We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oystercatcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another visit”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our fourth visit to Oyster Catcher and still an amazing place which has not lost anything over the years.

Sue and Luc are impeccable hosts who take time and effort to make all guests welcome, nothing is too much trouble and the always go that extra mile.

Oyster Catcher is impeccably furnished and professionally run with the gentle hand of knowledge. The views are to die for, sounds, skies, birds, dolphins, seals and whales -just from your bedroom.

We are sure Sue and Luc know this will not be our last, last visit.

Ps Can Luc be persuaded to cook again in the evening?

Room Tip: All fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
127
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I had a friend over from the UK and booked the Oystercatcher Lodge for Christmas, what a good decision that was. From the minute we arrived we felt home from home, Sue and Luc were extremely welcoming but left you to your own devices after informing you of everything you needed to know. The Rooms are great, spotless, nice big bathroom, everything you need and the most amazing view. the attention to detail at the Oystercatcher is absolutely spot on, you could not want for anything more. Great value for money. Tip to everyone out there, don't leave the Oystercatcher lodge and go to the Farmhouse at Langebaan - we were so disappointed. Thanks Sue and Luc x

Room Tip: I think all rooms are of the same standard - Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is the best place we have ever stayed!

What a location!!!! Great views from the rooms onto the ocean - we did not even close the shutters during the night, waking up to a stunning view of the ocean. All day there is a large array of birds flying by. In the morning many thousands of cormorants fly by from their nesting area; we were told they are counted every year to be at least 30,000. They are joined by hundreds of silver gulls and other gulls, oyster catchers, and may other birds. We saw many seals and dolphins too. And on out last morning we spotted a small turtle.

The pool is small, but more than adequate for a refreshing dip on a hot day; well designed with a sloping ramp.

The name Shelly Point (also spelled Shelly) becomes obvious when you go for walk to the front of the Lodge- lots and lots of mussel shells.

The rooms have a very large bed, tea/coffee, indoor and outdoor seating, and a very spacious bathroom. No TV, but who needs this when there is a natural 5x2 metre 'screen' in front of you (there is one in the lounge if you really need to watch something). The rooms are attended to frequently.

Food: Breakfast are great, and they even rustled up some sandwiches when I was a bit ill one evening. Choices for dinner are limited and require a bit of a drive. We went to a simple, inexpensive seafood restaurant approx 20 km away.

Tips: Our navigation system took us on a dirt road alongside the Shelly Point resort - make sure you turn in when you see the security gates. Binoculars would be good to take along.

Room Tip: There are two rooms at a lower level - the views of the ocean would be limited there. The eastern mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bit_of_gardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I opted for a quiet Christmas at the Oystercatcher. It is the best place we have ever stayed at so far. We decided to take the self catering option and stayed in the studio apartment. It was the most relaxing and peaceful time I have ever spent away.

The view is spectacular and the surroundings are so comforting that I am sure that even if one was there in the middle of winter and in pelting rain they would have a good time. The apartments are well equipped and literally have everything one needs including bbq tongs! The pool area is well situated and of a good size The studio apartment has a large patio area and great bbq area.

A suggestion: if you opt for the self catering route buy all your shopping prior and plan ahead as there are very few supplies available in the surrounding shops.

The hosts went out of their way to make us feel as welcome and comfortable as ever.

Room Tip: All apartments are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary by going to Oystercatcher for the weekend&it was indeed an awesome experience.I loved waking up to the sound of waves(AWESOME INDEED)

Room Tip: My suggestion,lower ground floor(awesome view&closer to the water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

It is evident that the owners, South African Sue and Swiss Luc, are professionals in the hotel and hospitality business. Attention is given to detail while the general atmosphere is very friendly and informal. Breakfast, consisting of fresh fruit, yoghurt and wonderful home made muesli, followed by eggs and home baked bread is really a treat. It is true that there are no really good restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the lodge, which can be a problem especially at night. We opted for lunch at Die Voorstrand in Paternoster followed by a walk on the beach. There is a hospitality bar on the premises of the lodge so later that evening we enjoyed a lovely "sundowner supper" consisting of nice cheeses and wine as a light meal. We wanted to get up early to watch the sunrise which was absolutely stunning. This place is a real treat!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We actually stayed at Oystercatcher Lodge in February 2010 but have only recently started writing reviews on tripadvisor.
After staying in many hotels and b&b's all over the world, the Oystercatcher Lodge is one I refer to when i talk about the best places we have ever stayed in.
We booked one night as part of our tour but loved it so much stayed an extra night.
Our room overlooked the ocean and was a few steps from the beach. Totally relaxing, midnight moon-lit walks on the beach and falling asleep to the sounds of the waves.
Quality furnishings, delicious breakfast, friendly, professional hosts who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, without being "in your face".
We loved our trip to South Africa and this was one of the highlights!
Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena Bay
8.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
21.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
2.3 mi away
Absolute Beach Accommodation
Absolute Beach Accommodation
#2 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Goblin's Creek Manor House
Goblin's Creek Manor House
#3 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
57 reviews
8.2 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oystercatcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Lodge

Property: Oystercatcher Lodge
Address: Erf 5397 | First Avenue, St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7382, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > St. Helena Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oystercatcher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oystercatcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing