We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Baslow B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location for walks and Chatsworth. No need to go anywhere else for food as its delicious. Gravy with Sunday roast and steak and ale pie is gorgeous. Breakfasts set you up for a good walk and Hatties provides beautiful cakes, coffees and leaf teas when you get back. The salted caramel and roasted almond cheesecake was to die for. No need to go anywhere else to eat!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    128
    64
    45
    40
See reviews for
79
253
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We walked to here from the Caravan Club site about a mile away. We looked at the other pub first over the road and decided it was a chain like beefeater of something average, So popped into here as it looked more promising. Totally not disappointed, we played drafts whilst having a drink, had another sat in front of the log burner and then moved again to eat. The food was local fresh and very tasty, with great home made chips. All staff we very attentive and helpful. A good normal sort of price too, would definitely recommend and will visit again. British pub at its best!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I recently had a meal here and it was excellent. The food was tremendous and the service very good. The beef was the tenderest I have ever had. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Great location as well in a lovely little Derbyshire village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needingworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a longer than expected journey, due to the M1 being closed, we were made to feel welcome and shown quickly to our room. The room was very comfortable and well maintained. We enjoyed a very tasty meal in the restaurant and had excellent service on our first evening.
Breakfast on Both mornings was good. There was a choice of cereals and fruit juice to start and then a choice of a delicious full English, salmon and scrambled eggs or continental breakfast with croissants and pan au chocolat baked to order.
The second evening we had a sharing platter which included goats cheese salad, two sorts of terrine, rarebit, sausage and freshly baked bread which was very tasty.
My only regret was that the weather. It was snowing when we got up so we decided to leave earlier than planned. I would have loved to have been able to stay for lunch.
I highly recommend the Devonshire arms for the comfortable rooms delicious food and the warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-c-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Extremely pleasant restaurant area and bar with great selection of good beer. Bacon sandwich at lunch was superb. Hattie's tea room is also lovely. Great location for walks in the Chatsworth estate which is right behind the pub. The rooms are rather small but at £75 for the night including a very nice full English breakfast, no one should be complaining as this represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have just stayed for 2 days at Devonshire Arms, Baslow. Our room (Room 10) was lovely and spacious, clean and we slept well. We discovered that although the new owners have transformed the pub, they are yet to develop the bedrooms. They are lovely now! So cannot wait to see what they have in store for them as well , as if the pub is anything to go by they will be even more special. Breakfast is fantastic and worth the stay alone.


We visited as heard about the fantastic transformation this pub has undergone by new owners David & Gary. The place is so beautiful and has been transformed into a warm, contemporary fabulous pub that is such a visual pleasure. I even asked where they got their light bulbs above the bar from as look so good. You can see that a lot of passion and care has gone into making this place look fantastic.

The food though is what we really came for though as hear they have a fab young new chef. The Devonshire hits every spot. The chef produces food that is just fabulous without any fluff and nonsense. Big flavors, tastes amazing and looks fantastic.
Homemade Burger: WOW honestly the best burger I have eaten in a long time and loved the way it was presented, even the chips & relish were homemade. Well worth £9.50
Also had beef cheeks (Truly fab) Sea Bass fillets on Fennel risotto with lemon oil and had roast beef dinner next day. honestly couldn't fault anything.
For pub food this is the best I have eaten for a long time. No where is ever perfect but the chef and team went out of their way to make our experience memorable. Even the sticky toffee pudding was homemade and AMAZING.

We also took home with us cake and cookies from Hattie's Tea room which is attached to Devonshire Arms and is so lovely they do awesome homemade cakes, loose leaf tea etc. very cool.

This place is special and will be booking again soon as love the area and want to see more of it next time. Just wish their was somewhere this good near Southampton!

Thank you so much to all the team for making us feel so special as we do not get away without the kids often... keep up the good work and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 10 is spacious and lovely, good shower. Bed comfy. Few creaky floorboards, but added to the cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkandStormy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We went here each evening while we were staying at Chatsworth Park. The staff were always so friendly! We went with our 5 year old son and staff were friendly and chatted to him, keeping him entertained. We planned to eat there on the last night and there was only 1 bottle of our sons favourite drink left so the bar man even kept it back for us so he could have it with his meal the following day!!! On the Friday we enjoyed a beautiful meal, selection of amazing breads to start and then the beef and ale pie. I just wish I lived nearer so I could be there all the time! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardiactech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
773 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms

Property: The Devonshire Arms
Address: Nether End, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn & Kitchen offering 12 ensuite rooms and good honest food, fine ales, excellent wines and warm hospitality all at affordable prices.Relax in a comfortable sofa while being warmed by the log burner as you consult the wallpaper map to plan your next trip or grab some local breads while you try our "Made at The Devonshire Arms" oils with a pint of Landlord, a coffee or a bottle of Pouilly Fume. No booking required and our menu of classics at affordable prices ranges from Bangers & Mash to Sea Bass Risotto and Beef & Ale Pie to Slow Roasted Pork Belly. Chatsworth House can be reached on foot in under 20 minutes and Baslow is the perfect base to enjoy not only Chatsworth but the many pleasures of the Peak District.Sheffield is 20 mins - Chesterfield 15 mins - Bakewell less than 10 mins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Arms Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing