We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
St. Helena Bay
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
20
11
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
20
11
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cattle baron restaurant private cinema beautiful beach reception staff lovely weekend friendliest staff star service shelley point great hotel enjoyed our stay attention to detail luxury teen estate west coast bliss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

A lovely refurbished hotel, staff are friendly and rooms were great.
DOROTHEAS Pizza's are awesome, also the menu variety was great. The Spa was very good, therapists good, however to get to 5 star, small nuances will be great, foot warmers during massage, gowns, aromatherapy oils.
I have never seen so many Mussel shells in my life!! Saw Seals at the light house.
Beware of the winds though!! Take windbreakers

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank devi671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeshiaGRM, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelley Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear Devi671

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and activities we have to offer.

Thank you for the suggestions, I will bring your suggestions under the attention of our Spa department, to be able to provide our guests with the best possible treatment and stay.

Hope to have you and your family and friend's visit us again soon

Kind Regards
Keshia Cronje, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

The hotel, the facilities, the guest amenities, the rooms and the restaurants are really great and the hotel makes for a wonderful tome away with family and friends. The service however from the restaurant(s) and bar staff is really lacking and requires much improvement. Inexperienced staff and perhaps inadequate staff training could be worked on to improve on this. The hotel rooms were excellent, clean and luxury.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeshiaGRM, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelley Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear GusBehn

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our guest feedback is of high value to us and this is how we know where there is a lack and where we can improve. Our apologies for the service that was not to the standard we pride us on and the inconvenience caused to you and your family and friends. Please feel assured that i did bring this under the attention of our GM, for improvements to be made.

Glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities we have to offer.

Hope to have you and your family and friends visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Keshia Cronje, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Just after we checked in there was a little confusion about our dietary requirements which I thought was going to spoil our entire trip. The entire restaurant staff and hotel management quickly turned this experience around for us, by not only going the Xtra mile but made our entire stay, special and very unique.
It was my wife's birthday over a very busy period at the hotel, but they provided us with all our requirements and also went beyond to make this stay an extra ordinary one from reception to our meals to room service and everything else I could expect from 5 star service. Not to mention the hotel itself and surroundings were just awsome.
My list can just go on and on but experience this stay at Shelly point hotel and I'm sure it will rather surprise you as a unique stay.
A special thank you to all the staff and management that made us feel so special and welcome and our family is ever so grateful for all the little extra added touches to celebrate our occasion as a unique stay.
The hotel, the restaurants, the environment, the decor and settings and the most friendliest staff just gave us a spectacular time
A definate visit again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tikes786730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeshiaGRM, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelley Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Dear Tikes786730

Thank you so much for your lovely review this is much appreciated.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did, was lovely to have you with us.

We hope to have you and your family and friends visit us again soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Have a lovely day and A Happy New Year to you
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

What a nice surprise. Used Shelley Point as an Anniversary surprise for my wife as well as to visit the West coast from here. Very pleasantly surprised by all the arrangements by Leonie, the room, and all the frills, which she went out of her way to arrange IMO. That was just such a nice welcome. We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed every day. Breakfasts where great and we enjoyed it. Cattle Baron ... I can only say that their food is great... best Sirloin I have ever had given that it's not my favourite dish. We enjoyed the experience tremendously and the Erindi stamp is certainly visible. Small comment... suggest you cover the bricks in the alley between the pool and the hotel with a rubber mat.. the bins were rather noisy as they trundled them out to where ever. Still, the week end was awesome and we'll go again. Thank you to the staff. Room was awesome, service great and well worth the money.

Room tip: Ask for a Superior room right at the Western end ... very nice!
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WillemlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeshiaGRM, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelley Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2019

Dear WillemIR

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could add some warmth to your special celebration.

Thank you for your suggestion and will definitely look into that and see what we can do to eliminate the noise.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Shelley Point Hotel and Spa.

May you have a blessed festive season and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Keshia Cronje
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2019 via mobile

Had a very pleasant and comfortable overnight stay at this hotel with work colleagues. Enjoyed all the hotel had to offer, which included spa, small gym, pool, beautifully decorated rooms and a delicious buffet breakfast. Staff were generally friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the fact that the rooms were situated in an open quad and not a closed off passage (as most hotels). The balcony with views of the see was also a bonus (we even saw some whales in the distance!). We had dinner at Cattle Baron restaurant the evening which is conveniently located within the hotel.The hotel also offers a coastal drive. It comes at an extra cost,but i will definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank MandyB2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeshiaGRM, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelley Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2019

Dear MandyB2471

Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated.

We at The Shelley Point Hotel and Spa are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our comfortable rooms and made use of our facilities and what our Hotel as to offer our guests. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again for a longer stay.

Hope you have a lovely day
Kind Regards
Keshia Cronje
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews