We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oystercatcher Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Mykonos(Langebaan)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Calypso Villas(Langebaan)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
173
17
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
17
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailself cateringhoneymoon suiteshelly pointoyster catcherwell stocked honesty barbreakfast was deliciousperfect hostson arrivalsea birdsdown the roadb bstunning viewsmade us feelsouth africahomemade mueslicomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 195 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We agree with Karlien T and robert312663. Wonderful and worth a visit ! ! Excellent service, wonderful self catering units and beautiful setting. Many thanks Luc and Sue we enjoyed every time at Oystercatcher, while we were busy building our own home in Shelly Point

Room Tip: Self catering units excellent, corner duplex unit and also honeymoon suite excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you prefer 4 star luxury with beautiful sea views and in close proximity to all the West Coast towns such as Paternoster, Jacobsbay, Velddrif, Saldanha, Langebaan etc then Oystercatcher Lodge at Shelley Point, St Helena Bay would be perfect for you.

I stayed at Oystercatcher Lodge for 3 comfortable nights. During the day I explored all the west coast towns in the area and went for lovely sunset walks on the beach. Each room has a lovely sea view. Guests are treated by friendly service and helpful advice on activities and things to do and see in the area.

If however a true West Coast experience is what you are after, then St Helana Bay might not be for you, the industrial feel of the whole of St Helena Bay and the palm trees and white mansions of the Shelley Point development lacks that true West Coast charm, warmth and character you will find in Jacobsbay, Paternoster, Velddrif and Lambertsbay.

I myself was after that true West Coast experience and the more laid back charm of the characteristic west coast villages…however Oystercatcher Lodge was a lovely oasis for the 3 nights I stayed over.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

A beautifully situated lodge right on the point with two beaches to stroll on to while away the hours.
A beautiful room in great condition, in that everything worked as it should, and the room had a view that could be enjoyed without getting out of bed.
A more than adequate breakfast, freshly cooked to order, and home made bread .. delicious.
For other meals Sue and Luc the hosts were more than willing to advise and make the necessary bookings either in St Helena Bay or Paternoster. The two dinner choices they made for us were excellent.
For me the absence of shops and tourist traps in the St Helena area make it perfect for the R&R as there is no need to leave the beach area except to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this immaculate Guest Lodge. Our room (no. 3) was very clean and comfortable and we loved the extra-length bed! The view from our bed was amazing - sand dunes, sea and sunny skies! The bathroom was modern and well equipped and was also spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good - fresh homemade bread every day and eggs and bacon etc., cooked to perfection. For all other dining requirements our hosts, Sue & Luc, know the best places to eat and were only too happy to advise and make reservations for us. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg053020145l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It was so nice to read that you enjoyed your three days at the Oystercatcher Lodge. It was lovely to meet you both and hope you enoyed your time in Paternoster too!
Kind regards
Luc and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent two nights here, the location is wonderful and rather remote. Immaculately clean with seamless service. We stayed in room 6 which is on the ground floor and a few meters from the sea and watched both whales and dolphins from the bed. Very private and quiet. The shower and bathroom were more than adequate that we didn't miss having a bath. It was a very peaceful stay. I recommend you pack a few snacks, as it is quite out of the way.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the ground level, which made the room feel bigger and it is a few paces away form the sea, private and peaceful but no bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Kathryn
Thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Oystercatcher last week-end. We enjoyed meeting you and Jake and hope you found the right road home through Stellenbosch etc.

Kind regards
Luc and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews