We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deep snow didn't spoil our stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baslow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fischer's Baslow Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Deep snow didn't spoil our stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A family trip planned well before the snow came. We visited to walk Chatsworth Park, which is easy walking distance for walkers, and mainly level. The experience of walking the park in snow is one to be relished, and despite the weather gloom on TV, we had no difficulty getting there, or getting home after heavy overnight snow. The Hotel was warm and welcoming, and exceeded our expectations in every way. Our rooms were well set out, and comfortable, with top quality en suites. The staff were very attentive and pleasant throughout our stay. The food was exceptional, at dinner and at breakfast, with excellent choice. We will return to enjoy the hospitality with better weather next time hopefully!! Thank you to all at Fischer's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    57
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
249
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitby, n yorks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My Christmas present was a weekend at Fischers before the start of feeding my extended family of 12 over the following weeks. Chatsworth was decorated for the season, the farm shop groaned with wonderful food, the weather was cold, bright & clear. We had 2 memorable walks in the park - just down the road. This area is stunning.
However the highlight was Max's wonderful' taste of Britain' dinner - right up there with much talked about L'Enclume (cooking score 10 in the GFGuide) of Cartmel.

We have been going to Fischers for over 25 years - the team never disappoint - thank you all so much for a wonderful present!

Room Tip: I liked the privacy of the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goathlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have dined (lunch and evening meal) and stayed at Fischer's several times; on every occasion, without exception, we had outstanding food, wine, service and accommodation and excellent value for money. On this occasion, we stayed in a Garden Room for the first time (previously we have always stayed in the house): it definitely won't be our last. The room was beautiful, very spacious and very comfortable - this combined with the exquisite food, location etc, etc made the whole experience very special and one for the album of memories. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are, in our opinion wonderful but the house and garden rooms are obviously very different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our daughters booked this as a surpise for my birthday. It was all just perfect. The hotel is special and intimate. We had a superior room in the main house which gave the family the privacy to open gifts. The staff were always discreetly on hand. Combined with a very memorable "Taste of Britain" meal it is something I will never forget. Thank you to everyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on an Indulgence Break between Christmas & New Year, staying in a superior room in the main house. From start to finish the whole experience was 1st class! The welcome, the room, the staff, the service and of course the food. I have a gluten intolerance and instead of the usual "sorry you can't have that", they were all aware of the problem from when we arrived and the most wonderful alternatives were provided. I honestly cannot find fault with any part of our stay and although not cheap, you pay for what you get and it was worth every single penny. Can fully recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFusco1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We decided to have our wedding here on 14th September 2012 and we had 2 nights stay at the Baslow before and after the wedding. I could not have asked for anything more. We had exclusive use of Baslow up until 5pm which does seem early but we felt that that was exactly right. The service, the attentiveness, the food the ambience was fantastic. I did take the time to read the 'terrible' comments and I can assure you from our experiences nothing came close to some of the comments. We stayed in the Haddon room no noise whatsoever we were facing the front of Baslow. These are one off occurances only (nobody is perfect), however, the 'terrible' comments are in the minority. Alison, Emma, Janet and all the waiting on staff are true professionals from start to finish. All our guests loved the place, the environment, the food and the service nothing was too much trouble. We haven't got any negative comments, my husbands standards are very high, my husband is a perfectionist seldom woud he give an excellent but Baslow definite deserves one. Well done to all the staff you are a credit to Baslow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanny_minge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very comfortable accomodation, good size and very well equipped. We had great food, both in the evening and at breakfast. Plenty to choose from and only wish there had been more time to sample it. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.....what more could you want!

Room Tip: I would expect all rooms would be fine, good quiet location and all would be a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_K_M_1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
659 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
9.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fischer's Baslow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fischer's Baslow Hall

Property: Fischer's Baslow Hall
Address: Calver Road | Baslow, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fischer's Baslow Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fischer's at Baslow Hall is still the foremost restaurant in the region having been placed No. 41 In a list of 50 top restaurants in the UK by the Good Food Guide 2016. Head Chef Rupert Rowley serves Michelin star modern European cuisine in the Grade II listed Manor House on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate in Baslow village. Eleven bedrooms are individually styled with an emphasis on comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fischer`s Baslow Hall Hotel Baslow
Fischer's Baslow Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing