We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lucky me” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalows Solecito

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bungalows Solecito
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lucky me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Traveling alone with some major priorities and I hit the gold mine with Solecito.
Priorities: Quiet and relaxing, on a beautiful beach with no large looming hotels to obscure the mountains in the distance, quick drive from airport (20 min!!!), ascetically pleasing simple classy authentic decor, safe for a woman traveling alone.
Solecito was all of that for me. What you won't find near by are: bars, clubs, shopping, many other people/tourists. You can kayak into the mangroves and go birding, whale and dolphin watch from the shore of a beautiful beach, chill out by the glamorous pool and immaculately tended gardens, and get a pretty incredible massage right on the beach. The hostess Blanca and Host Manuel are some of the nicest people around, and their staff reflect the same kindness and attention. Don't miss a walk down the beach to Chula Vida for a great meal and friendly vibes. They will even give you a ride back to your bungalow after just enough tequila and freshly tuna caught straight from the ocean you are watching the sun set upon.
VIVA MEXICO

Room Tip: I had one of the single rooms on the ground floor between reception and the outdoor dining room. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megscz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had been to the Zihautanejo area many times but had never spent any time in Barra de Potosi. This recent trip we wanted to spend the final 4 days there and decided Bungalows Solecito was where we would stay. What a wonderful place! The location on it's own section of isolated beach, the grounds and the bungalow itself, all beautiful! Each bungalow is practically it's own isolated sanctuary. We were in unit 4 which is near the back of the property, but for all intents and purposes was every bit as great as one of the units right on the ocean. Actually, maybe better, because it is quieter and less windy. Their restaurant is also fantastic in it's own right. This is a very small boutique resort, beautifully designed and very well kept. It is only ¾ mile up the road from the quaint rustic village of Barra de Potosi, an easy walk down the road or the beach. The owners, Manuel and Blanca, are extremely friendly and make you feel very welcome and comfortable. We were even invited to the Super Bowl party they threw for friends by the pool. This is one of the nicest places on Playa Blanca. A wonderful tranquil retreat. And now having stayed there we would be very hesitant to try anything else.

Room Tip: When it gets right down to it every bungalow at this small intimate resort is wonderful. Regardless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValpoRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Perfect! We were wanting a place on the beach, walking barefoot, a pool for plunging after playing in the surf, huge rooms, a huge bed, fans, stone lined shower, a full kitchen with outdoor dining on our own veranda - and we found it at Bungalows Solecito! A wide open beach with a fifteen mile stretch of sand to explore, water of perfect temperature, and lovely grounds for relaxation. Blanca and Manuel were perfect hosts and the staff kept the place immaculate. We fixed most of our meals during our five day stay, but did treat ourselves to a delicious breakfast and excellent dinner prepared by the house chef served outdoors under the palms. The value for the price is incomparable. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The bungalows are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquadama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Solecito Bungalows is located in the pueblito of Barra de Potosi, about 12k south of Zihuatanejo on the Mexican Pacific coast. We arrived there with just a recommendation of the area but no idea of the hotels there. We chose Solecito Bungalows because it was a great deal and the photos looked nice.

The reality was so much better. The Bungalows are built facing the bay of Barra de Potosi, and are beautifully landscaped and kept immaculately. The owner Blanca is a force of nature, and is always ready to help you whenever you need her. The pool is clean and a decent size, but the real attraction is the Pacific ocean which unlike in Zihuat and Ixtapa was calm and warm to swim in over the first two weeks of Jan.

The food is excellent, cooked by the highly competent Abel, and Juanita provides great massages at a very reasonable price.

Walk 20 mins up the beach and you'll reach four or five simple fish restaurants serving really great fish right on the shore.

I would highly recommend the hotel and area, but you do need to be aware that there is barely any nightlife. It's very quiet and the majority of people that we met were retirees from the States and Canada. Having said that, all we wanted was to relax, swim, sleep and read so it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a bungalow that is located right on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiBurgess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I were happy from the moment we stepped onto the gorgeous grounds (immaculately kept) of Bungalows Solecito until the moment that the real world forced us to leave this paradise. Blanca and Manuel couldn't be kinder or more accommodating--they put their hearts and souls into this place, and you sure do feel their devotion and integrity. We were there for a week in mid-December and the temperatures were high/hot. The daytime temps of low-90s didn't bother me at all, with the delightful breeze off the ocean, but the 70s during the night made it challenging to sleep. But I loved the sound of the crashing waves, the big full moon overhead. One morning I got up at 6 a.m. to watch the moon set. Astonishing. Equally as fun and stunningly beautiful--kayaking in the lagoon. Birds everywhere! We both enjoyed the easy walk to the enramadas for lunch and found it rather enjoyable to go to Z for a meal or two, but I truly believe next time we'll buy groceries in the city, head to Solecito and stay put, except for the kayaking excursion. The pool is perfect, the bungalows are charming and clean, the massages on the beach a superb treat. . .why would we leave? Especially if the chef is there cooking fish to perfection. We are most eager to see you again, Blanca and Manuel!

Room Tip: We stayed in #2, not right on the ocean, but certainly close enough and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckenzietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking for a tranquil yet comfortable beach bungalow on a beautiful beach, you might try staying in Barra de Potosi, a 30 minute drive south of Zihuatanejo. The area is a natural wonder. We stayed at Bungalows Solecito with its gorgeous grounds and luscious swimming pool, we felt like were in a 5 star luxury boutique hotel for the rich and famous. It's a hidden gem in an unspoilt beach area next to a small fishing village and a beautiful lagoon.

Room Tip: If you like being right on the beach ask for those two bungalows. All Bungalows have views and are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neelokb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did not stay in this hotel on our recent trip to Barra de Potosi, but we did get a complete tour of the property by the gracious owner Blanca. The property is impeccably maintained and the accommodations are in individual bungalows nestled under the shade of palms. The prices quoted us for the rooms make them a great value for the area. The rooms had more amenities than the private home we rented just down the beach.

We did eat twice in the beautiful restaurant beside the pool. They have a real chef who knows how to serve up wonderful Mexican meals from soups and salads to entrees to desserts. We live in Mexico and rarely have such good food outside Mexico City. The owner Blanca is a terrific hostess in the restaurant.

We plan to stay at this hotel on our next visit to Barra de Potosi.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are closest to the beach, although all bungalows have beach views and wave sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Potosi
6.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#28 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.1 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
9.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#25 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda La Rusa B&B
Hacienda La Rusa B&B
#1 of 5 in Barra de Potosi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Solecito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Solecito

Property: Bungalows Solecito
Address: Playa Blanca 54 | Barra de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Barra de Potosi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barra de Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best beach cottages in the Pacific Ocean.Where you can still enjoy the swim at the ocean, and eat at the fishermans restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bungalows Solecito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Solecito Barra De Potosi, Mexico - Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing