We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really good for the right group”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Moorland view barn

luxury 3 bedroom barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
luxury 3 bedroom barn
lounge with sofa bed enjoy the beautiful views from the breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
luxury 3 bedroom barn
lounge with sofa bed
enjoy the beautiful views from the breakfast bar
well eqipped kitchen
fluffy bathrobes provided
Temple Spa toiletries provided
luxury master bedroom
well behaved dogs welcome
an initial supply of logs are supplied for the log burner
extendable dining table
outdoor bbq area
beautiful Moorland views
double bedroom
superking zip & link can be made into 2 single beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StephenW3...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but disappointing due to busy main road!”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a nice barn, with some lovely features and good kitchen facilities. Visited as a family with 2 children and a dog, and was looking forward to going on walks. However the property is sandwiched between two busy main roads with no footpath which made walking out of the property impossible. Whilst nice to see the dogs from the neighbouring property on occasion, this became quite frequent and somewhat annoying. Also the property could do with some maintenance especially outside (rusted BBQ, broken plant pots etc) and several light bulbs needed changing inside as well as paint peeling off the en-suite shower ceiling. Good location for sight seeing in Derbyshire but only if travelling out by car!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Hi Stephen,
I'm afraid that we were away on holiday ourselves when you visited so the minor maintenance such as lightbulbs should have been sorted by the cleaning staff, my apologies that they weren't.
The other things that you mention have all been done too.
The dogs were originally trained not to go to the cottage, but after so many guests welcoming them over and giving them treats, it has made them 'forget'! We have since put up more fencing to try and avoid this happening.
There is a pavement that runs along the bottom of the field all the way down to the Robin Hood Pub, I'm sorry that you didn't see this and will add the information in the guest info.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psymann
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good for the right group”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really want to give this 7/10 or three-and-a-half stars, but Tripadvisor won't let me. Essentially this was a really nice place to stay, four stars for the right group and three stars otherwise.

The main thing to bear in mind when booking this is the difference in the three bedrooms, which we didn't think was particularly well mentioned in the descriptions. The main bedroom (which is the entire first floor) is huge, with a lovely bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, dresser table, good en-suite bathroom with large shower, two velux windows in the slanted roof giving views over the moorland across the valley, and room to swing your suitcases round in a circle. Both other bedrooms are far smaller - they feel very much more like 'spare rooms', with just enough space to walk around the bed, and otherwise filled with some nice-but-a-little-big-for-them furniture. There is not space in either of these rooms to keep your suitcases really, let along swing them around, neither of them have as good a view, and they share a (pretty nice) bathroom. One of them also had a slight aroma of the previous residents' dog, but I guess in a house which caters so well to dogs (I don't have one, but this looked like a good place for dogs which were obviously welcome and catered for), this might not be hugely surprising, and the house was otherwise clean of any evidence that dogs had been there. They're still nice rooms - just that the main room is _so_ nice, there's a bit of a disparity.

In our particular case, two of us were staying for two weeks, and the other two couples staying only for three or four days, so it was an easy choice for who got the 'good room'. And if you were going as a young family with the master bedroom for parents and the other rooms for kids, that could work nicely. But if you were wanting somewhere with three roughly evenly nice bedrooms for three adult couples, then this is not a great choice - I think if we'd been in that situation we'd have seriously had to consider the couple in the master bedroom paying a chunk extra, or it would have felt a little unfair.

The rest of the house is pretty nice - tiled floors with underfloor heating, which was still a little welcomed even in summer in Derbyshire! The main room was half sitting room with two sofas, one more comfortable than the other, a nice coffee table and a tv with more channels than I'm used to getting in this area due to a satellite dish. The other half was a little dining area with an extendable table. The pick of the downstairs rooms is the kitchen, with a lovely view over the valley, an airy feel, and generally high quality components - the Denby crockery and saucepans set were really good, though the lack of a potato peeler and just one small chopping board was a minor disappointment. Similarly the rest of the house had good quality items, with just a few minor disappointments on the details such as a broken lightbulb. And the overall finish was nice with the goodly thick stone walls of the original barn and some beam effects for the ceiling. Free wi-fi was a good addition and worked well (though it's a bit slow wi-fi out in the hills compared to the city!).

We arrived an hour early but the cleaning had all been completed already, so we sneaked in early and met the owner soon after when she came along with the welcome pack, with some bread, milk, eggs etc, which was very good. She was as pleasant in person as she had been online - good communication over the internet which was important as we'd booked from Australia, and she was very accommodating when we needed to arrange specific payment timings and ask questions. And even offered us some cleaning service in the middle weekend we were there. The only bad part of the booking process was that many of the details were provided later on through a website which seemed overly keen on trying to get you to download a phone app, and was a little difficult to navigate.

There was room outside to park four cars, three side-by-side on the drive and one by the kitchen, though if you're parking more than one car then there's not really room to turn around so safest if you reverse in from the road (though there's plenty of visibility for doing that and it's not a very busy road - we hardly noticed any road noise at all). There's a good wooden table and chairs with a lovely view outside the house, though I think the barbecue was more there for asthetic-rusty-chic than as a functional item ;-) Also outside you often have company from the owner's two dogs, which are both friendly but quite attentive/excitable, so if you don't want canine friends then it's probably worth taking the owner up on the offer to keep them out of the way.

In terms of location, the edge of Baslow is a pretty good, but not perfect, spot. Pretty good because you are a short drive away from so much that there is to love above the area - you're close to Chatsworth, famous market town Bakewell, villages full of old stone cottages and history like Eyam, and the amazing countryside - some of the best local parts are Baslow Edge / Curbar Edge (from where you can look down the valley and see Chatsworth and lovely views), and Longshaw Estate, which covers a large area of which the nicest parts are probably around Hathersage Moor and White Moor. You're also not too far from Sheffield and Chesterfield if you want a bit of city life, and there's plenty more Peak District in the other directions, whether it's towards Buxton, Dovedale or the southern tip of the pennines. So as a base for driving around the peak district in north Derbyshire, it's excellent.

The disappointment from a location point of view is that it's not very easy to walk anywhere from the house. We had one car for the two of us for much of our time there, and when one was using the car to meet up with old friends in Sheffield, the other might have hoped to have been able to walk from the house around the area a bit. But there aren't really any public footpaths near the house (that we could find, anyway), so your choices are (a) walk along the road (which is 60mph, no pavement, and quite narrow - possible but not fun), (b) walk down the field behind the house, navigate your way through some bushes, and hurdle a barbed-wire fence and a drystone wall (we weren't quite sure we were meant to do that!), in order to get to the A road nearby, from which there is a footpath towards Chatsworth (though, as we discovered, not actually _to_ Chatsworth - where the OS map appears to show paths from that track down into Chatsworth, all the ones we found were blocked off, with NO ACCESS signs preventing you from going through the woodland into the back of the estate (and it's free to walk on to the estate from elsewhere including the entrance, so it wasn't that you weren't allowed in without paying or anything, just that I think they didn't want you in the woodland). That track was still pleasant to walk up - we saw some curlews up there - it was just difficult to get to from the house in a part of the world where there are usually quite a decent number of public footpaths around.

Overall, I had a mixture of parts of the house I'd give four or even five stars to (most of the kitchen, the main bedroom, the view from the outside, the owner's communication) and as a house for two people it's definitely four stars. But there are parts I'd only give three stars to (the attention to detail, the small second and third bedrooms, the lack of walking routes).

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice smart kitchen and huge master bedroom with lovely view; quality fittings
Liked least: Lack of local walking; attention to detail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njphillip...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous luxury cottage with great views.”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful cottage and very tastefully decorated. All the comforts of home. Well equipped kitchen. Master bedroom lovely n spacious with ensuite. Was able to settle in really well with thanks to the owner for the welcome pack of essential groceries. Great views of open countryside from cottage. Everything you could possibly want for a short break away. As visiting with elderly parents having 2 bedrooms and main bathroom downstairs was a great bonus. Would definitely recommend and hope to return possibly later in the year. Ideal location for touring round the local area.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Outdoor furniture
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garylewis...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great barn in a lovely location”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the barn over the Easter week-end.
Sarah the host was most friendly and helpful - we would definitely recommend the barn to families/friends looking for a relaxing break in a lovely location. Lots of great walks and pubs in the close vicinity.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thanks very much! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
56lindsay...
Smalley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect country weekend”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Moorland View Barn is a great place to stay for a weekend or longer. Great Views and high quality accommodation. Loved the underfloor heating and log burner. Perfect for a relaxing country break.

Date of stay: October 2014
Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, i'm glad that you enjoyed your break. The photos you have taken are lovely!
Also thank you for having left the barn so spotlessly clean and tidy when you left; perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jkbowen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxuriously perfect!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures only give a small taster of this beautiful barn.
We took our parents for their 60th birthdays, 2 kids and our dog. It couldn't have been more perfect. The cottage interior is designed so tastefully yet homely, we felt comfortable and spoilt. You don't new to pack books, board games, DVDs or
Play station games as every age and taste is catered for and then some. The layout was perfect, we had the upstairs bedroom with on suite which was heavenly.....'Busy road', what busy road?? I can honestly say once the driveway gate closed behind us we were oblivious to the road, not hearing any noise whatsoever apart from the children having fun. The barn was squeaky clean and the welcome pack ensured that the first evening was carefree and relaxed. When we visit again next year, for longer, I won't be cramming the car full of toys and food, a couple of balls and a few cupboard basics would suffice, there is a morrisons approx 20 min drive away in Chesterfield which would save a 3 hour car journey packed in like a sardine!
Out the back of the barn is a fenced off garden which, if you wish, opens onto a rolling hill with amazing views which is the owners land. They couldn't have been more welcoming to us. Luckily they had 2 adorable girls aged the same as ours and they allowed our children into their home to play. Their dog is friendly and the couple themselves couldn't be nicer. We honestly didn't want to leave and can't thank them enough for providing such a lovely holiday home and welcoming atmosphere.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. My girls can't wait to see your girls next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alishankl...
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home from home in the Peak District”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A really lovely converted barn which has been beautifully and lovingly refurbished. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable with lots of little additional touches that you don't find in many other rental properties - the bathrobes, hairdryer etc.

It was toasty warm with underfloor heating downstairs and brilliant equipped Kitchen with Denby crockery, pots and pans and Dualit appliances with a handy dishwasher.

It was well located for driving to Alton Towers, Edale for walking up to Kinder Scout, Dovedale for a lovely river walk and very close to the charming town of Bakewell.

As per previous reviews there was occasional road noise but nothing that bothered us living in a busy Hertfordshire town.

Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing