We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic modern gastropub in Derbyshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Baslow B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic modern gastropub in Derbyshire”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having visited the Devonshire Arms a few years ago with family, we found ourselves eating a fairly average Sunday lunch in an empty, gloomy round room. Needless to say, we didn't return and have avoided the place since then.

Fortunately, passing through one summer evening and being hit with a sudden downpour, we decided to take shelter in the pub - and were pleasantly surprised at just how much it has changed since the last visit.

The big round room is now something to behold with a good balance between modern, fresh and traditional decor - and I would imagine it would make a great venue for wedding receptions and other get-togethers.

We decided to have dinner there, getting things going with camembert with bread and celery.For main we went for the sausage and mash dish and the slow cooked beef cheek dish - both were delicious, including the twist on the mash potato. It is also heartening to see them using locally sourced produce.

The service was also spot on, with staff coming across as relaxed yet genuinely interested in you having a good time. At around £12 per dish, the food is perhaps priced at the higher end for a gastro pub (although arguably it can now class itself as a fully-fledged restaurant) yet well worth the cost.

We have made a point of recommending the Devonshire Arms to others venturing out into the Peak District. If the food is anything to go by, the hotel rooms will also be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattgrant361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    127
    64
    45
    40
See reviews for
78
253
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A group of 12 of us spent 3 nights here in July. Warm welcome, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms clean and comfortable , but very warm due to the hot weather !
Breakfast, evening meals and light meals in the tea room were all superb. The chef and his staff were complimented by our group. The steak and ale pie is the best I have ever eaten !
The bar, dining room and tea room have recently been refurbished to a very high and tasteful standard.
Great location, very close to Chatsworth and plenty to do in the area.
Gary and his team really looked after us, nothing was too much trouble.
We look forward to visiting again and would highly recommend the Devonshire Arms to anyone visiting the Peak District.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Team welcoming, fantastic food, great atmosphere, clean, comfortable beds, great staff. I would say choose this place if you are visiting the peaks,great location.Breakfast first class.when the final refurbishment is complete this will take it further forward. I look forward to staying again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a tour of the UK with some friends from the USA, a night between London and Manchester. We didn't get there until just after 9pm so unfortunately missed being able to get some food from their lovely looking choices on the menu. Shown to our rooms our guest retired for the night while we went down to the bar for a couple of drinks to unwind. The bar is very comfortable and decorated extremely nice, the recent upgrade of the hotel being very well done. Unfortunately this upgrade did not appear to have reached our room. Although comfortable the room could have done with a few more luxury touches, and obviously it had the things that go with an old property, creaking floorboards, split levels etc. we had a comfortable nights sleep although we had a constant knocking from the heating during the night, and unfortunately we could not turn down the radiator due to a faulty valve. Opening the window sorted that, and waking to the sound of the gurgling brook behind the hotel was a nice thing.
Breakfast was a fine affair, very well cooked and plentiful.
Attentative staff and an owner who is committed to his place, hopefully things will be good for the Devonshire Arms. All in all a decent night's stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raw1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Came across The Devonshire Arms today Sunday . Stopped here for a meal . Ordered the roast beef . Wow . A very generous portion of beef with the four vegetables , large Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes all cooked to perfection. Best pub meal I have had in a long time . What a find.
Plan to return and stay here now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

A lucky find. Very comfortable room. Great food. Great team ensured a warm welcome and great visit. A stone's throw from Chatsworth Park. Can't wait to visit again. Perfect Dog and human friendly !! Can recommend strongly. Ideal base for lovely area Good menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppies105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were there a year ago, when I think the current management was brand new. Several spaces have really been improved since then - the round dining room and tea shop. The staff were absolutely first class, the room was great (very big - room 1 - with a private patio) and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
760 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms

Property: The Devonshire Arms
Address: Nether End, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn & Kitchen offering 12 ensuite rooms and good honest food, fine ales, excellent wines and warm hospitality all at affordable prices.Relax in a comfortable sofa while being warmed by the log burner as you consult the wallpaper map to plan your next trip or grab some local breads while you try our "Made at The Devonshire Arms" oils with a pint of Landlord, a coffee or a bottle of Pouilly Fume. No booking required and our menu of classics at affordable prices ranges from Bangers & Mash to Sea Bass Risotto and Beef & Ale Pie to Slow Roasted Pork Belly. Chatsworth House can be reached on foot in under 20 minutes and Baslow is the perfect base to enjoy not only Chatsworth but the many pleasures of the Peak District.Sheffield is 20 mins - Chesterfield 15 mins - Bakewell less than 10 mins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing