We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the deck overlooking the Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sao Antonio Restaurant - CLOSED

Sao Antonio Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch on the deck overlooking the Golf Course”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, restaurant has a lovely view of Shelly Pont Golf Course with a swimming pool. Beach bar with stunning cocktails.
I can recommend the pizzas, excellent. Will defnitely go back every time. However prices are a little high, it went up a lot due to the new owners. Kallie & Susan (Paarl)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    14
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Service attitude spoilt the visit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived without a booking on a Saturday evening and received a less than friendly welcome. Granted, the restaurant seemed busy, so we were expecting to wait a bit. Service levels were quite poor, which made the long wait for our food seem even longer. Crumbed mushrooms were excellent and the chicken tikka pizza was not bad. The whole experience negates any chance of a return visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something different!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had lunch at Sao Antonio yesterday and what a pleasant experience. The service was not great, about typical what we get on the West Coast, but at least friendly and effecient. The food, on the other hand, was excellent!! Good variety on the menu, slightly expensive, but worth every bite. And unique tastes/combinations. Over all very good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suritha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice but not great !”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's convenient to have the restaurant at the hotel and the setting is lovely (close to the pool). But there is so much more that the hotel can do with the space. Also, the variety on offer is not that great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sao Antonio Restaurant also viewed

St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
St. Helena Bay, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing