We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maynard(Grindleford)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$93
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lathkil Hotel(Over Haddon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
404
184
86
47
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
184
86
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgallery restaurantafternoon teagarden roomsconeschatsworth estatecream teastandard roomfour poster bedthis lovely hotelhalibutromantic breakfresh milk in the fridgethe kitchenpeak districtrelaxing staystunning viewswithout exception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 753 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here on a two night break with another couple recently. I might add, it's not the cheapest of places, but we had saved for it and decided to splash out. Upon arrival we went into the lounge and ordered teas and coffees, we were sat next to the bar where there were bowls of crips - without thinking, we took a few, only for the bowl to be grabbed off us by a waiter and told they were for a private party. We were extremely embarrassed and when we had a quiet word with the waiter he was rude and defensive. We did complain to the duty manager, but didn't feel it was taken seriously, but it's the principle, having paid an extortionate amount to stay there. About half an hour later a couple came and sat at the bar and helped themselves to said crisps ........ not a word said to them!
Having said all that, the rooms were amazing and extremely comfortable and clean. The food in both restaurants was lovely and other than the 'crisp-gate' issue the staff couldn't have been more attentive and polite. It would have been a five star review if it hadn't been for the embarrassing incident.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btheset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Cavendish hotel on the 28th November 2013 and had a fabulous time...

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the garden room, myself and mother in law had an afternoon tea which was delicious and beautifully presented, boyfriend and father in law had food from the lunch menu which was very reasonably priced, again beautifully presented and delicious. The service was wonderful and we were treated like royalty. One of the waiters whose name I cant remember was very friendly and took the time to talk to us about our stay and tell us about his career with celebrity chefs!

We were then shown to our room which was beautiful, views over the garden and could see the Chatsworth chimneys! The décor was superb, the bed was exceptionally comfy and huge, lovely bathroom and particularly loved the Chatsworth books that were left in the room!
We also enjoyed room service which came with a silver dome, very promptly and with starched linen. Excellent value for money and again delicious

In the morning the breakfast was given in a lovely room with great views again, the breakfast was wonderful, great selection of items on the continental buffet and the cooked food was lovely. Again great service from the waiters and the receptionist was really friendly.

Would highly recommend this hotel and we intend to visit every year to enjoy it again!
Thank you very much

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A great relaxing stay in a lovely part of the World. The room was excellent and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was particularly good but the evening meal was slightly over priced in view of the small portions.
There was a large array of interesting photos on the corridor walls and the staff were very friendly.
For the price and quality of the hotel we would have expected a few little extras. Unfortunately the milk in our fridge had gone off and it would have been better if there had been a greater range of teas. When we had drinks in the lounge there was no little biscuits with the coffee or nibbles(nuts etc.) with our pre evening meal drinks, which would have been that little extra touch of luxury. Overall 4.5 if we could give half marks. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which gave a good view and more distance from the traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited restaurant so cannot comment on hotel features. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by all the staff. The hotel was beautifully decorated to reflect the season and with roaring log fires it felt just like Christmas should. All our food was delicious and served in a professional and charming way. Toby and Tim are a real double act and certainly enhanced our enjoyment of our evening. We had a brilliant evening, can recommend the restaurant in every respect and are looking forward to returning soon.
Natasha W

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATASHA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Decided to say here for a short weekend break with my wife. It was a great choice in a great location. We followed the advise from Tripadvisor and booked an Inn room in the older part of the hotel. The room was roomy with a sofa and a great view of Chatsworth Park. The House area became visible through the trees, when lit up at night, otherwise a complete countryside view.

WiFi throughout the hotel helps enormously.

The restaurant was excellent and well run. The food was perfect, although the menu is a little limited when compared to some more modern hotels and unusually had no chicken alternatives but did have an odd Halibut/beef tongue dish !! The Scottish Maitre De initially came across a little 'gruff', but totally cares you enjoy your experience.

There are various car park areas around the hotel which gave the impression that there were not many spaces, when in fact there were many.

We walked through the fields to Chatsworth, using tickets that were included in the room price. Make sure you ask.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews