities. All boast wide balconies. Start the day with a sauna or spa. Swim some laps. Enjoy an al fresco breakfast. Relax in the in-house theatre. Arrange a few sets of tennis. Plan a poolside barbecue with your neighbours. Visit the patrolled surf beach waiting just a few minutes walk from your door or stroll to the sidewalk cafes and boutique shops of nearby Broadbeach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sierra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sierra Grand Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing