We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in beautiful surroundings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baslow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fischer's Baslow Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fisher's is wonderful hotel, in the heart of the Peak National Park in Derbyshire. It has excellently appointed rooms and stunning gardens with both the ornamental and kitchen gardens open to guests. As the restaurant was fully booked on both of the evenings we stayed we were only able to sample it at breakfast - which was both tasty and hearty. The usual cooked option being complemented by lighter fare - granola, yoghurt and local honey. The staff were unfailingly helpful and polite and we will definitely stay again

Room Tip: The Garden house rooms are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    60
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
260
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby,England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A double birthday party with the family, and this certainly didn't disappoint. The rooms in the house have the character you would expect of this old (but not as old as it looks) house. The rooms in the Garden House are more modern and maybe a bit more spacious. The grounds are a bit like a mini Le Manoir and we enjoyed having tea in the garden - until the storm came.

The tasting menu is - like most tasting menus - a bit of a mixture clever ideas that really work and some that don't quite excite, but the journey is an enjoyable one, particularly if you take the accompanying wine choices which, whilst not containing any real surprises, was well-judged. It's great to get fun canapes with pre-dinner drinks - the only reservation I would have is that a canape which is essentially a juice is not really what someone drinking their first glass of champagne or wine of the evening necessarily wants as an accompaniment.. Still, the rest worked well, and were beautifully presented.

The staff all through our stay were efficient attentive and welcoming - but quietly so - to the point where I almost wanted a bit more personality and boldness for a celebration evening. It was a bit like staying in somebody's house when they were away. But this is nit-picking, and this kind of discreet service will suit most people perfectly.

So glad we have this place in Derbyshire.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Garden House are more modern, larger and quieter, but we enjoyed being in the main hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent a special 2 nights at Baslow Hall to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary.

Cannot fault the hotel and restaurant for its service and food. When I booked I mentioned that my wife was pregnant and that we may ask for some flexibility on the tasting menu. We were told that wouldnt be a problem and indeed it wasnt. I though that we might need to remind them when we arrived but they'd already prepared and were happy to consult with my wife about the alternatives available before we sat down to dinner. Lovely touch and nothing was too much trouble. We ate a la carte one night and tasting menu the second. Cooking of a very high standard and although not everything was a hit (herb soup/apple/horseradish/trout combo was a bit strange) that's to be expected with risky cooking. Some complete knock-out dishes though, the quail, pork, seedling veg, raspberry souffle were amazing. I think the quail was one of the best things I have ever eaten.

Our one disappointment was that we went for a dessert sampler on the a la carte which turned out to be the same 3 desserts that were on our menu the next evening. If we'd know we'd have went for something else. Maybe the menu could be clearer about what one is getting rather than just calling it a "Fisher's Sampler".

We stayed in a garden room, modern, spacious, quiet, clean, but the wifi is pretty tempermental.

Gardens were stunning and the place felt homely and intimate without being crowded.

Not cheap, but I'd say it is all well worth it and we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are modern and spacious and away from the buzz of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have now stayed here 4 times over a period of about 10 years. Never disappoints. The food remains first class as is the welcome. We usually stay in one of the garden rooms and this year tried rooms 2 on our way up country and 4 on our way back down. Both were lovely, spacious and clean. The garden has developed a lot since our first stay and is glorious. Anyone looking for a touch of England at its best couldn't do better - think of a smaller version of Le Manoir. we loved seeing the young chefs out in the kitchen garden picking the herbs and salads for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just a quick trip to Fishers Hotel in Baslow to recharge the batteries.
The food was excellent and the staff were great, the only down side was the dress that some people wore to the evening meal - having looked at the web site and what the hotel said was expected - I was surprised that the staff allowed people in denims to dine.
Small point but if you say smart casual Jacket / Tie then enforce the standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS_1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay at Baslow Hall for one night. First impressions when driving up to the hotel were very good, a beautiful old manor house set in outstanding gardens. After lunch, which was faultless and I have reviewed in the restaurant category for this hotel, we were shown to our room which had been newly refurbished, the Granby room. There were lovely bright floral soft furnishings which really brought the room to life, and fantastic leaded windows overlooking the gardens. The room was immaculately clean as you would expect. The beds were comfy with lovely white bedding. Very quiet and we had a good nights sleep.
There was a cafetiere and fresh coffee, home made biscuits and bottled spring water, as well as the usual instant coffee and tea selection, in the room.
We took time to walk around the gardens. Excellent formal gardens and kitchen garden with endless produce, use of which is evident in the restaurant.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely with a choice of fruit juices and tea or coffee. Then granola, muesli, fruit and yogurt. Very nice. To follow there was a choice of any combination of hot items from scrambled eggs and smoked salmon to a full English and anything in between. Very good quality of produce throughout. Selection of toast made from a variety of breads also brought to the table. Excellent end to an enjoyable stay. Staff very unobtrusive and professional, all very good at what they do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

For a quiet 25th wedding anniversary this seemed like the right choice and lived up to our expectations. The service was personal and understated. The room was spacious with all you would expect for a perfect night. The food was however the main attraction and did not disappoint. The taster menu with assorted wines was varied and well balanced. It was excellent. For that special event you could not find better and we were lucky to have the weather to go with it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
691 reviews
4.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fischer's Baslow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fischer's Baslow Hall

Property: Fischer's Baslow Hall
Address: Calver Road | Baslow, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fischer's Baslow Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fischer's at Baslow Hall is still the foremost restaurant in the region having been placed No. 41 In a list of 50 top restaurants in the UK by the Good Food Guide 2016. Head Chef Rupert Rowley serves Michelin star modern European cuisine in the Grade II listed Manor House on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate in Baslow village. Eleven bedrooms are individually styled with an emphasis on comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fischer`s Baslow Hall Hotel Baslow
Fischer's Baslow Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing